2/2 CRYSTAL PMPS 358 +4.75 362 +6 356 AMPS 378 +3 392

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
Good morning all

Day 7 on Lev for Crystal and still about the same numbers, pinks and the odd red thrown in for good measure, urgh. Gave her a 1u increase this morning. She seems okay in herself, popped out briefly this morning in the frost but is now having a nap, eating okay and the omega 3 seems to be working on her stiff leg. Don't know what else to say really, every day the same disappointment she's not doing better.

Suki & Crystal
 
Last edited:
Come on down Crystal. Time to show us yellow again. Consistency isn't what we want to see right now. :rolleyes:

Good to hear the Omega-3 is helping her leg. The ongoing pink must be frustrating, but she might be on of those kitties that need a similar amount of Levemir as she did Lantus. Paws crossed for another colour soon.
 
I have not posted on your condo before, but just wanted to stop in and offer support and hugs for Crystal :bighug::bighug: I just finished reading her profile, you are doing a wonderful job with her, I am so glad your vet finally conceded to switch her to Lev and I will watch with great interest as I often wonder if Lev would make a difference for my Tiger. Hang in there and hope Crystal's leg feels better. Is there any chance of other infection causing her pain?
 
@Wendy&Neko - thanks for looking in Wendy. How do you think Crystal is doing on the Lev? I'm wondering whether it was the right move for her as we were seeing better numbers on Lantus but maybe it's just that we haven't got the right dose yet or it's still early days. I had such high hopes that we would see a dramatic improvement on the Lev. I just worry about the effect of constantly high numbers on her organs.
I regularly do ketone tests (which to date thankfully have all been negative) but the other test on the same strip is for glucose and it's always at the maximum, which can't be good. I plan to increase by 1u tomorrow morning after 4 cycles as per the fast track approach, paws crossed.

@Tiger and Ruth - nice to see to a new face checking on us and thanks for your good good wishes. I had a tabby Tiger many moons ago, and your Tiger looks such a sweet little girl. Getting the vet to switch to Lev wasn't a problem but unfortunately she has zero experience of acromegaly and is very concerned at the high dose of insulin but my decision is to go with the advice of people who have the practical experience on this Board. I too wonder if there is anything else going on causing her resistance, I tried having a look in her mouth this morning but she was far from cooperative and, as the acro has caused her mouth tissues and gums to enlarge, it's a bit difficult to see, plus I'm not sure what I'm looking for anyway. The vet checked her mouth last time she was examined (about 3 weeks ago) but didn't make any comment. She has a stiffness in her hind leg which comes and goes a bit, probably arthritis, but I'm not sure whether this would have an effect on her BG levels. All in all she's certainly proving to be a challenge.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top