2/2/13 Racci AMPS-114,+4-115,+9-133,PMPS-141

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: AMPS-102, +3-63, at doctor, PMPS-95

Hi all!

Sorry I've been MIA. I've missed you all. I should be able to be here more now though still may not be able to make it every day as was my usual and will be again. I'm still fighting this sickness off. I went to the doctor yesterday again since I'm still not better! It seems that I started out with bronchitis, went into the flu, that turned into pnuemonia or was still there with the pneumonia, and now I have bronchitis again!!!! Now I have a new antibiotic and nasal spray for that! To top it all off, this morning I spent an hour in the bathroom with my dh's stomach flu that he came down with!!!!! I'm about to give it up already and just stay in bed and hide! If I hide from the world maybe I won't catch anything new???? :YMSIGH:

Racci is doing fine. She's been hanging in the blues and greens, mostly blues. She made a few visits to the 40's but those were on days that she wasn't eating well so after much thought, I did not decrease her dose. I'm also experimenting a little with her food so not too interested in changing dose when I'm giving different carb amounts. I have to get her on a routine again with food first. I'm really hating the Merrick BG lately because of the formula change. One month is good, the next month is too watery. It's very frustrating, so I've been adding Wellness salmon & trout to the watery blend to give it some body and she has accepted it that way. It has a lot more carbs though. If I feed her the watery BG alone, she gets next to no carbs but she's hungry again every hour!

Racci has a new lb habit thats making me crazy. I wonder if any of your furkids do this? All of a sudden about 2 weeks ago, she started pooping on the side of the lb instead of inside on the bottom in the litter? She does it on the inside wall of the box! I just can't understand whay she's not doing it in the litter!

Well, I hope all of you are well and your fur babies also. Lots of health vines to those who need them.
Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 2/2/13 Racci AMPS-114,+4-115

You're back!!!! I really do hope you start to feel better. If you don't, we're putting you in a bubble until flu season passes.

Gabby will sometimes either pee or poop against the side of the box. I think there's something about the edges of the box she likes. I'm not such a fan especially if when she's peeing, she aims high.
 
Re: 2/2/13 Racci AMPS-114,+4-115

Hi Sienne!

It seems like I've been sick forever already! This is the worst winter I've had yet! I agree with that bubble idea! Just give me my computer, phone, cable tv and the other necessities of life and I'll stay in it. :lol: Of course my Racci will have to join me. :lol: I hope this new antibiotic does the trick and I get over it without a new infection grabbing me before I can get strong this time! It's just nuts.

I hate when Racci does that! I wish I could figure out a way to make her not like it. Maybe you're right and they're perching on the edge of the plastic lip. hmm. It's a horrible mess to clean and she gets it on her fur that way which makes it a double mess. ugh!

Well, hopefully I'm on my way back now. TTYL

Hugs!
 
Re: 2/2/13 Racci AMPS-114,+4-115

Melanie, I'm glad to see you posting. What an ordeal! Healing vines to you and DH. Are you eating yogurt for the probiotics? We buy plastic storage containers that are about 18" high and cut a gap in one end for an entrance. Then Zener can pee standing up and usually goes against the side. Sometimes he does go out the entrance but we have a plastic mat with a lip to catch it. It would be very hard for Racci to poop on the side of something like that. We try to find ones with a flat bottom. Hugs to you.
Liz
 
Re: 2/2/13 Racci AMPS-114,+4-115

Yay! Good to see a condo from you. I was a little worried.

I've had cats do that off and on....
I haven't known any cats with particularly good aim.... don't think they realize so much of where the target is.
Perhaps if you experiment with less litter.... maybe she'll try harder to use the litter... :?:

The only cats I've known with aiming abilities were toilet trained... and they still missed sometimes and hit the seat anyway. :roll:
 
Re: 2/2/13 Racci AMPS-114,+4-115,+9-133

Hi Liz,

It feels good to be posting again. I missed everyone here and was lonely. It was an ordeal and a half! The pneumonia was really bad, I thought I was going to die! I just couldn't breathe! I've been eating yogurt off and on but my stomach is still queazy and some days it doesn't taste good to me. Eating has been a problem. I went down to 98 lbs and still haven't gained any back. I just have no appetite.

I don't think Racci would go in the litter box with a cover on it. I've tried getting her into beds with closed sides and she didn't like them. I could see that it would work tho. I think Sienne was right and she is using the edge to sit on. She has a hard time standing in the box for a long time so that would make sense. I'll figure something out. Thanks!

Hugs,
 
Re: 2/2/13 Racci AMPS-114,+4-115,+9-133

(((Melanie)))

So glad you are back..sending you a ton of healing vines. Wow you've been through it!

Glad Racci is doing well. How about a high sided litter box?
I have the corner ones and they work great. It makes it harder for them to squat near the edge. Not impossible but harder.
 
Re: 2/2/13 Racci AMPS-114,+4-115,+9-133

Hi Rhiannon!

Thanks! I was really sick. I couldn't even walk without help! It was horrible. I'm glad to be on the way to getting back to normal.

I think you're right about the target not mattering. I think it's another reason that makes her do that. Knowing that sometimes she lies down on the litter to do her squeezing or rest when she has to go, makes me think that she is using the edge for a leaning spot. Maybe I could come up with a little seat or something she could rest on in the box, a bench?. :lol:

Hugs
 
Re: 2/2/13 Racci AMPS-114,+4-115,+9-133

Hi Marje,

Sorry for the delay in replying. I had to take care of Racci's meds and shot & food.

Thanks for the vines and all. I really need them. I guess I must be super run down. I am feeling a lot better now so I just have to be careful not to overdo it and try to stay away from other sick people which is hard since John (dh) is sick now too. :roll:

The high sided lb's are great but Racci can't get in and out unless they have a real low side. Her back legs can't handle the height and she can't jump anymore, poor old girl. There is one in that link you sent that looks good though. It has a built in step and low front for old cats and kittens. It might be even easier than the one I got her a few months ago. I may get it. If dh sees it he'll have a fit though. I have about 6 lb's here and only one cat. :lol: :lol: I keep buying Racci new ones to fine one that's easiest for her. :smile: I'll use a few of them for seedlings in the spring though so no big deal and I like to keep a couple of extras for guests. Thanks! That was a good link.

Hugs & good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top