2/2 Gobbles AMPS 322 +2 226 +6 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone ~ I haven't been on for a while as Gobbles went OTJ in May 2013. I have been diligently testing him every 2 weeks ever since. On 1/18/15 he tested at 63. Yesterday, 2/1/15, he tested at 150, so I fed him and tested again 2 hours later and he was at 176. I tested myself twice with the glucometer just to be sure it was fairly accurate, and got 96, which for me is average. This morning, before I fed Gobbles, he tested 211. I took him to the vet at 10 a.m., and tested him while waiting for the vet, and got 276. Knowing all Gobbles' history, the fact that I keep a spreadsheet and follow the Lantus TR Protocol, plus being the great vet that he is, he relied on my numbers and prescribed 1/2 unit 1x a day for starters. I tested him when I got home, at noon, and he was at 322! I administered him 1/2 unit of Lantus, then fed him FF T&G Classic Pate, and will re-check him in a few hours. The vet said remission is possible, but there are no guarantees. At this point in time, I am going to put remission out of my mind and be proactive. Attached is a pic of Gobbles being his silly self. I need to figure out how to add a 2015 sheet to Gobbles's SS that has the numbered and colored columns, amps, pmps, etc....
 

Attachments

  • gobcrazy.jpg
    gobcrazy.jpg
    106.2 KB · Views: 67
I was just thinking about you guys....I'm sorry you're back, but hopefully it will be a short visit. Great job getting him restarted right away! I assume any medical issues have been ruled out, right....his teeth OK? no UTIs or other possible infections?

Also, Lantus really won't work well when dosed just once a day.; you really want to dose twice a day for best results - otherwise I am sure you'll always see all kinds of wonky numbers.

Love the pictures....silly boy!!
 
I was just thinking about you guys....I'm sorry you're back, but hopefully it will be a short visit. Great job getting him restarted right away! I assume any medical issues have been ruled out, right....his teeth OK? no UTIs or other possible infections?

Also, Lantus really won't work well when dosed just once a day.; you really want to dose twice a day for best results - otherwise I am sure you'll always see all kinds of wonky numbers.

Love the pictures....silly boy!!
I concur, but his vet wants to be extra cautious....and I think maybe I feel the same way just for a day or two....we'll see how it goes
 
Hi Kat,
Sorry that Gobbles is going back on the juice and hope that he'll be able to get back off soon. Did the vet suspect any health issues or dental problems that might have made his bg go up?

To add a 2015 sheet to your spreadsheet: 1) duplicate the present sheet ("duplicate"--not "copy"; click the down arrow on the tab for your present sheet and choose "duplicate"); 2) delete the data in the duplicate so that the duplicate will show only the format. 3) "rename" the duplicate "2015"). 4) In the row of sheets at the bottom of the screen, move (drag) the tab for the "2015" sheet to the far left so that it is the first sheet; your signature will always point to the first sheet.

Now, if you want to simplify matters for 2016, duplicate the new, empty, 2015 sheet. Rename the duplicate "SS Template" and move it to the far right. Next year, if Gobbles is still on the juice, you will be able to duplicate the template and rename it "2016".

Welcome back. As Amy says, Lantus needs to be dosed every 12 hours. Cats are not humans (who only need Lantus every 24 hours)!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I just read your reply to Amy's post. If you want to be cautious, you can give .25 of a Unit every 12 hours. That would add up to the .5 U the vet wants you to start with.
 
Last edited:
Hey Kat and Gobbs! Oh Gobbles, why iz u bak? Jus had to be extra sweet along wif ur extra silly too? Let's make this one short huh!

Kat! I too was thinking about you not too long ago and was wondering how you were doing. Sorry you have to be back but I'm happy to 'see' you anyway!

HUGS and headbutts!
 
Hi Kat, I'm sorry that Gobbles is back on the juice, but glad you caught it early.
I too, am happy to see you, altho I don't come here every day, since Checks is gone.
 
I'm sorry you're back because Gobbles is back on the juice. I hope you can get things under control quickly. I love the picture.
 
Thanks everyone for your warm "welcome back"....I'm going to try to follow Ella's instructions and make a proper 2015 SS page.....Will test him at +6
 
Oh d*mn. Sorry to see you're back. So, no signs of infection, dental issues, nor upset GI tract to explain the higher numbers?
 
Oh d*mn. Sorry to see you're back. So, no signs of infection, dental issues, nor upset GI tract to explain the higher numbers?
Hi BJ...nope, nothing that would explain an elevated BG....simply put, Gobbles missed everyone here and decided to sweeten up a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top