??? 2/2 Cleo AMPS=447 +1.3=480 PMPS=428 +2=466

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday (02/01)
AMPS=397
+2=386
+5.5=320
+6.5=267
+8.5=235
+10=264
PMPS=247
+2=484
+5 484

Still bouncing :(. Be patient Delia...


I've a question: if a dose is too high, what happens in numbers? I mean: how could I understand if a bounce is due to a too high insulin dosage?
 
Bouncing this up, Delia, so other much more experienced than I can have a peek.

My less-than-experienced eye suggests that the high numbers now are a bounce from the string of yellows yesterday. Can take six cycles to clear. And that sure does require patience.

As for your question. I'll let that stand for others to tackle.

For now, though. Hang tight with the protocol. As I was told so often, she just hasn't found the right dose yet. But the protocol calls for an extremely safe approach to increases.

Wish I could help more. Hope someone else can.

Marilyn and Polly
 
This is the tricky part. Too much insulin can also look like too little insulin, and both can show high numbers. However, if you've safely increased the dose according to the protocol - which you have - then it's not too much insulin. We'll typically see too high a dose when people have been given too high a starting dose by their vet, or if they have increased faster or by larger increments that what is in the protocol.

Cleo has been on this dose for over 6 cycles with only yellow nadirs. So you could increase to 2.25 units anytime. And Marilyn is right, Cleo is bouncing from those yellows. It's very frustrating, I've been there too.
 
Thank you for your answers. What make me think that it can be a too high dosage is that she hit blues more often when I gave her only one shot in the evening (when I started giving her insulin in October).
I've followed the protocol, it's true, but I also increased the dose when she was taking steroids and she had just earned a reduction. Then I switched to a lower carbs food (from 7% to 3% and even 1.5%). For these reasons I can't understand why she is always bouncing and seems not responsive to insulin.
Sorry, I've tried to explain better than I can, but I'm always limited from the language :(.
I don't feel myself confident in increasing the dose during the week. I'll do it friday or thursday evening so I can monitor her.
Thank you again for your continuos and precious help.
 
A cat's insulin needs can change over time. What Cleo needed in October is different from what she needs now. A little over a year ago Neko was looking great on .75U, now she needs 2.25U to keep the same numbers. Last spring when she started needing more insulin, I was worried like you are now about being overdose. But when I started increasing, the good numbers started coming back.

It's fine to wait until the weekend when you can monitor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top