2/2 George AMPS 439 Yuck +2 418 +9 383pmps 438 +2 418 wondering about dose.

Gill & George

Member Since 2015
Hi All
Vines and prayers for all those kitties in need.

first day back

Not impressed with the numbers this morning in the slightest.
On the plus side, remembering that they are more than just their numbers, normal poo this morning, pee output is up, he's sat cuddling me, was vocal about his breffs this morning and left his plate very clean like a good outstanding member of the CPC.

Geez, George. That +9 is going to give Gill apoplexy.
:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
I think BFG found that so funny he thought he'd try it again this morning:rolleyes:

Well at least I won't have to worry about him going too low today, while we are out shopping.
I'm going to stop by the pharmacy and pick up some ketone sticks, I have some but they've been open for too long and they go off.
I'm wondering what to do about the dose if he is staying flat and high. Spoke to Doctor M, he says the steroid shot should last between 7-10 days, today is just 3 days.

Off out now, stay safe kitties.
 
Hi Gill,

I'm so glad to see BFG is back to his CPC ways. The steroid shot does seem to be helping, I guess.

I think if he stays this high, I would take him up on the seventh cycle. If he's still in reds and pinks, the protocol does say to increase by .5, so that's what I'd do, as long as you can monitor. Hopefully, once the steroid wears off, his numbers will come back down. Paws crossed.
 
If he's still in reds and pinks, the protocol does say to increase by .5, so that's what I'd do, as long as you can monitor. Hopefully, once the steroid wears off, his numbers will come back down. Paws crossed.
Thanks Tricia, I was erring towards a 0.5u increase, but was wondering if it was just the ITF doing the talking. I of course will be able to monitor, you know me when I'm armed with a glucometer, it's not just BFG that's fallen off the wagon.:rolleyes:
 
Glad he is telling better. No worries while your out today. That will change soon enough so take advantage now.
 
When I leave food out for Yoyo sometimes he will eat it and then other times he never touches it. It is hit and miss with him:)
 
Yes I accidentally posted on yesterday’s thread.

Since this is the 3rd time doing this rodeo I would be aggressive and bump up to at least .50.

I was wondering if you know how long the steroid injection last?

ETA just read you addressed that above.

I would still raise him . I wouldn’t wait for 6 cycles since he isn’t new to this rodeo. On Bubba’s 2 or 3 time back I started low and after a few cycles I bumped up. One member quoted the protocol to me and Jill weighed in and agreed with me being more aggressive. Each time they go back on the juice , it is harder to rein them in.
 
Last edited:
I thought I read Bobbie said she would increase after the 4th cycle to stay ahead of it in your yesterday's condo.
Yes, but I'm going to be away all day Monday (from +1 till +11), so this worries me especially as the dose of steroids starts to wear off, it should be out of his system by next wednesday (according to vet). So I feel nervous about pushing it when I'm not going to be around to monitor.
 
Hope George’s numbers come down. When Scooter had to have a steroid shot his numbers went way high. On the day the vet said the shot would wear off, he was right back to where he had been. Hopefully George will do the same.
 
Hi Gill. Labs didn’t give any clue as to the reason for what’s happening? Hope you get him back to OTJ quickly and the steroid shot isa one and done.
 
Yep I agree to bump him up by 0.5u so his new dose is 0.75u. That steroid affected him a lot more than I thought it would!

Down you go, Georgie!
I'm liking the idea of going up by 0.5 to 0.75.
The one issue is, me be away on Monday am.
If I took him up tomorrow morning, I'd be worried about shooting and leaving on Monday. What with the steroid waning and the depot building, we could have a perfect storm.

just thinking outloud.
So would it be better, for him to shoot an increase starting tomorrow morning, then skipping on monday morning if anything seems fishy at all?
Or just being consistent and holding the 0.25u?
Last time he responded really well to a teeny dose and it kept him ticking over, of course that was just his teeth, no steroid in the mix that time.

On the plus side he's eating well again, ate all his snacks this morning and last night, he's licking the plate clean so I know he will eat, and he's hungry.
So I guess I can always leave food out on his autofeeder for him, one slight worry with that is that as he is now stone deaf he isn't always aware that it has turned and dispensed his food. I can always also over carb him as I head out and stall the cycle.

I'm just rambling now, I guess I will mull it over, see what he does this pm though with a pmps of 438, not much I suspect, and take it from there.
I am leaning to increasing tomorrow morning I hate seeing the pink but the red just makes me feel sick.
 
Hope George’s numbers come down. When Scooter had to have a steroid shot his numbers went way high. On the day the vet said the shot would wear off, he was right back to where he had been. Hopefully George will do the same.
Thanks, that's good to know. Vet said 7-10 days, so Wednesday to friday next week then.
Did he just plummet back down, or was it a gradual thing? Perhaps I can look at the numbers on his ss, can you remember what date?

Hi Gill. Labs didn’t give any clue as to the reason for what’s happening? Hope you get him back to OTJ quickly and the steroid shot isa one and done.
Not really. Vet said amylase was high (though we haven't done it before), thought it could be Ptitis, it was in house lab so no specifc Ptitis test done.
Some of his liver values are a bit off.
Other values improved, like some of the ones which indicated possiblity of aneamia last time (he's on b12 complex supplements)
And Phosphorus was OK, creatinine and BUN up, but they have been stable. His most recent labs are also on the ss.

Vet felt swelling/inflamation in his tummy felt like fluid, he got me to palpate too, and that seems to have gone down now. He recommended the steroids for the inflammation and to get him to start eating again, he's given AB's as a precaution just in case there was some infection that was kicking it all off.
So basically flying blind.
 
Gill, what is going to happen to the fluid in the abdomen? Will the body just absorb it?

If you increase tomorrow AM then come Monday would only be the 3rd cycle of the increase and depending on what the AMPS is, you may not be too concerned with him plummeting.
 
If you increase tomorrow AM then come Monday would only be the 3rd cycle of the increase and depending on what the AMPS
In the past by cycle 3 I'd start to see what the dose would do. Of course, this time round his previous patterns may not hold true.

His pm +2 418 has me 90% decided, I've had enough of this drama, we will take him up tomorrow to 0.75u. Matt and I have talked, if necessary, we will stay home on Monday. I'll bring the test time forward so I can get a +2.

Heard that BFG, the dose is coming up. If you've got something to say about that you'd better say it soon.
 
Back
Top