2/2 pumpkin AMPS 233, 211 +7, PMPS 260, 84+3, 41+4.5, 71+5.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

pumpkins mom

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone. It has been a crazy night. I have no idea why Pumpkin's #'s are so low. Any suggestions would be great. I gave him some high carb Fancy Feast when he hit 41. He also threw up another hairball late this afternoon. I don't know if that matters. Thanks. Ann (Pumpkin's Mom).
 
Re: 2/2 pumpkin AMPS 233, 211 +7, PMPS 260, 84+3, 41+4.5, 71

Hello Ann,

According to the TR protocol, a number below 50 means a dose reduction of .25 units. Congrats on the reduction.

When you got that 41, feeding him high carb (HC) was the right thing to do, but you should have tested again 1/2 hour later to make sure he wasn't continuing down. You might want to review the sticky on handling low numbers. The part you want is towards the bottom. Nice job catching that 41!
 
Re: 2/2 pumpkin AMPS 233, 211 +7, PMPS 260, 84+3, 41+4.5, 71

Thanks for your reply. I will look over those pages again. Thanks for keeping an eye on Pumpkin.
 
Re: 2/2 pumpkin AMPS 233, 211 +7, PMPS 260, 84+3, 41+4.5, 71

Your SS says you fed low carb at +4.5. It's good to keep track of exactly how much you feed and what food so you can track how Pumpkin reacts to food. Then you know what to give him next time you see a low number. Another tip, when you see a drop like that +3 so much lower than the PS, you can give him some low carb food to try to slow the drop a little. When they drop too fast, it can cause a bounce.

I was up anyway, just a west coaster with a green cat at night. :-D
 
Re: 2/2 pumpkin AMPS 233, 211 +7, PMPS 260, 84+3, 41+4.5, 71

Congratulations on the green, Pumpkin and Pumpkin's Mom!

I am a relative newbie, too, and understand the shock it is when your cat goes from high numbers to low ones! It's a lot to get used to and a lot of new information to absorb. This is really good news, though -- Pumpkin is reacting to this dose, and getting the 41 is an indication that it's more than is needed right now -- that is great news!

You should reduce his dose to 1.25 units right away.

It looks like Pumpkin's body freaked out a bit at such low numbers and gave you that 346 this morning (aka, the "bounce"), which is OK. Higher numbers may hang around for a few cycles. Just ride it out. But I'd get yourself ready for more green in your future.

I think the others have given you some tips, but here's a little Cliff's Notes version -- I know I appreciated when others gave me some instruction and perspective:

- As you are working at new doses and especially lower numbers, if you are able, get a +2 or +3. If the number is lower that the pre-shot number, you're likely in for an active cycle and if it's a lot lower, you may want to feed some LC to slow them down (to keep them from getting too low later in the cycle).

-When you see a low number (under 50), give a few teaspoons of HC, then test again in 30 minutes to see how it has affected the numbers. You did exactly the right thing there. I had to do that with my cat Jackson this morning, and he increased 15 points from some high carb food, into a safer range and is "surfing" from there (staying at that safe green range).

- The general rule is that you need two consecutive tests at a safe range -- without your feeding them right beforehand -- before you can relax a little.

It looks like Pumpkin responded really well to the HC food -- going up 30 points in an hour. That's good to know because it gives you information and CONFIDENCE that you can "steer" him with food when needed. It helps to make the low greens less scary because you have control (well, as much control as you can have over a cat) and can get them to a good safe range.

You're doing a great job and paws crossed that you'll start seeing more of this green in the future!
Sarah and Jackson
 
Re: 2/2 pumpkin AMPS 233, 211 +7, PMPS 260, 84+3, 41+4.5, 71

Hi Sarah. Thanks for your post. I am still a bit freaked out by the low numbers, but am realizing that they are a good thing. The only thing that worries me is that when I am at work during the day, I do not want Pumpkin to crash, since I won't be there to help. I am all for being conservative at this point. I cut his dose today to 1.25, even thought it is really difficult to measure. Let's see how he does in the morning. At this point, Pumpkin is really starting to lose patience with me since I have stuck his ear so many times lately. Sarah, I hope Jackson is doing well. It really is nice to know that this board is here. I have met so many caring people here. Thanks again.
 
Re: 2/2 pumpkin AMPS 233, 211 +7, PMPS 260, 84+3, 41+4.5, 71

HI Wendy. Thanks for your comments last night. Sorry I took so long to reply, but I got lost in laundry and such today. I will start keeping track of Pumpkin's food. He eats mostly Fancy Feast low carb and Whole Life Pet Treats and Boar's Head turkey for snacks. Thanks again. Ann (Pumpkin's mom)
 
Re: 2/2 pumpkin AMPS 233, 211 +7, PMPS 260, 84+3, 41+4.5, 71

Oh a green Pumpkin! Lovely curve, surf the green, the night is still young!
 
Re: 2/2 pumpkin AMPS 233, 211 +7, PMPS 260, 84+3, 41+4.5, 71

I'd like to clarify a few points.

Don't jump for the HC just because he gets below 50. If he is below 50 early in the cycle, you might want to give a little HC gravy since he has a long cycle to go. But if he's below 50 at mid cycle or after, I'd try LC and see if you can just get him into the 50s/60s to surf.

When he's coming down and he first hits green, try to just give him a couple tsps of LC food and see how he does.

When we are new, and we all do it, we panic at the first site of numbers below 100 and grab the HC. But if we give a little LC food when they first get into the green numbers and then retest in 30, we might get w good response. If they are still above 50, give a little more, retest, etc. if they drop below 50, until you learn how they respond, you can give a little HC gravy and see how much it bumps them up. You might be surprised that it might bump him way up and that you can back off on the carbs.

I found out that I can use 10% (LC) with Gracie just fine. I even use it if she's in the mid 30s but ECID and you have to learn Pumpkins responses. It's trial and error. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top