2/2 Chyna PMPS 285 +2 277 +4 173 +5.75 152

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hello, LL. Well, I don't know if we passed by a good dose or if the good one is still coming, but this mornings BGs suck :sad: . She does eat at +2 so the +3 could be having a bit of fuds going on...

Thanks for visiting us early morning, Tricia :-D I hope you had a good time out for the evening! Yesterday: Chyna 2/1

We are STILL trying to catch pee :roll: . I have a trap set again...she keeps going at night when I'm sleeping, or I don't get to it in time and she's thrown litter all over the plastic. She will not go if I'm near the litter box. Hopefully today she will go in the right place at the right time! Chyna is purring and seems content this morning, it's me that is freaking out :lol: She's gained 8oz in the past month so I may need to shave some fuds...not sure where yet. The bean part of me that worries about the CKD is like yay, and the other part that worries about the diabetes is like oooh no. Her fur on the belly seems a bit thicker too, but that may be the winter, even though she's indoor?

I have to dye my hair, do my housework, do subqs and pet my kitty, and visit condos today...and maybe a nap since the btb was just a quick doze...that's the plan :-D Happy Sunday, LL!
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413

Ok, we finally got a little bit of pee, and I can't tell if it's negative or trace ketones! I tried twice but there isn't much pee that I could use not in litter, and it looks pinkish like trace to me! WHY do they have to be so similar in color??? Anyways, we had trace ketones once, when she had an absessed tooth. I don't have any money and the vets are closed today. So I gave Chyna 100ml subq fluids and will be watching for pee all day to test again...should I up her insulin tonight? She's been eating all her fuds and her breath smells fine...
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 Ketones?

Sorry about the high numbers. I hope Chyna will come down some today. I don't have any dose advice. Good luck getting another ketone test today.
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 Ketones!?

Where'd the blues go, lil Chyna? No dose advice from me, but I hope there's nothing wrong. Sending positive thoughts and vines your way.
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 Ketones!?

Can you try the ketone strip and check the color? Sometimes the colors are a little off.
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 Ketones!?

I tried on myself, but I can't tell...I wish she would come and pee again! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 Ketones!?

I thought the same for Lovey on one or two occasions but it was negative when I went to the vet. It was hard to tell if it was trace or negative.
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 Ketones!?

Thanks Catherine, it's just a wrong time for me to try on myself too, of course. I may have to get one of those ketone meters for times like this...I hope the subqs helped. She's sleeping and oblivious to stressed bean. :roll:

Also, thanks for visiting and the vines, Tara and Carla:)
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 +8 318 Dose/Ketones!?

Okay, Chyna, that's enough with the high wire act. Come on down to the nice, safe, yellow floor. Stop at the lb on the way and pee for mama, okay? Good girl! cat_pet_icon

That was a nice so far today, and perhaps tonight's will be better. Positive thoughts and yellow vines coming your way!

I have never been able to tell the difference between trace and negative, either. I really think that if everything else seems good, there is nothing to panic about. I can't give you dose advice, either. :roll:

Sounds like a nice, relaxing Sunday for you, except for the PBS (panicky bean syndrome). Take a few deep breaths and try to relax. :smile:
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 +8 318 Dose/Ketones!?

Hi Rachel:

I was having the same problem until I went to my Vet and her ketone strips had a whole lot of stripes on them. They cost a bit more but they are much easier to read and they tell a lot more things than just ketones.

Maybe as your Vet if she can order you some.

Linda
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 +8 318 Dose/Ketones!?

Hi Rachel!

I think you're right on the dosecrease.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing. (I wouldn't think Chyna would be considered "new to numbers under 200 since she's been OTJ before and has gotten blues before this time around)

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

As for the ketone strips, they say "If more than a trace, go to vet ASAP"...if you can't tell the difference between none and trace, I'd just watch her carefully and try again later. If she's eating and acting normally, I'd think you're safe

Come on Chyna!! Get out of those pinks and reds!...at least to sunny yellow!
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 +8 318 Dose/Ketones!?

Well, we finally had a teensy amount of pee...and it was barely enough to wet the strip in the "trap". I THINK negative, but maybe there wasn't enough pee. I'd worry about UTI but she seems to like to do her pee clumps at night as I had some of those to clean up this morning :roll:

Hi Tricia, I am hoping for yellow tonight. And more pee! It's hard to read those darn things, why wouldn't they have them blue or something instead of neutral and PINK. ohmygod_smile I am trying to relax, thanks for all the encouragement :-D

Thanks Linda, I wonder if they have those in stock...I need to go pick up cartrophen this week, so maybe I will ask. Thanks for mentioning them!

Hi Chris, thanks. She's only on cycle 5 right now, that's why I was hesitant on the dose increase tonight (on cycle 6). If no one says otherwise, I may just go ahead to 5.5u tonight a cycle early? Meanwhile, she's had subqs and is eating good, no signs of distress other than annoyance at being followed everywhere and to the LB :lol:

Well, I'm back to stress cleaning! It needs to be done anyways...maybe I'll hit a few condos first ;-)
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 +8 318 Dose/Ketones!?

Rachel --

I wouldn't worry about ketones unless they are greater than trace. If the color on the strip is close to yours when you test yourself, all is good.

I agree with you -- I'd give Chyna at least the 6 cycles to see how this dose is working. She's bouncing around a bit and this is the first blues you're seeing so I think it's important to assess how the dose is doing.
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 +8 318

Thanks Sienne. I worry easy :lol: I still have a pee trap set for later. I'll do her 6th cycle at 5.25u tonight, and if no improvement will do a dosecrease tomorrow. Right when I go back to work, of course :? Ah well, what can you do? I hope to see blue and yellow tonight :smile:
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna AMPS 372 +3 413 +6 322 +8 318

Sorry Rachel...I worded that wrong...I agree you shouldn't increase tonight since you haven't got 6 cycles yet, but if you didn't see better numbers overnight, it could be time to increase.

Of course that means increasing during the week...Sure wish the work week was Sat-Sun and then you got M-F off! Wouldn't that be great?

Hey Chyna!! There's a threat of a dosecrease out there!! You'd better come down to the lower floors!! (let's see if that helps...LOL)
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna PMPS 285 (yay yellow!)

Nice PMPS...way to go, Chyna! I hope you're successful with the pee trap tonight...as a fellow worrier, I know it will give you peace of mind.

Have a great night Rachel!
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna PMPS 285 (yay yellow!)

Hi Rachel!
I'm glad Chyna's number came down!
Keep sliding down, Chyna!
Good luck with the dosecrease tomorrow if you decide to do it.
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna PMPS 285 (yay yellow!)

Ah, sweet mellow yellow. There are times when yellow is lovely. Perhaps a celebration of yellow will result in a good pee catch! ;-)
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna PMPS 285 (yay yellow!)

Well hello yellow! Nice to see you this evening :-D Looks like Chyna didn't like the dosethreat. Maybe Chyna, you could start a new trend where blues and greens are your favorite wardrobe?? Like a Seahawk!! Woot!!

Rachel, I went to that site for the litter scoops and bought 3!! The shipping defaulted to $118 :o :o So glad I caught that before approving the charges :lol: I have heard of these scoops somewhere before but never did find them, so thank you so much for posting that link :-D
I feel your pain on those stupid ketone strips and the color difference being too darn close. I tried several different lighting sources and none helped so I did like you are doing, and just kept an eye on it. Those strips Linda mentioned sound WAY better!
Keep being strong my girl. You are very loved and we all know how awesome you are to Chyna. Chyna knows too ;-)
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna PMPS 285 (yay yellow!)

I'm cheering yellow tonight too. ohmygod_smile Maybe our girls will listen to us and put the Seahawks colours on overnight. I think they'd look cute in little Seagals outfits. :lol:

cat-cheerleader.jpg
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna PMPS 285 (yay yellow!) +2 277

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT YIPPEE for some pretty yellows! Now, can we have a little slide into the blues, Chyna?! PLEASE?!?!?!
 
Re: 2/2 Chyna PMPS 285 +2 277 Negative Ketones!

Well, +2 is still yellow :-D AND we finally have a bunch of pee, in the trap, negative ketones! Yay! Except now she won't eat her +2 snack or treats...always something ohmygod_smile I'm getting out the spoon soon to feed her. She still licks her lips sometimes, and I wonder if I need some anti nausea stuff on top of anti-acid Pepcid...

Hi again, Chris! No worries, that's why I asked as I wasn't sure what to do. I WISH my workweek was that and I got paid the same for 2 days work as 5, I would work weekends no problem then! ;-) I think it's a dosecrease in the morning no matter what, but don't tell Chyna :o

Thanks Amy, my mom always called me a worry wart :? We have pee!

Hi Mariko, thanks! I'm glad too. However fleeting it seems to be, lol.

Hi Liz, yep, lovely yellow when you're in a sea of pink and red :shock: And a good pee catch celebration it is!

Hi Kim, thanks. I'm glad you caught the shipping too, it always seems to default to the highest one! :shock: Hello, economy, people. I read they have free shipping this weekend too...not to Canada tho. I hope you like the scoops, I look forward to hearing others reactions (I hope they are good :lol: ). I know on those darn strips. Thanks for the support.

Thanks Wendy, I hope Chyna decides to wear the outfit, so cute! Neko and Chyna can be cheerleaders with pom poms and everything.

Hi Deborah, thanks for the cheering cats, maybe it will encourage Chyna to slide :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top