2/2 Davidson +8 117 +10 139 PMPS 193 +9 158

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Morning to all...........

Yesterday's Condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112988

Okay, learning more from all of you (it REALLY helps when you all simplify your advice for me as I comprehend it better)..........so if I have this right, Davidson saw great low greens, then reacted and bounced. Looking at the numbers from last night and the AMPS it would appear he is dropping nicely and should come in with low numbers again today.

Does this mean he is doing very well and reacting to the insulin? I understand EVERYONE does well, we all try to do what's best for our kitties, however so that I know he is on the road to recovery will this be a normal routine for a while whereas he goes green then bounces, and continues that pattern? I'm just trying to educate myself and if this is a GOOD pattern he is on and based on his numbers in the 2.5 weeks he's been on the juice - is he showing good signs that remission is a possibility? I don't have anything to gauge his progress on - so I'm asking.

He's great today, and last night too - you would never know there was anything wrong with him as he acts normal (although normal is just a setting on the dryer) and you would never know he had a health problem.

I really appreciate the time everyone takes to educate us all..........we are better for that!!

More snow here, and winter never ends.........welcome to the Great White North!

Shawna
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson +2 298 AMPS 176

Hi Shawna and sweet Davidson! :-D
Great job on the green yesterday :mrgreen: And great job to clearing that bounce so fast too! Looks like the insulin is doing just what it should be :smile:
I hear you on the amount to learn in this dance. It is crazy and seemingly overwhelming, but already I can see how quickly you are picking all this up. You are both doing a fabulous job. Now let's see some nice surfing today Davidson :cool:

Have a great Sunday my northern neighbor :-D
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson +2 298 +9 176 AMPS 279

Does this mean he is doing very well and reacting to the insulin?
Yes, he sure is. :-D

I understand EVERYONE does well, we all try to do what's best for our kitties, however so that I know he is on the road to recovery will this be a normal routine for a while whereas he goes green then bounces, and continues that pattern?
Yes. We sometimes say a kitty bounces after those low numbers until they don't bounce anymore. Sometimes called "liver training school" because you are retraining the liver to realize that those low numbers are not a reason to panic. Think of this as sort of doing a system reset with those lower numbers as the new normal.

I'm just trying to educate myself and if this is a GOOD pattern he is on and based on his numbers in the 2.5 weeks he's been on the juice - is he showing good signs that remission is a possibility?
Yes. Remission is a possibility. It doesn't always happen, but the first 6 months is the best window of opportunity for that to happen.

We'll just keep working with you to bring Davidson's numbers lower and lower and eventually he'll start to earn dose reductions.
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson +2 298 +9 176 AMPS 279

Thanks Deb.......

So according to the Protocol and since Davidson experienced nadir's in the under 100 range yesterday I am to HOLD this dose for 10 full cycles and see what happens - correct? Today starts the 3rd cycle and depending on how his next few days go will determine if we increase, decrease or stay on the same dose............??
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson +2 298 +9 176 AMPS 279

Yes, you hold this dose UNLESS Davidson drops under 50. Then that is an immediate reduction of 0.25U. We call it "earning a reduction" when our kitties go that low.

Decisions on changing the dose will be made based on what happens with the BG testing over the next 7 cycles.
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson +2 298 +9 176 AMPS 279

GECKO said:
So according to the Protocol and since Davidson experienced nadir's in the under 100 range yesterday I am to HOLD this dose for 10 full cycles and see what happens - correct? Today starts the 3rd cycle and depending on how his next few days go will determine if we increase, decrease or stay on the same dose............??
The cycle count begins with the 1st cycle following the green, so:
02/01 PM = cycle 1
02/02 AM = cycle 2

today's PM cycle will be cycle 3
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson +2 298 +9 176 AMPS 279

Sandy.........wouldn't Cycle 1 start Feb 1 AM since he had a 96 at +4 13:30pm? That would make tonight cycle 4 and then the new cycle would always start in the mornings.........Just thinking........
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson AMPS 279 +3 236 +5 157

Going down! :cool:

GECKO said:
Sandy.........wouldn't Cycle 1 start Feb 1 AM since he had a 96 at +4 13:30pm? That would make tonight cycle 4 and then the new cycle would always start in the mornings..

It's a count of cycles since the green appeared:

Being that a cycle is the12 hours between each shot, a new cycle starts every morning and every evening.

It is easier to count cycles when cycle 1 falls on an AM cycle, however Davidson is leading the dance and there will be those times that cycle 1 will fall at a PM cycle.

One thing I did to help me keep track of cycle count was to place a 'comment' in the cells where I recorded the dose.
The comment was c1, c2, whatever the cycle count was.
 

Attachments

  • Cycle count after green.jpg
    Cycle count after green.jpg
    17.7 KB · Views: 274
Re: 2/2 Davidson AMPS 279 +3 236 +5 157

Thanks Sandy, I just thought since he was closer to the AM I would count that as C1............if I end up increasing of decreasing the dose I have to do it in the AM regardless of his cycle as I work from home and can monitor him better then at night as with the changes I know I may have to monitor him hourly and that will be next to impossible during the middle of the night..........too much to do during the day that I need to be attentive :<
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson AMPS 279 +3 236 +5 157

Shawna,

There is a possibility that you may be faced with your lowest PS number to date.
I have to run to the super market and am leaving now.
I'll check on you when I return in around an hour, between 18:30-19:00.

I'm not certain who will be around this evening - I myself will be at a neighbors home for Super Bowl.

What time will +11 be?
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson AMPS 279 +3 236 +5 157

Hi Sandy.........

+8 117 was at 17:30 and will shoot again +10 at 19:30 - I'm doing the SBowl thing here and will monitor Davidson...........I'll be posting and be up for a while yet to make sure he's good.
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson AMPS 279 +3 236 +5 157

GECKO said:
if I end up increasing of decreasing the dose I have to do it in the AM regardless of his cycle

While it's true you can choose when to increase, when it comes to decreases Davidson will be calling the shots (no pun intended)

For example, Lets say that tomorrow during the AM cycle, Davidson decides he wants to check out the lowlands and throws you a 42 at some point.
That is a signal to reduce the dose starting with the next shot.
Holding the dose for one more cycle before reducing could place him in danger.
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson AMPS 279 +3 236 +5 157

GECKO said:
+8 117 was at 17:30 and will shoot again +10 at 19:30 -

You mean 'test' again at +10 19:30, correct? :cool:

If I have an opportunity I'll try and check back in. Hopefully others will be around to help you should you have any questions or concerns.
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson AMPS 279 +3 236 +5 157

oh yeah..........SORRY, test again.......must be the Super Bowl wine...........

+10 139, rising a bit now and another two hrs will be the PMPS

Thanks for checking

Shawna
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson +8 6.5 +10 7.7 PMPS 10.7

Shawna:

Please remember to post your numbers in US format (mg/L) not in the World format (mmol/dL). In other words:
  • +8 of 6.5 = 117
  • +10 of 7.7 = 130
  • PMPS of 10.7 = 193

Since most of the people in LL are from the US, it's important to keep the subject line numbers in US format. It's the quickest way for us to help you. When I scan the board, if I see unusual numbers, I'll stop by and look at your SS. If the numbers are in the World format, it takes me a lot longer. Most people won't bother to convert the numbers or open your SS.

Regarding counting cycles, we start a count at several points. A cycle count can start
  • when you change the dose
  • when counting to see if a bounce has cleared
  • if you skip a shot, the count restarts
  • and probably for other reasons I haven't thought of.

In Davidson's case, if you are counting cycles at the current dose, you are interested in trying to determine if his nadir has mostly been below 200. In other words, have his nadirs been mostly blues and greens. If the nadirs have mostly been below 200, you want to hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles. To my eye, Davidson started seeing blues at this dose during the AM cycle on 1/29. That means tonight was 10 cycles at this dose. You have a choice. Since Davidson saw some lovely green numbers, you could hold the dose a bit longer and see if he returns to those greens. You could also increase. If you are leaning toward increasing, I'd encourage you to add some "fat" to the dose. In other words, don't increase by the full 0.25u. So, you would want to measure a dose that's half way between your current dose of 2.75u and 3.0u.
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson +8 6.5 +10 7.7 PMPS 10.7

Thanks Sienne;

Opps, sometimes forget to post the US version even though I write it in my journal and post on my SS. Will TRY to remember..............

Tonight +2 is 202

Yes, he was a low nadir back Jan 29th but only got one number below 100, wasn't until Feb 1 where he saw several below 100 and that's been it. I may hold this dose for another full day and speak with my Vet tomorrow and ask him what he suggests, although I think a slight increase may be the way to go so that we see lots of greens and try to get in the 50-60 range consistently. See what he says tomorrow and TY for keeping an eye on Davidson!!

Shawna
 
Re: 2/2 Davidson +8 6.5 +10 7.7 PMPS 10.7

final for this cycle +9 158

End of condo, starting a new one for next AMPS- I will watch to see if there is a drop and will test more frequently since his PMPS was his lowest yet

Thanks

Shawna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top