2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 lancet update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62636

Good morning LL ~O) ~O) ~O)

Bailey surprised me with a 47 at +2.5 last night, I gave her some HC and promptly fell asleep on the couch :roll: Luckily she seems to have surfed along OK... she was in the 50s when I woke up and tested her at +5.5. She is still surfing nicely with this 70.

I would happily shoot this number if I could be home to monitor. :sad: Stalling makes me nervous because I won't be able to get a +2 before I go to work... I don't know what the right thing to do is. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMBG 70, +12.5 76, +12.75 76 stalling

Well, she's not going up, but at least she's not going down. I'm going to give it 15 more minutes and then I have to make a decision. I really hate to skip, may go with a BCS dose.

Thanks Jill for the link. :-D Yes I am familiar with that document, but it always helps to read it again!
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMBG 70, +12.5 76, +12.75 76 stalling

you have to be comfortable with whatever decision you make.
while shooting a BCS dose or even skipping a shot on a low preshot number isn't ideal... when you can't be around to monitor... it's not the end of the world. keeping bailey safe is first and foremost.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMBG 70, +12.5 76, +12.75 76 stalling

What a great night and morning for Bailey! Hope you had a good day Melissa!
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94

Bailey jumped up to 94 in the last 15 minutes so I jumped on my opportunity and shot. She earned a reduction last night so I went with our new dose of a fat 0.25u. :thumbup I will only be able to get a +1 before work... nailbite_smile so I will leave plenty of food out and let DH know to check her as soon as he gets home. He is usually here by +6 (which will be +5 today) so that works out great. She has been making me nervous with these early fast drops, like last night! I wonder if we need to start front-loading her, she has been free-fed until now and has done well with it... something to think about. confused_cat

Either way, now I need to get ready for work! Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

D'oh!!! We have been using a new brand of freeze-dried chicken treats at pokey time that Bailey is just bonkers for - she has tried to eat my fingers a few times. Tonight, DH set down the lancet after poking her and she lunged for it and ate it before he could stop her!!! ohmygod_smile

He rushed her to the vet, they took an x-ray to confirm. Yup, it's in there. :roll: Vetty thinks she will pass it OK, wants to watch and wait... nailbite_smile ... has this ever happened to one of you before? Please say yes :lol: :lol: :lol: We will do surgery if we need to. Back for another x-ray tomorrow to check the lancet's progress.

Oh yeah, her BG was 87 :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

OMG!!! :o :o I hope Bailey passes the lancet with no problems. I'll be thinking about Bailey and sending the best vines that nothing major happens.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

:o OMG is right! I would be freaking out too. I hope she passes it ok and doesn't require surgery.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

I hope it was capped!

Gizmo tries to play with the cap but I've not heard of a cat eating a lancet. I'm glad you got her to the vet.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

Please tell us that it was capped Melissa I am wincing thinking about her trying to pass it if it's not. Surely the vet would rather take it out if it's not. Oh dear Bailey nailbite_smile

On the plus side I imagine that DH is going to be on his very best behaviour for a while after this one!
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

A great cycle and PMPS for Bailey today but OMG on the lancet. I also hope you can confirm it was capped. Glad DH took her right to the ER.

Sending prayers that she'll pass it without any problems.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

It was not capped. I know, it sounds like that would be awful! The vetty says cats pass them, and worse things, all the time. Hopefully it will get coated in a nice soft hairball or something.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

Oh Melissa, I hope Bailey will pass that lancet without difficulty. Is there something you can feed her that will "wrap" it in bulk? (bread, for example)?

Thinking positively,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

Oh my goodness! You have an omnivore on your hands!
I don't think I've stopped by before, so Hi!
I'm a dentist and in my first year out a patient swallowed her crown as I was getting it adjusted to insert. When I asked for a new crown, my lab technician sent me a joke "recovery kit" of ex-lax, rubber gloves, and a strainer. It hasn't happened again!
All joking aside...praying it passes and in a comfortable way!
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

Tell DH that he is not alone...
I left one laying on the test rug, Binks grabbed it up and bit down on it...
but the needle stuck him, so he spat it out. :oops:

Sending "Please pass it safely" vines to Bailey...

celi
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

Bailey! That sounds like something Mookie would do. Maybe some extra fiber to add bulk? Good luck and keep us posted.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

Bailey!!! Eating plastic is bad!!! Sending quick passage vines... you poor thing, Melissa! Trying to remember... who is your vet again? I might call Mission Med Vet or Wellborn and just ask for a phone opinion to confirm your vet's advice!

Will be watching for an update!!
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

i haven't done it, but if punkin thought it was a pill pocket it would be a goner.

so glad you took her in - we're sending all the best wishes we can muster!!! go bailey go. you know what i mean!
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

We see Dr. Bachman at FMA Animal Hospital. That is a good idea to call Mission Medvet, Christie. DH took her to our regular vet since they were still open and Mission is pretty expensive just to walk in the door... but I could certainly give them a call. I am still at work, I will probably wait until after our X-ray in the morning and see where we are. :roll:
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS (+13) 94, +1 111, +5 87 she ate a lancet

:shock: Wow, have you guys had a lot of action tonight. Hope she passes the lancet quickly and safely. Nice shooting. How about a nice greenish blue surf, Bailey?
Liz
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, +5 87, PMPS 121 she ate a lancet!

Thank you everyone for your good lancet-passing wishes. Bailey seems to feel fine, I have been keeping an eye on her. She is feisty but seems comfortable.

We will be taking poo patrol to a whole new level the next couple of days. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

Oh dear Bailey oh dear, sending you vertical vines!
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

I'm super careful with lancets. Not because of J.D., but because of my civvie Ginger. I used to find chewed up plastic on the floor. I would pick it up and it was a chewed up lancet. She did this several times. They must feel good to her teeth. So lancet boxes now stay closed all the time, and every used lancet is disposed off right away, and if one should jump out of my hands while testing J.D. I search until I find it.

I hope Bailey passes the lancet just fine.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

OH my Gosh!!!!!

I would be totally freaking out!!!! An uncapped lancet!

Safe passage vines being sent.... get that x-ray done ....

@-) ohmygod_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

Never had the lancet problem, but Spot did eat one of his test strips once...threw that up within two hours tho. I hope Bailey is good and the lancet passes without any harm done.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

OMG! Apparently, though, this is more common than I would have thought. Have you slept at all? I hope that silly Bailey does what she needs to do easily, and soon!
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

I hope that Bailey passes it safely. Sending tons of prayers that she does. I can't say that I have ever had that problem with Blackie eating one before. She tends to leave them alone. I await further updates on the lancet's progress.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

Sending vines to Bailey to pass the lancet safely. I had no idea our kitties might eat them. So sorry this happened.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

ohmygod_smile OMG, sending "safe passage" vines to KC.
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

FMA is like across the street from my gym (Woodside)! We are practically neighbors!! :-D :-D :-D Fingers crossed for good news on the x-ray! I hear ya on the cost of Mission MedVet... egads! I've actually got to take Willie in this month for a visit with the dermatologist and maybe the cardiologist (need to find out if Dearborn, where I take Willie and Herbie, has an echo machine).

Continued prayers and vines sent!
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

:o That's not a pokey treat Bailey!! I have been putting Weezer's pokey treat next to our testing spot, then laying the lancet in that same general area while writing down the test results. Until recently, that is. A few days ago I noticed her reaching for the treat and almost snagging the lancet by mistake. I changed procedures. Lot of poo safely wishes going on here, and we join in. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/2 Bailey AMPS 94, PMPS 121, +1 112 she ate a lancet!

Hi guys, thank you all for your good wishes. We will certainly be taking new precautions at pokey time to keep this from happening again. Just a quick update as we just got back from the vet.

The lancet is in the colon!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

This is very good news! Also it appears to be pointed so that the sharp end will not come out first - also good so that she won't pierce her rectum when the time comes. I snapped some pics of the x-rays with my phone and will post those later along with our AMPS... sooo exhausted right now, I am going to try to get a quick nap in before work tonight.
 
Linda for Weezer said:
Yay for blunt end first!! We all get to do the happy crap dance!

:lol: :lol: :lol:
HOORAY!

and i'm also glad that there's proof positive that this is an event that just couldn't be foreseen...
who would have thought that they'd be so thrilled to chew on a lancet?? :roll:

now I'd best go apologize to the Binkster for telling him he had weird tastes :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top