Re: Please, someone give Molly the textbook on diabetes - quickl
Michele&Molly said:
Where to start?
How about here - wow, her numbers suck it big time!! If you think i'm exaggerating, just take a look at today for example:
amps 354 shot 2.5
+5 346
+7 348 ...should be noted that the same droplet of blood was 299 using the ReliOn
pmps 360
I will take her to the vet this week and have her blood checked for an infection. I will also most likely ask the vet to send some blood out to see if she could possibly be an acro-cat. With the numbers in the 400's and 300's for so long, she should be losing weight - instead she is packing on the pounds and looks like 2 pounds of bologna in a 1 pound bag!!! My poor fatty.
My guess is the vet will say you are feeding her too much. That would be what my vet would ask....that may or may not be true. Just be ready for the question on how much you feed her, and when each day, and particularly in relation to the insulin.
Michele&Molly said:
We recently moved her shot time from 8am/8pm to 6/6. It's just not working!! Oddly enough, last night i was 2 hours late on the pm shot (see, it's not working) and she had the best number yet. You would think that would effect the amps but nope, right back to the usual sucky.
That is just one number....I am sorry. I just would hate to see you go back to feeding and then shooting her dose two hours
after the shot before you have tried systematically to raise the dose. I know it has been hard since you can't do many spot checks during the week. But I think with these numbers you are safe to do another raise with a spot check when you can like you have been doing.
Michele&Molly said:
I am switching her back to 8 and 8. I am just confused as to how to get the best benefits of feeding. In the eve. it makes sense - she eats dinner at 5pm, gets shot at 8pm and one small can at 9pm before i go to bed.
I don't understand why she can't wait one more hour, get fed at 6PM
AND have her shot
at the same time and then give her the snack at 9PM (not a small can...that is a lot of food....give her a small portion of cooked chicken breasts (it is easy...just cook up a bunch and freeze it in small portions...very low fat and pure protein).
Michele&Molly said:
It's the morning that i'm having a hard time with. I get up and feed everyone at 6am. W (dh) gives her a shot a 8. I understand that's shooting on a food spike and the fact that she doesn't get fed again until 5 pm is not good. She's overweight as it is, should i have W give her some more food? that's not going to help with the fattness! Any suggestions?
Oh Michele, I think you are making this more complicated than it should be my friend! It is not a good idea to shoot insulin two hours
after you have given a meal....that meal/glucose has sat there in her bloodstream for two whole hours without having the insulin on board to open up the cell doors so she can benefit from it. Again, the insulin is having to play catch up and this doesn't help because of her weight problem either, (sorry Molly!) insulin resistance again. And we are not talking here about overlap being able to handle the food...the insulin from the last shot is petering out by then.
Make it easy for yourself...can't you just feed her at 6AM and shoot her then? Same with the night time...feed/shoot at 6PM and then her 'snack' at 9PM?
And I think you should raise the dose again.