2/2 Asia PMPS 125, +3 62, +5 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-1-asia-pmps-155.190531/

Real ugly AMPS. I think it will take her all day and probably longer to work that out. It’s very confusing that 1.5 is really too much and 1.25 is really too little. I probably should have done the in between dose right when I decreased the 1.5. Live and learn.

The important stuff is, she continues to feel good! In fact, yesterday she was a little piggy. I don’t know if she’s making up for those bad appy days or what, but several meals I fed her, she chowed down and cleaned her plate in one sitting! :eek: She’s usually much slower and more dignified with her meals, but I’m glad to see she wants food again. Great stuff!

Civvie Toki had 3 failed attempts at the Toki truffle. :facepalm: I ended up having to pill her. She ran scared from me after when I tried to give her food. :( Hope the pm pill is voluntarily eaten. Three more days, six more pills...

Thoughts are with M and Ty today.
 
Great that Asia is feeling good and eating so well. Her numbers will get back on track. Sorry Toki ran from you. Hopefully the truffles work next time.
 
Paws crossed that Asia comes back down for you. Oh the pill thing, I picked up a new bag of pill pockets from the vet, didn't look real close and found out they gave me dog pill pockets. Titan and Howard are really confused. Plus they smell terrible but the boys do get them down when they are buried in their food.
 
Paws crossed that Asia comes back down for you. Oh the pill thing, I picked up a new bag of pill pockets from the vet, didn't look real close and found out they gave me dog pill pockets. Titan and Howard are really confused. Plus they smell terrible but the boys do get them down when they are buried in their food.

I have 2 different flavors of pill pockets, Toki was horribly offended and gave me the look "and you want me to do what with that?" o_O :rolleyes: She's only ever eaten raw food and most of the things cats are supposed to like, she doesn't. What she does like, however, is cheese, cornbread, cookies, anything with carbs or cheese we have to put up or she will eat them. We did often joke with her to stop trying to eat those things or she would get the diabeetus. Oh the irony.
 
Paws crossed that Asia comes back down for you. Oh the pill thing, I picked up a new bag of pill pockets from the vet, didn't look real close and found out they gave me dog pill pockets. Titan and Howard are really confused. Plus they smell terrible but the boys do get them down when they are buried in their food.
I use dog pill pockets for my civvie's hypothyroid pills. He loves the chicken flavored ones. What flavor did you get?
 
The important stuff is, she continues to feel good! In fact, yesterday she was a little piggy. I don’t know if she’s making up for those bad appy days or what, but several meals I fed her, she chowed down and cleaned her plate in one sitting! :eek: She’s usually much slower and more dignified with her meals, but I’m glad to see she wants food again. Great stuff!

Thoughts are with M and Ty today.
Yay! Thrilled Asia is eating like a champ and feeling better!!!:cat::cat::cat:

Really struggling with the M and Ty situation. Praying. Wish there was something I could do... :bighug::bighug:
 
I hope that Asia has changed her mind about the pinks by now, but hooray that she's feeling good! Toki....I hear those Truffles are the best, everyone in L&LL is talking about them, and they are named after you! Eat 'em up!!!
 
@Jill & Alex (GA) when shooting early because numbers continue to rise, would you be moving your shot time (I.e. shooting 12 hours later the next day) or do you shoot early and then back at regular time the next day (11 hours later)? I assume the former, but wanted clarification.
 
@Jill & Alex (GA) when shooting early because numbers continue to rise, would you be moving your shot time (I.e. shooting 12 hours later the next day) or do you shoot early and then back at regular time the next day (11 hours later)? I assume the former, but wanted clarification.
When I first started shooting an hour or two early because of rising numbers or my schedule, I would shoot the next shot 12 hours (or close to 12 hours) later. Once I learned Alex's response to early shots, the next shot was usually based upon my schedule and/or numbers at the next shot time.

Caveat: Whenever one deviates from protocols, the caretaker takes on an added responsibility to keep their cat safe.
 
When I first started shooting an hour or two early because of rising numbers or my schedule, I would shoot the next shot 12 hours (or close to 12 hours) later. Once I learned Alex's response to early shots, the next shot was usually based upon my schedule and/or numbers at the next shot time.

Caveat: Whenever one deviates from protocols, the caretaker takes on an added responsibility to keep their cat safe.

Thank you for clarifying. I have done it a few times to get back on schedule, mostly when she’s off on a space mission and in yellows and pinks and obviously going for worse. I just didn’t know what made more sense for the next shot, guess it more likely depends on the cat and the number.
 
Glad to see those bounce breaking lower blues. :cool:

Bit of history on the pill pockets. The allergy free duck and pea ones are the only ones made without corn syrup and gluten and are low carbs. When I started here, Greenies made a cat version, then they stopped. :( So now all that is available is the dog version. You just break off a piece and mold it around the pill. But whew, are they stinky! Both Neko and her civie liked them. Bonus, duck was a unique protein.
 
Thank you for clarifying. I have done it a few times to get back on schedule, mostly when she’s off on a space mission and in yellows and pinks and obviously going for worse. I just didn’t know what made more sense for the next shot, guess it more likely depends on the cat and the number.
Shooting insulin every 12 hours is basically designed for the convenience and life style of the caregiver. However, knowing thy cat is essential when making any kind of dosing decisions out of the norm.
 
Glad to see those bounce breaking lower blues. :cool:

Bit of history on the pill pockets. The allergy free duck and pea ones are the only ones made without corn syrup and gluten and are low carbs. When I started here, Greenies made a cat version, then they stopped. :( So now all that is available is the dog version. You just break off a piece and mold it around the pill. But whew, are they stinky! Both Neko and her civie liked them. Bonus, duck was a unique protein.

Weird that they wouldn’t make a cat version, or at least make them for dogs and cats. I just got creative with cheese. I’m sure there’s nothing great in there either, but they eat them and it’s a short term fix, so I’m happy.
 
Another Toki truffle success with Asia, another Toki truffle fail with Toki. She’s on to me, she actually ate around the pill and spit the pill out! I got a tooth in my finger again, had one from each cat now, a set. Boy will I be glad when this is over. Just five more pills, Tochka!

No more bouncy house for Asia, she came down all day, no double dip needed. Now we can see what the tweener dose will do. Hopefully it will be just right...for right now.

Outside of needing to finish her antibiotics, Toki is back to normal, eating well and no more diarrhea.

Still thinking of sweet Ty.
 
Same here.
I love hearing about kitties names, do you mind me asking what does Tochka mean and how did you decide on it? :)

It’s just one of Toki’s nicknames, our cats must be so confused, they have many. :facepalm: Tochka is a Russian diminutive form of Toki. “Toki” literally means bunny in Korean, it’s pronounced more like “two-key” as opposed to “toe-key”. We named her that because her ears were too big for her head as a kitten and she bounced around like a bunny.
 
So pleased to hear how well Asia feels, and is eating! That's wonderful news! I haven't checked in as much lately, but I am always thinking of that sweet little face!

Also, I'm sorry the Toki truffles aren't working so well for Toki (yay for Asia eating one again!), but our civvie, Ben, loves them!! We've been pilling him the past several weeks as he stopped eating his pill meatballs, but he LOVES the truffles! :joyful::joyful: In other news, I deeply offended Darwin by offering him a Toki truffle...it was clearly beneath him to have to sniff something that wasn't his regular food :rolleyes::p
 
It’s just one of Toki’s nicknames, our cats must be so confused, they have many. :facepalm: Tochka is a Russian diminutive form of Toki. “Toki” literally means bunny in Korean, it’s pronounced more like “two-key” as opposed to “toe-key”. We named her that because her ears were too big for her head as a kitten and she bounced around like a bunny.
Awwwww that's so cool. Thank you. :)
 
So pleased to hear how well Asia feels, and is eating! That's wonderful news! I haven't checked in as much lately, but I am always thinking of that sweet little face!

Also, I'm sorry the Toki truffles aren't working so well for Toki (yay for Asia eating one again!), but our civvie, Ben, loves them!! We've been pilling him the past several weeks as he stopped eating his pill meatballs, but he LOVES the truffles! :joyful::joyful: In other news, I deeply offended Darwin by offering him a Toki truffle...it was clearly beneath him to have to sniff something that wasn't his regular food :rolleyes::p

I’m glad Ben likes them, cats and cheese, who knew? Darwin’s reaction is pretty much what I predicted for Asia, but for some reason, diabetes has made her a different cat regarding food in many ways. She ate all her food in one go the other day, I’m not sure she’s ever done that before. When I switched her to radcat I thought I was in for another nightmare like when I switched her from kibble to raw many years ago, but she just liked it right off the bat. Hooray for small wins!

Stay proud, Darwin, that cheese is totally beneath you! :joyful:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top