? 2/2 Jasper AMPS 269 +3 160 +5 106 +7 117 PMPS 92

Rachel and Jasper

Member Since 2022
@Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) @tiffmaxee I am a bit worried because Jasper threw up this afternoon around +3, just one time, he is acting normally and now it is shot time, he is eating his normal half can of food but I am concerned as to weather to give him his full dose. Normally he has a half can now as well as at +1 and +2. Do you think it's ok to keep him on this dose? I also don't want to decrease and have his blood glucose go up. Shot time is in 10 minutes.
 
Last edited:
@Bandit's Mom 5 more days on the antibiotics, my normal vet lowered the dose today because she said the ER vet that I had all the problems with gave too high a dose. I am also upset about that now. My normal vet knows the situation and said if he throws up tonight at all to either take him to a different ER vet that they reccomend or to call tomorrow and they will get him in first thing in the morning, if he doesn't throw up more we have an appointment on the books for him in a week just to check in on him. It was middday that he threw up today about 4 hours after food so I am not sure what to make of it but it does worry me. I will definitely get a +1 and share here tonight.
 
@Bandit's Mom you are right it is metronidazole. It is a bit wierd because originally he was given something that I was reassured by the ER vet was metronidazole but that it was from a different manufacturer than the other cat was given, that was how they explained why the two bottles didn't look the same but my regular vet is telling me to start the prescription over so his original prescription was for 10 days and it has been 7 but they told me basically to start the process over 3 days in. So total he will be on it 13 days, there is a big part of me that wants to only do the 10 days total even dispite the discrepancy at the beginning. He is pooping ok and is no longer having diarrhea.

His +1 was 108.

I have to give his antibiotics now and I am just relly hoping that he keeps it down, he has not thrown it up yet but considering ge did throw up one time this afternoon I am a bit worried about giving it. It's tge liquid form.
 
Metronidazole is supposed to taste awful. I had given it to Bandit when she had diarrhea due to a stomach infection but I stopped it in 3 days because her diarrhea resolved and in fact, she began to constipate. She didn't go for over 72 hours!

So he was on the dubious metronidazole for 3 days and the replaced one for 4 days now? What about your civvie? Both of them are okay now?

I am going to tag @tiffmaxee (who will only see this tomorrow) and @Bron and Sheba (GA) for their advice on how long to continue the Metronidazole.

Let's see the +2. He got some food at +1?
 
@Bandit's Mom yes he was on the dubious one for 2 and a half days and the replacement for 3 and a half days four tonight.

I'm sorry what is civvie?

Yes both cats diarrhea and vomting resolved right away, the last time either one threw up was the day we got the prescription, that morning.

I do know that stopping antibiotics too early can also cause the infection to come back stronger so I have been hesitant not to follow the advice of our normal vet but I do have to say the additional 3 days feels like it could be more than is needed.

Yes he had food at +1 and ate normally. I will get a +2 and check back in.
 
The course of metronidazole is usually 7 days. It can also depends what reason the vet is giving it for. I think you need to be guided by your vet about how long to give it for.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) my normal vet is the one suggesting that I give it for 13 days, but that's partly because of the incident with the original prescription I believe. Because she is not sure weather he was getting it the first three days, wich the ER vet has assured me he was. It is all feeling so frustrating for me at this point because I am feeling a lack in confidence in their advice after all this. And I am genuinely worried about doing something wrong.
 
From the The Official Lantus, Levemir & Biosimilars Slang Dictionary civvie is a non diabetic cat in the same household.

I've given a cat metronidazole longer than 7 days for a cat, as per the vet.

@Wendy&Neko oh ok thank you. This is good to know. I think the vet and I will talk about it more tomorrow even if I don't have an appointment for him because originally the plan was 13 days before my normal vet asked about the dose, Jasper threw up and she had me reduce the original dose prescribed by the ER vet.
 
My vet told me to stop metronidazole when I saw normal poop. It can definitely constipate. He said once stopped don’t be surprised if a day or two are skipped. .
 
@tiffmaxee I feel pretty overwhelmingly like I want to stop it honestly. There both having normal poop and I think my non diabetic cat may actually be starting to get constipated by it, she has a tendency twords getting constipation already.
 
Was an infection actually detected or on it for loose poop? If no bacteria found I would stop per my vet. If detected 5-7 days should knock it out.
 
@my vet is telling me it's ok for Jasper to be on the antibiotics for 13 days. She is suggesting that, because the first three days he was on it it was the questionable bottle, but I was reassured by the ER vet that the original bottle was fine and the original prescription was for 10 days.
 
@tiffmaxee I feel pretty torn because I do feel like I should be following my vet's advice but honestly she has definitely been wrong before and my gut is telling me to stop the prescription.
 
Back
Top