2/2 Tasha's AMPS =303 +6=86

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/2 Tasha's PMPS =214 +6=181

+6 =181. Funny the "peak "time is a tad higher then the +2 and +4. Anyway it is 4 AM here and I am going to sleep. Later then, Thanks in advance for looking and your input. I-)
 
Re: 2/2 Tasha's PMPS =214 +4=143

Hi Linda-welcome to LL :-D

have looked at your ss. I'm not sure if it can be edited by other people? Can you perhaps post on tech and ask-sorry it's not my strong point! It's the fact that it says copy of 12/12 template that makes me say this.

Tashas's nadir could be higher depending on when she last had food.
Also Lantus fills the 'shed' first, then anything left over gets to work on bg's, so that's another reason.
Some people very occasionally have early or late nadir cats. You soon know once you get more data. Nothing to worry about right now.
All looking very good. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/2 Tasha's PMPS =214 +9.5=177

+9.5 from her evening dose and 177. Looks like we are on the right track.
Thanks Kate I will do that. Kat..I cannot edit it from this link so it is doubtful others can. (I hope) nailbite_smile :lol:

I did give her a little food because of the drop from the PMPS. So far this does not seem that much different from handling diabetes in a child. I already am feeling pretty comfortable with my choices so far. I am hopeful but not counting on an eventual remission. When and if that times comes, I will need help from all here on how to do that. I have always been very good with insulin dosage with my daughter. Although my daughter, now almost 21, is on Lantus as well, it works 24 hours for her. The Lantus in cats seems to closely resemble NPH in humans in regards to duration, but not peaks. Just a different curve. I will soon be up to speed, and then maybe I can be as helpful to all who have helped me these past 3 days once I have learned more about the differences.
 
Re: 2/2 Tasha's AMPS =303

AMPS 303 not totally surprised. Not panicked either. Last night was the first evening shot she got and she does tend to run a bit high in the morning. Wondering if cats have dawn phenomenon like people do? I am sure she will drop down shortly. Also seemed a bit stressed this morning in regards to getting her bg taken and her shot. I know enough to not react to one bg number.
 
Re: 2/2 Tasha's AMPS =303

There are kitties here where the posibility of dawn phenomenom has been muted.

Your way ahead even knowing what it means :mrgreen:

It is possible that you may need to increase Tashas's dose before going down further. Happenes sometimes. Hopefully not, a case of wait and see.
 
Re: 2/2 Tasha's AMPS =303

You are doing great! Keep it up.

As Kate said, you may have to go up in dose before coming back down.
 
Re: 2/2 Tasha's AMPS =303

I am well aware of that possibility of having to make an increase. It is too early to tell yet. I have the advantage of 18 years of dealing with diabetes with my daughter and making myself as knowledgeable as possible about it. That is why I know about "people diabetes". So far, It seems kitty diabetes is not that much different except for the rate that the insulin metabolizes. I am definitely at an advantage to someone else who is newly dxd who doesn't have my background.
 
Re: 2/2 Tasha's AMPS =303

Jen and Oreo said:
You are doing great! Keep it up.

As Kate said, you may have to go up in dose before coming back down.
While I totally agree with this statement, you generally don't go up when you have green in the last few cycles...and you've had them for the past 3 days.

Lookin' good though!
 
Let see if it holds up. I don't really have enough data to warrant making any changes but I know from my daughter that diabetes is very fluid and things can change at any time for almost any reason in any direction. For now I am happy where her numbers are and it seems if it keeps trending this way no changes for awhile.

btw I think that reply was posted before the third number in the green at peak (nadir)
 
You are definitely way ahead of most people who are new to the site. The fundamentals of diabetes management are the same in beans and cats and, like you observed, it's the speed of a cat's metabolism that is the biggest difference. I think your understanding how you need to be patient and not get frustrated or rush changes will also be very helpful. I also think it will be important to see how Tasha is responding to BID dosing. You're doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top