? 2/2 Fred PM +4 389, AMPS 374, +5 348

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
I was hoping some experienced uses can help me with Fred's dosing. As per my vet, I had Fred on two different doses for AM and PM. I have been trying to correct that over the past three days, and finally got to 4 and 4 yesterday, 2/1. As you can see, Fred's numbers just don't seem to be going anywhere. :-( I have been at the AM dose of 4u for 8 days, and that's obviously not doing the job. However, I just bumped him up to the PM dose of 4u last night. His +4 was 389. I had really been hoping for better.

Do I need to wait another 2 days at 4 units in the PM? I'm thinking the answer to that is likely yes, but I'm so afraid to have him sitting in these high numbers day after day with no respite in sight. I am testing for ketones.

The only positive I'm seeing is that his urine output is *slightly* decreased, so I hope that means something is happening!

TIA
 
Hi!

There are people more experienced than me, but I am pretty sure you should have a single dose, so when you change it, both gets changed. Sorry if I misunderstood you.

People will ask you if you are following TR or SLGS, and the answer to how often you change the dose will depend on which method you are following. See descriptions here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

However, the faster it is reccomended to change is after 6 cycles (or 3 days), to give time for the depot to catch up, and be sure you have seen the "real" response to the increased dose. So, I think you shouldn't change the dose until AM of jan 4th.
I'll let more experienced people give you more specific dosing advice.

Hang in there, it will get better!
 
Back
Top