2/19 Sebastian AMPS 348 +3 405 +6 387

Justin & Sebastian

Member Since 2019
I didn't get to switch to the human meter this morning. I tried but after wasting 4 strips simply couldn't get a drop of blood big enough to satisfy the damn thing.
 
Here's the link to yesterdays post, for continuity.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2338408/

Sorry you had difficulty with the new meter, I'm sure you'll get the hang of it.
How is your little guy this morning? Hope he's still feeling good.

There's no dose for last night, nor any tests in the evening noted on the SS, sometimes they don't update properly, perhaps you could take a look and fill in te missing data.

Have you got another ketone test? I'm hoping he is still negative. We usually encourage folk to test for ketones daily when their kitties are in high numbers, but I believe that Sandi, suggested with Sebastian, because of his history, it would be a good idea to get two tests a day.

Keeping paws crossed he is continuing to improve.
 
I filled in last nights dosage. I didn't get any tests, I was completely wiped out and went to bed very early.

He's continuing to improve today. Moved around a lot more and was more talkative, still eating well. I should be getting another ketone test on him soon.
 
Hey Mr. Funk! So glad to hear Sebastien is feeling better and eating well!

Hope today will show some downward movement. Yesterday's 275 @ +8 looked promising. I sure do understand about being wiped out with worry, but please always get a pre shot number to make sure it is safe to shoot. I am sure it probably was , but you never know since Sebastien is a cat....they can be sneaky, LOL

What kind of human meter did you get? I know with my Relion Prime, if I don't get enough blood to activate the strip, I can add to it once I get enough blood sample as long as I don't get an error message. When you do make the switch to the human meter, please indicate it on your SS and add that to your signature.
 
+3 405. None of these numbers make sense to me since I don't see any effect on the BG from the insulin, and the testing is so inaccurate I have no idea what's actually going on. I did the first reading and it came back at 250, which seemed low so I did a second one and got the 405.
 
+3 405. None of these numbers make sense to me since I don't see any effect on the BG from the insulin, and the testing is so inaccurate I have no idea what's actually going on. I did the first reading and it came back at 250, which seemed low so I did a second one and got the 405.
The 250 was probably a bad strip as the 405 is more in line with the rest of the cycle. The depot should be getting full soon, this is the 4th cycle and so far it is rather flat. Sometimes after a flat cycle you will see some downward movement in the next cycle or two, so some testing tonight would be a good idea. I would get a +2 to give you an indication of how it could go.

Glad the ketones are still negative.
 
The depot should be getting full soon, this is the 4th cycle and so far it is rather flat. Sometimes after a flat cycle you will see some downward movement in the next cycle or two
I seriously doubt it. We've had him at 7u before for an extended period of time and it does nothing, numbers are still in the 300-400s, very rarely dipping down to the high 200s for a single reading. The spreadsheet doesn't really show it but we had him at 3u for about a month, 4u for about a month, 5u for about a month, all with the same BG numbers. It keeps him from going DKA barring any other illness but the actual dosage of Lantus doesn't seem to have any effect on his BG. Which simply makes zero sense to me.

He's been doing well with the LC dry and wet food, so tonight I'm going to completely remove the DM Dry from the mix and it will be primarily Wellness Core wet with a side of Dr Elsey. I don't really expect any change from that either, since I haven't really seen any decrease in the numbers during the transition. I suspect none of this is going to make any sense to me until I get the MSU test results back and discover he's got either acro or a high resistance from IAA.
 
Been out of town and just got back and catching up, so here is my late response to your question from a couple days ago:
So let me ask, are there treatments for the Acromegaly or IAA? When I was talking to the vet about it they didn't comment about the Acro much other than to say he probably didn't have it, but they did act like there wasn't a treatment for the IAA.
IAA or insulin auto antibodies is not something that can be treated, though it can be managed. It is idiopathic, in other words, we don't know what starts it. But we do know that it tends to be self limiting in that it goes away after about a year. For my girl, it was after 9 months and when her acromegaly was treated. Note that there has been very little research done on IAA. I have seen two very small case studies, one that said it's uncommon, the other said it's common. Not many people test for it unless they have high doses, and even then vets often discourage it, so there is very little data. We do know from experience that keeping a kitty in normal numbers as much as possible seems to help get over the worst of it.

Treatments for acromegaly vary and depend a lot on what you can afford. Many people just treat with as much insulin as needed and manage any side effects caused by the excess growth hormone. Life spans are usually shorter with no treatment. Treatment varies from radiation therapy, surgery to remove the pituitary (hypophysectomy) that is only done in a couple places in North America, or drug therapy. Prices vary widely between the different options. I can expand on the treatment options if you get a positive diagnosis.

With the switch to all low carb tonight, as well as this being the 5th cycle of restarting Lantus, I hope you'll be able to get at least a before bed test tonight. It could be an active night.
 
I love how as the Lantus depot builds back up, his numbers are getting higher. He's had only Wellness Core Turkey & Duck wet food to eat today too.
 
I love how as the Lantus depot builds back up, his numbers are getting higher.
With that yellow at +8 yesterday, I rather suspect he went lower, possibly even lower at night, so today's he's bouncing. It's not the depot building that is doing it. New Dose Wonkiness, a temporary increase in numbers after a dose increase, happens in the first few cycles of a dose increase. You are past that now.
 
We've had him at 7u before for an extended period of time and it does nothing, numbers are still in the 300-400s, very rarely dipping down to the high 200s for a single reading.
It took 6 months and a dose of 9u Lantus combined with 3-7u R each cycle before we saw green. It lasted about 3 hours and didn’t appear again for about 6 weeks. It was a year before BK tasted HC food.


The spreadsheet doesn't really show it but we had him at 3u for about a month, 4u for about a month, 5u for about a month, all with the same BG numbers. It keeps him from going DKA barring any other illness but the actual dosage of Lantus doesn't seem to have any effect on his BG. Which simply makes zero sense to me.
You definitely held those doses too long opening the door to glucose toxicity.

This is the best place to learn how to safely treat FD. However, to paraphrase one of the time honored maxims here -It’s a marathon, not a sprint.

Along with all the hands on requirements (testing BG, changing diet, keeping the ss updated etc.) a good deal of patience is required...and a huge leap of faith that these crazy cat people on the internet actually know what they are talking about :cool:

Hang in there and hang in here. It will get better.
 
So who can help me with the R administration and when do we start looking at that as a necessity? It seems like that is what it's going to take.
 
Back
Top