Re: 2/2 pumpkin AMPS 233, 211 +7, PMPS 260, 84+3, 41+4.5, 71
Congratulations on the green, Pumpkin and Pumpkin's Mom!
I am a relative newbie, too, and understand the shock it is when your cat goes from high numbers to low ones! It's a lot to get used to and a lot of new information to absorb. This is really good news, though -- Pumpkin is reacting to this dose, and getting the 41 is an indication that it's more than is needed right now -- that is great news!
You should reduce his dose to 1.25 units right away.
It looks like Pumpkin's body freaked out a bit at such low numbers and gave you that 346 this morning (aka, the "bounce"), which is OK. Higher numbers may hang around for a few cycles. Just ride it out. But I'd get yourself ready for more green in your future.
I think the others have given you some tips, but here's a little Cliff's Notes version -- I know I appreciated when others gave me some instruction and perspective:
- As you are working at new doses and especially lower numbers, if you are able, get a +2 or +3. If the number is lower that the pre-shot number, you're likely in for an active cycle and if it's a lot lower, you may want to feed some LC to slow them down (to keep them from getting too low later in the cycle).
-When you see a low number (under 50), give a few teaspoons of HC, then test again in 30 minutes to see how it has affected the numbers. You did exactly the right thing there. I had to do that with my cat Jackson this morning, and he increased 15 points from some high carb food, into a safer range and is "surfing" from there (staying at that safe green range).
- The general rule is that you need two consecutive tests at a safe range -- without your feeding them right beforehand -- before you can relax a little.
It looks like Pumpkin responded really well to the HC food -- going up 30 points in an hour. That's good to know because it gives you information and CONFIDENCE that you can "steer" him with food when needed. It helps to make the low greens less scary because you have control (well, as much control as you can have over a cat) and can get them to a good safe range.
You're doing a great job and paws crossed that you'll start seeing more of this green in the future!
Sarah and Jackson