2/2 Max AMPS 339; +4 287; +8 160; PMPS 232

Giomax

Member Since 2018
I think I'm liking this new dose (5 units). I'll probably stick with it for awhile. He's not super high and doesn't go low enough to make me fear leaving him for work. I know the greens are ideal, but having to be out of the house for half the day on most days, I don't want him to be toeing that line unless I'm here to watch and keep him from diving too far.

Thoughts?

(Note: He usually nadirs later in the cycle, so I'm expecting him to hit the low yellows or even possibly the blues at some point today. I'll be testing every 4 hours.)
 
Yes, give him a little time on this dose...I'd sure love to see him forget about those reds and blacks...tell him Luci is at the beach and he needs to come on down and join in the fun. She was surfing but apparently has decided she wants to take a little sun on the beach in the sand...who can figure out that last jump...I'm always on the look out for a crumb or something...just no idea how she just about doubled her number in only an hour...no predicting what she'll do next...I just never know! :bighug:
 
@Sue and Luci He hasn't had any reds or blacks a for awhile! At least none that can't be explained. One cycle was due to a skipped shot, a couple others were the result of some heavy carb feeding after a gigantic drop, and then a bounce. We are definitely making progress!
Yes, I agree...I can see that he is making progress...let him have time to work the juice...it takes time...but he'll get there :)
 
I think as time goes on, and Max gets lower numbers and has some resemblance of predictability (lol), it won't be as nerve racking to see green numbers. I react very differently to low numbers (in the middle of a cycle) than I did in the beginning when Ming was on Lantus (low numbers at shot time are a different story for me lol). I'm a little scared I might become complacent so the forum is a good place for me to make sure I'm doing everything right.

How is Max doing with the neuropathy?
 
Tonight is cycle six on this dose, so the higher depot should be gone by and you should see what 5 units can do by itself. I know that keeping him with yellow nadirs is easier on you, but it’s harder on his kidneys. You want to try to maximize the amount of time below renal threshold so the kidneys don’t have to work extra hard dumping extra sugar. So many older kitties have kidney issues and being diabetic doesn’t help. The other thing to worry about is glucose toxicity if he doesn’t ever see good numbers.

Since you are following SLGS now, you goal would be to get his nadirs between 90 and 149, which is a pretty safe range for you being gone so long during the work day. And would still provide his kidneys some relief and help fight glucose toxicity. Let’s see what a week on this dose brings.
 
Hi I haven't visited before, been away from the board for a while.

I agree with Wendy's comments above regarding the nadirs you should be aiming for. They are significantly higher than TR and give you ample buffer to keep Max safe.
Even thought you're not getting as many tests in as you would like, you are doing a great job of gathering data, this will also help you keep Max even safer.

Hope this dose get's Max into a good range for SLGS, but don't be afraid to take him up if the nadirs don't fall in that range.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I want to echo Wendy's suggestions, as well.

One other observation. Most of the time, giving what amounts to a back-to-back reduction is not a good idea -- although there are exceptions. It's likely that what you saw on 1/30 when Max dropped to 81 was the result of his depot not catching up with the previous dose reduction. Unless you start to see numbers leveling out into a better range, it's likely that the second reduction was due to an overfilled depot that didn't have time to adjust to the prior reduction.
 
We're at 99 and haven't hit nadir yet...at least I doubt we have since he always seems to hit that later in the cycle. Just fed him some FF paté.
 
Back
Top