i need to know if I should give Bella her am insulin this morning.
PMPS was 145 AMPS 92
Is it safe??
I’m holding food please advise
Can you monitor? Have plenty of strip? High carb food?
I’ve fed her my fall back... routisserie chicken pieces. She has no appetite when numbers are lowI’ve fed her.
I’m not comfortable giving her regular dose with this number.
No insulin. Should I decrease the amount to .1?Ok. If you were able to monitor I would have shot. Did you give any insulin?
I can still give her .1I don’t need a hypoglycemic cat
Want to be safe
If it were me, I would shot the dose of .25. She is just coming down from higher numbers and could possibly start to go up again.
Did she actually have symptoms of hypoglycemia or are you going on the going number?She’s been hypoglycemic before
It is always scary to start shooting lower numbers but with skipping a lot of doses, it will be hard for you to get her regulated. Try and start stretching your comfort zone with shooting lower. We have a saying around here : Shoot low to stay low. The days you are home and can monitor her are the days to shoot these green numbers.
Symptoms... dazed dialated pupils.. wobblyDid she actually have symptoms of hypoglycemia or are you going on the going number?
I would as long as you can be off schedule by have ever long you stalled and shot. You can give insulin 15 mins earlier tonight.
I understand.To get back on schedule you can either do 15 minutes earlier each cycle or one 30 minute earlier a cycle. Glad you decided to shoot especially since she has a history of ketones. Not enough insulin + in appetence + systemic stress or infection is the recipe for a DKA . Kitties that have produced ketones need to make sure that they get enough insulin to prevent that from happening.
These lower numbers are gifts to us to help get them used to being in normal numbers. Get a +1 and +2 test to start off with to see how she is doing.

It was for all of us. This board is incredible for all the knowledge and support.I understand.
This is trial by fire for me.
![]()
Thanks. I understand about ketones.It was for all of us. This board is incredible for all the knowledge and support.
Try and remember that a DKA situation is much more scary and dangerous than hypo symptoms. Bubba experienced the same as you described except add aggressive behavior to the mix. As long as you can monitor him you know what to do to bring him up, syrup or honey. Keep good food notes too so you know how he responds to food to learn how to steer his cycles too.
This is a very good practice. You will learn her patterns (and then she will change them up on youI do keep meticulous notes...
ThanksI have said it many times. Getting use to lower numbers is a challenge for both us beans as well as our furbabies. I completely understand your fear and hesitation. I am glad you gave a token dose - especially with ketones in the mix. Sorry about not replying sooner. I was getting ready for work.
This is a very good practice. You will learn her patterns (and then she will change them up on you) but - especially pay attention to how her numbers respond to carb %'s. You will then know when and how much to give her to keep her from going too low (most of the time). And just an additional note (which I am sure you have been told before) - be sure to feed gravy when trying to get her numbers up so that you don't fill her up and she will eat more if needed.
Hi Janet, I just checked you SS and saw that she had popped up. That is pretty much what I thought would happen since she is not used to being in normal numbers. Aren't you glad you shot and got something into her to help her not bounce to the moon? I promise, it does get easier the more you shoot lower numbers the more comfortable you will get.
]
Good job shooting this morning!![]()
Fabulous! That’s 2 days in a row. .. we want to make it three, then four...Ketones negative this morning

Hooray for keytones negative! I’m glad you decided to shoot. Hope Bella eats well for you today.![]()
I'm right there with you, Janet. It can be scary! Good job shooting.This is trial by fire for me.

I was just reading about this on the Health Forum:Famotidine is the same as Pepcid. I'm not sure of using Pepcid long term either. Seems some folks here have said something about that and I can't remember. Hopefully some knowledgeable peeps will weigh in about that.
I plan on testing her around + 5 and re evaluate things.The +1 could have been some food spike too. The +2 is a tad lower, so it might be a good idea to get a mid-cycle test to see if she is dropping.
Famotidine is the same as Pepcid. I'm not sure of using Pepcid long term either. Seems some folks here have said something about that and I can't remember. Hopefully some knowledgeable peeps will weigh in about that.
I plan on testing her around + 5 and re evaluate things.
It’s so challenging getting her to eat at lower numbers....
Great support and info. Thanks
Unfortunately, she is bouncing from seeing that nice green start this morning and there's nothing you can do about it. We have a saying around here ( actually, we have lots of saying around here, LOL) =, Kitties bounce till they stop. Now, if she is dropping quickly in a cycle, to help with bouncing and slow her down we do what is called feeding the curve. The little bits of food providing help them to not drop as fast and hopefully reduce the bouncing some.Bella Went from AMPS of 92 to 427 a few minutes ago. ( + 8). yikes. Should I do anything different?
Gave her .1 this morning
She’s do for .25 @ 6:15 this evening.
She’s eating well ( always when her blood sugar is elevated)
Glad I gave the am dose....
Advice appreciated.
I feel like all I’ve done all day is stick her and get her to eat.
Exhausted

Looks like a bounce. Being that Bella needs insulin to keep the ketones from forming, I think, numbers permitting, it would be good for you to take back the entire 30mins you stalled this morning and shoot .25u at AM+11.5.Bella Went from AMPS of 92 to 427 a few minutes ago. ( + 8). yikes. Should I do anything different?
Thanks I needed those kind words.
I feel as if I’ve been hit by a truck.
I’ve learned.. and Bella is still hanging in there
Does this really get better, or does it just get different?
![]()
Looks like a bounce. Being that Bella needs insulin to keep the ketones from forming, I think, numbers permitting, it would be good for you to take back the entire 30mins you stalled this morning and shoot .25u at AM+11.5.
Looking at the AMPS of 92 makes me wonder - was she going up or going down?
Now this is gonna be the last thing you want to hear but right now 1/4 of the picture (the bottom half of the PM cycle) is unknown. If you can manage to get a couple PM+10s and PM+11s in, it will go a long way in helping you make the best decisions in the AMs.
You are doing a great job.
I know first hand how exhausting it is. Fighting the formation of ketones is intense
Hang in there and keep focused on addiing a whole string of consecutive 'negative' ketone tests to the 2 in a row.
So shot at 6 pm my regular time?Please clarify I give her .25 at +11.5
If I gave insulin at 6:30 am this morning
( normally at 6) what time would I give her the .25 this evening?
My brain is so fried
I don’t know what to say about testing her more. I’m dead meat
Perhaps I can ask my husband to test her tonight.
Maybe my marriage will survive ha ha
So shot at 6 pm my regular time?
Yes, she means you’d get back on schedule in one go and shoot at 18:00 tonight, 30 minutes early, as opposed to 15 minutes early tonight (18:15) and 15 minutes early tomorrow (6:00) . Numbers permitting, of course, meaning she isn’t low come shot time.

Thank youYes, I think Sandy's advice was good to get the insulin in her 30 earlier tonight since she popped up so high.
It does get easier. After some time under your belt, you get less anguished over it all and the more you get comfortable with her going into safe green numbers. We have all been there with the unsure feelings and lack of sleep and scared for our kitties. Knowledge is power so the more you read the stickies and ask questions the better prepared you are. What helped me the most was reading all the threads posted each day. You can learn a lot by the numbers and questions the other caregivers ask.
The best part is that people are here from all over the world and so someone is always on and can help you. And.....we are here to help.![]()
She tested negative for keotones again this evening. (!)Looks like a bounce. Being that Bella needs insulin to keep the ketones from forming, I think, numbers permitting, it would be good for you to take back the entire 30mins you stalled this morning and shoot .25u at AM+11.5.
Looking at the AMPS of 92 makes me wonder - was she going up or going down?
Now this is gonna be the last thing you want to hear but right now 1/4 of the picture (the bottom half of the PM cycle) is unknown. If you can manage to get a couple PM+10s and PM+11s in, it will go a long way in helping you make the best decisions in the AMs.
You are doing a great job.
I know first hand how exhausting it is. Fighting the formation of ketones is intense
Hang in there and keep focused on addiing a whole string of consecutive 'negative' ketone tests to the 2 in a row.
Correct.Yes, she means you’d get back on schedule in one go and shoot at 18:00 tonight, 30 minutes early, as opposed to 15 minutes early tonight (18:15) and 15 minutes early tomorrow (6:00) . Numbers permitting, of course, meaning she isn’t low come shot time.
Great! Just keep adding as much water into her food as she will tolerate. That is what I had to do with Bubba when he was throwing ketones. And, I still give him 2 tbsp. of water in each of his 6 meals a day to help with constipation.She tested negative for keotones again this evening. (!)
Might be a different story tomorrow.![]()
Woot!She tested negative for keotones again this evening. (!)
not necessarily more, just shift your testing times around a couple nights a week and get a +10 one night and a +11 another night. etc.- it will help to know what she is upto at night; most kitties run lower. And by all means enlist the help of your husband. This is an "all hands on deck" situation.I don’t know what to say about testing her more. I’m dead meat
Perhaps I can ask my husband to test her tonight.
That's old school thinking. Cerenia is OK longer term, as long as there aren't any liver issues or GI obstruction. It is being used off label for cats, but we've had several cats here use it long term every day. Zofran/ondansetron is a good alternative for nausea. It's a human med, but you need to get a prescription from your vet.Question: vet had her on cerenia. Not to be used long term.
Ok ...good to knowThat's old school thinking. Cerenia is OK longer term, as long as there aren't any liver issues or GI obstruction. It is being used off label for cats, but we've had several cats here use it long term every day. Zofran/ondansetron is a good alternative for nausea. It's a human med, but you need to get a prescription from your vet.