2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224

Gobbles is feeling great! Lots of purring and loving...being social...being a dork, too-he went behind the tv console and tried to crawl out underneath it--it sits about 4" off the floor so nevertheless I had to "dig" him out of it from the back--hated to do it but had to grab his tail and pull...like I said, he's a smart dumb person. Moderate pee, well-formed poo. Good appetite. I'm very happy and the green 53 didn't freak me out--I rejoiced when I seen it at PM +9.5 and got his shot in him early (1/2 hour) as his numbers were beginning to rise. Maybe he's on the mend? I sure hope so--it is such a blessing to see him behaving like the boy he was before dx cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224

Good job, Kat. Hopefully, he'll have another nice cycle today.
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224

TheBowHuntress said:
Gobbles is feeling great! Lots of purring and loving...being social...being a dork, too-he went behind the tv console and tried to crawl out underneath it--it sits about 4" off the floor so nevertheless I had to "dig" him out of it from the back--hated to do it but had to grab his tail and pull...like I said, he's a smart dumb person. Moderate pee, well-formed poo. Good appetite. I'm very happy and the green 53 didn't freak me out--I rejoiced when I seen it at PM +9.5 and got his shot in him early (1/2 hour) as his numbers were beginning to rise. Maybe he's on the mend? I sure hope so--it is such a blessing to see him behaving like the boy he was before dx cat_pet_icon
LIKE!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224 +2~264

Looks like I was off by one cycle on the "clearing the bounce" thing!

it is such a blessing to see him behaving like the boy he was before dx
equals
he's on the mend
:-D

Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224 +2~264

Carl & Bob said:
Looks like I was off by one cycle on the "clearing the bounce" thing!

it is such a blessing to see him behaving like the boy he was before dx
equals
he's on the mend
:-D

Carl
Nope Carl--You were right! Hopefully this bounce today or whatever you call it, un-bounces!!! What's your interpretation since I've updated his SS ???
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224 +2~264 +4~350 +7~273

Well, I don't understand the pink number which looks like a hiccup between the yellow numbers, but overall a steady yellow day. With some cats, that can be a pre-cursor to a bounce clearing too. At some point, Gobbles will define the pattern of what his numbers look like just before a bounce clears and a low number might be in the near future. Let's see if he stays flat until shot time.

Carl

edit - Kat, if today is a bounce, it sure isn't a bad one.
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224 +2~264 +4~350 +7~273

I noted it on his SS; I am slightly concerned he may have pancreatitis--sometimes he'll act hungry and go to his food cupboard to pick a can out, so then I feed him...he takes a few bites and loses interest...and he does some lip-licking. Now this morning, after PM +9.5 he did eat 1/2 can FF (which is his norm at on setting). I haven't seen him drinking water (he was inhaling it a few weeks back and earlier...the usual pre-dx and after dx type of excessive water drinking when BG is high. I have been adding water to his food, which he likes. He is peeing and pooing, though. I will keep an eye on him and believe I should call the vet on Monday.... btw, he did, however, eat a good sized-chunk of ground beef and he'd eat more if I offered it to him...he may just be being difficult and spoiled...
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224 +2~264 +4~350 +7~273

Has he vomited at all? Lip licking is a fairly common sign of nausea.
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224 +2~264 +4~350 +7~273

Carl & Bob said:
Has he vomited at all? Lip licking is a fairly common sign of nausea.
No. Well, there was a tiny pile the other day--I think I mentioned it--I did give him a few pieces of cheese though, which is how I knew it was him and not one of the civvies...so I've not given him any cheese since and he's been fine. Off subject--is ground beef appropriate? Funny how he dis'd me when I offered him a can of FF (a flavor he hasn't had for some time) but inhaled the ground beef earlier. I thought maybe I'd offer him more and see if it makes him sick; it can't hurt him (or higher BG) correct, as there is no carbs in it, correct??? I suppose he must be drinking some water based on the pee clumps in the box...moderate/large
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224 +2~264 +4~350 +7~273

Ground beef should be fine, Kat. As long as nothing (seasonings) are added, I think any kind of plain meat is okay. I figure if lions can eat wildebeasts, cats can eat cows? Close enough!

carl
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles AMPS 224 +2~264 +4~350 +7~273

Apart from the lip licking it sopunds like he is being a normal cat in terms of 5Ps and appetite and drinking etc.. you arent used to that!! You have to get used to having a normal weird cute and typically confusing kitty again.. not a sick one!

Lip licking does sound like nausea but you since he is eating ok I wouldnt worry too much yet. It doesnt sound like pancreatitis because diabetic cats with pancreatitis can present with lethargy, decreased appetite, weight loss, and vomiting and/or diarrhea. Also hunched meatloaf due to abdominal pain.

If he was mine I would wait for more symptoms before calling the vet and doing expensive "inconclusive" tests.. my boys are really good at those! But you know him best.

Wendy
 
Re: 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348

Somebody camped out on my lap for an hour, got his shot and then proceeded to INHALE 1 1/3 cans of FF Chopped Grill Classic....

Yes, you're right--I'll just keep an eye on his eating and keep my eyes peeled for vomit piles...
 
Re: ? DOSE INCREASE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Gobbles' 10th cycle since his dose increase was OM 2-2/13. While looking at the protocol, it seems that he may need to be increased to 2.0 U (.25 increase). I don't have complete nadirs but it seems he may be averaging about 250? Can someone interpret and suggest to me if he needs an increase please?
 
Re: ? DOSE INCREASE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

I would stick with the 1.75 for a couple more cycles, since you caught that 53 Friday night.
Yesterday could have just been a bounce from that.
 
Re: ? DOSE INCREASE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

If you shot at 8:30am and 8:30pm yeserday, and you want to move his shot time some more, as long as his numbers are not too low, you can shoot at 8 this morning.
 
Re: ? DOSE INCREASE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Thank you Dyana. It's distressing to see nice numbers and then they turn pink (or red, black for that matter). I'll prepare a shot with the 1.75 U. and test him again, what at +11.5? He ate right after +9.5 (,246 BG) I'll test again at +12 and see where he's at.
 
Re: ? DOSE INCREASE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

I think shooting at +11.5 this morning will be fine.
The only reason I can see that you wouldn't want to shoot then is if he was say a lot lower and diving.
You fed 2 hours prior to the prosptective shot time, it should be fine, as long as you'll be around to watch him and get some early tests depending upon his numbers.

I'm going back to sleep, but will be up at 8 to check on you.
 
Re: ? DOSE INCREASE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Dyana said:
I think shooting at +11.5 this morning will be fine.
The only reason I can see that you wouldn't want to shoot then is if he was say a lot lower and diving.
You fed 2 hours prior to the prosptective shot time, it should be fine, as long as you'll be around to watch him and get some early tests depending upon his numbers.

I'm going back to sleep, but will be up at 8 to check on you.
Ok thanks. Now he has OCEANS of pee this morning, but I don't see him drinking water. So where is all this pee coming from? Should I be concerned?
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Dyana answered my ? re: dose increase. But I have another question:

He has OCEANS of pee this morning, but I don't see him drinking water (and same yesterday). So where is all this pee coming from? Should I be concerned? Wouldn't he be getting dehydrated?
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Morning ~O)

Wet food is about 78% water usually. Simon's pees are huge, he just doesn't concentrate urine very well anymore.
So in his case, as he gets in good numbers, he stops drinking excessively, but the pees are still big.

Any signs of dehydration?
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Bruce & Simon said:
Simon's pees are huge, he just doesn't concentrate urine very well anymore.
So in his case, as he gets in good numbers, he stops drinking excessively, but the pees are still big.

Any signs of dehydration?
And good morning to you Bruce. what does "he doesn't concentrate urinemean? When he is in good numbers, there is usually normal pee clumps. And what are the signs of dehydration?
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Because Simon's kidneys are getting less efficient with age, they "use" much more water to cleanse the blood, even if the
FD is regulated and he's not drinking continuously, so his urine is plentiful and dilute.
Feline Dehydration
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Thanks :-D I am going to check for dehydration here in a few minutes when I check AMPS. I have a bulb syringe with water in it and will adminster some of that (but not too much); it can't hurt him even he is isn't dehydrated. I will call vet AM tomorrow (I was going to call him anyways because I need a prescription for Lantus pens).
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

I should have mentioned, once regulated as Simon is, his pees are still very big, but MUCH less frequent.
So the constant /drink/pee/drink/pee cycle of non-regulation is broken, but his pees are still large and diluted
compared to a "normal" kitty (small, but very concentrated, yellow & VERY noticeable ammonia smell)
 
Re: ? DOSE INCREASE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

TheBowHuntress said:
Thank you Dyana. It's distressing to see nice numbers and then they turn pink (or red, black for that matter). I'll prepare a shot with the 1.75 U. and test him again, what at +11.5? He ate right after +9.5 (,246 BG) I'll test again at +12 and see where he's at.
When I read the "I'll prepare a shot" I am just concerned that you are saying that you are prefilling syringes. Lantus does not work well with prefilled syringes and should be given within a few minutes of drawing the dose.
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

I prepared the shot 10 minutes before I shot him--or is that too many minutes?
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Bruce & Simon said:
I should have mentioned, once regulated as Simon is, his pees are still very big, but MUCH less frequent.
So the constant /drink/pee/drink/pee cycle of non-regulation is broken, but his pees are still large and diluted
compared to a "normal" kitty (small, but very concentrated, yellow & VERY noticeable ammonia smell)
The clumps are various sizes...so ammonia smell that I have noticed--I'll take whiff next time I clean his litter box. I forgot to mention: I recently added a water bowl next to their food, so he could be drinking that. The bowl he was drinking from previously was used by the dog and the other two cats....did you see my post re: scruff, gums? I am on my way to church and will check back in later.
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Kat --

You cannot micromanage your cat's physiology. Before the diabetes, did Gobbles pee a lot, or not? The increase in urine output may be a result of the higher numbers. As Gobbles spends more time in a better range, all of the physical symptoms of diabetes will be under better control. How about giving your kitty a couple of days before panicking. FWIW, Gabby has always had big clumps of pee. It's especially noticeable compared with my civie.

Also, I noted on your spreadsheet that you were concerned about pancreatitis beause Gobbles was licking his lips. This is not a symptom of pancreatitis, per se. It may be a symptom of nausea. His tummy may have been off yesterday morning but from your notes later in the day, he ate well. It's good that you're attentive to Gobbles' needs and changes in behavior. I wouldn't get overly concerned based on a behavior that you see once and then everything is back to normal. Cats are allowed to have an off day, too!
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

You have two condos going so the other one has the scruff info in ie

Scruff went back into place within a second or two.

Tried the upper lip thing but he wasn't cooperating and what I could see from upper lip looked kinda pink/white.

Could be cos you moved the water bowl. Also would you say the pee was the same as when he was first diagnosed or is it even more than it was then? Tiggy pees more when his numbers are high but then it goes back to normal.

Also regards dosing, I wasn't sure that you might have to start counting from the delayed shot on 30th?
 
Re: ? OCEANS of PEE ? 2/2 Gobbles PMPS 348 +3 370 +9.5 246

Sienne and Gabby said:
Kat --

You cannot micromanage your cat's physiology. Before the diabetes, did Gobbles pee a lot, or not? The increase in urine output may be a result of the higher numbers. As Gobbles spends more time in a better range, all of the physical symptoms of diabetes will be under better control. How about giving your kitty a couple of days before panicking. FWIW, Gabby has always had big clumps of pee. It's especially noticeable compared with my civie.

Also, I noted on your spreadsheet that you were concerned about pancreatitis beause Gobbles was licking his lips. This is not a symptom of pancreatitis, per se. It may be a symptom of nausea. His tummy may have been off yesterday morning but from your notes later in the day, he ate well. It's good that you're attentive to Gobbles' needs and changes in behavior. I wouldn't get overly concerned based on a behavior that you see once and then everything is back to normal. Cats are allowed to have an off day, too!
Hi Sienne--I'm sure you realize its neurotic me again (b*itch slap please--if you don't want to do it, Carl will...lol) Yes, before FD he was peeing a lot; one of the reasons he went to the vet initially (along with the drinking lots of water, eating a lot, poor coat, weight loss). I did notice a few times, lower pee output, when BG was in a good range. He's had many more bouts of "oceans" than "puddles" however, he has been high probably 80% of the time (I do not pay attention to any BG's before 1/8 because I found out that the TrueResult was reading BG's low, however, a pattern is reflected before 1/7...). Thank you for letting me know re: lip licking (thank goodness there isn't--to my knowledge--a "symptom checker" like the one for humans on WebMD.com). I made some notes in his SS re: condo...) Thank you for your reply, Sienne--you have quite the calming effect on us worry-worts...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top