2/19 - Sami - PMPS 224; +2 129; +3 60; +3.5 70;+4 67; +5 64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Everyone,

Yesterday's Condo

Sorry I didn't check back in after PMPS last night. I ended up going to bed at +2 with the fear that we might have a dip and I would need to stay up to monitor. As it turned out Sami surfed quite nicely all night. I was concerned a bit at +4 when she dropped from 149 (+2) to 110 (+4) in 2 hours, so I just took a +5 to make sure she was okay.

Today I am doing sort of an experiment. I gave Sami her AM shot in the Right Flank with the anticipation that I will give her fluids this morning before leaving for the office. Then I decided to hold off on the fluids to see how her numbers fair with the insulin in a different spot. I know many have said that it shouldn't affect how the insulin is absorbed, but maybe on duration. But I am also told ECID, so I just want to see how it goes. I will give her fluids tomorrow morning so I am hoping today's numbers are is similar to yesterday, or maybe a bit lower since she is starting out a bit lower than yesterday.

Hope everyone has a fantastic day, sending healing vines to everyone who is in need today.
 
@Amy&TrixieCat Thanks. I am very happy with her numbers from yesterday, and I really hope they continue and even drop a bit more into the GREEN. Yesterday, she didn't seem to drop much during the day, but she was just coming off some higher numbers the night before. Maybe today will be an even better day than yesterday. Skip they Yellow and add some GREEN.
 
@Marje and Gracie Yes, I agree, but I can attest that it is hard in the beginning it is so hard.

Sami is doing a nice little surf of the blue so far today. I would like to see her dipping down into the GREEN, but I am extremely happy that she isn't higher.

I think the rule is to hold the dose for 10 cycles if you are seeing BLUE, but if she doesn't get back to GREEN do we increase again? I know we are still a number of cycles out for this, but I would just like to know how it works.
 
I know you won't like what I have to say but I think we should wait to decide to see what she's doing. If she's getting down close to 100, we might think about a couple more cycles. Some cats are slow responders to dose increases.
 
@Marje and Gracie I understand. We are only on the 4th cycle this morning on this dose, and we might not even need to discuss an increase, but I would like to get her down under 100 because I know that is the best place for her to be in order for her pancreas to heal. I just wanted to know what the typical protocol is.
 
There isn't really a "typical" because we let the numbers call the shots. I know, for instance, that Gracie is often a slow responder to dose increases so I usually give her 11-13 cycles on an increase as long as she is getting into some lower blue numbers.

That's what we need to observe with Sami. Does she respond quickly to increases? Does it take longer? If we give her longer than ten cycles, are we seeing it pay off or is she telling us that if she's not into green by ten cycles, she's not going to be at 13 or 15 cycles.

We are just starting to see good numbers with her so it might be a little too soon to tell. But..she's headed in the right direction!
 
@Marje and Gracie That makes a lot of sense and it is exactly the information I was looking for. Thanks.

So far it does seem like Sami response quickly to increases, but there isn't enough data to know if she will continue to get better numbers on the same dose.
 
Well, we are at +8 and Sami is at 175. So just based on this cycle alone, I am going to say that a shot in the flank definitely doesn't have the staying power that a shot in the scruff does. With yesterdays morning cycle she went lower (based on pre-shot) and stayed there longer than she has today. I just hope that she doesn't go too high tonight, at this rate of increase she will be well over 200 for tonights PS.
 
Unfortunately, I don't think you can make that comparison just yet. There are so many things that can effect the BG numbers other than shot placement that I think you'd have to "experiment" a lot more before you'd know for sure if it was making a difference.

The good news is Sami IS looking better!! Just look back at her spreadsheet before about 2/4...all that black, red and pink....Now she's getting a lot more blue :cool:

The increase to 2.25 seems to be working well for her....we'll have to see where she is after several more cycles, but you are making progress!! Below about 240 is "under renal threshold" so her kidneys are getting a break too!
 
Unfortunately, I don't think you can make that comparison just yet. There are so many things that can effect the BG numbers other than shot placement that I think you'd have to "experiment" a lot more before you'd know for sure if it was making a difference.

The good news is Sami IS looking better!! Just look back at her spreadsheet before about 2/4...all that black, red and pink....Now she's getting a lot more blue :cool:

The increase to 2.25 seems to be working well for her....we'll have to see where she is after several more cycles, but you are making progress!! Below about 240 is "under renal threshold" so her kidneys are getting a break too!

Yep, I can see that there as so many things that can play into those numbers. FOOD for instance. We have already seen how Sami is currently reacting to DUCK. I am hoping that we can try that food again at some point, but I would like to see a few weeks without any PINK, RED, or BLACK before I attempt it again, and maybe not until we see if she will go into remission.

Yes, the colors of her spreadsheet are so much better than they were just a few short weeks ago, but I would still like to see a bit more GREEN.

Thanks for the information about the renal threshold, that is good to know. She still seems to be drinking water, but not nearly as much. Sami has always been a water drinking even when she doesn't have high glucose.
 
Just as I suspected. Sami is up over 200 for +11, and with another hour until PMPS I am guessing she will be even a bit higher. I am hoping that this is not a bounce and just a bit higher due to the shot placement this morning. We will see where she goes tonight to make that determination.
 
About the same for PMPS as for +11. I am still hoping that with a shot in the scruff tonight she still might see GREEN tonight. Last night when she started at 214 at PMPS she got close, but didn't quite make it there. We will see how it goes.
 
Sami isn't wasting any time tonight. Right back down to 129 for +2. I am really not sure what to expect for tonights cycle. I am wondering if I should/could wait until +4 to test or should I test sooner because she dropped 100 points in the first 2 hours? She ate at PMPS and also about 45 minutes before +2. I usually put out about a ÂĽ - â…“ (5.5 oz) of a can at PS and let her graze for the first couple of hours. I also gave her an additional ÂĽ - â…“ can at +2 which she has already eaten part of, I take that back she has already eaten most of.

Should I test at +3 or can I wait until +4?

It does seem that Sami's first drop after her shot seems to be the furthest drop and then it is more gradual after that. I just don't know.
 
+3 - 60

Should I hold with LC or give her a bit of MC or HC food? Should I test in 15 more minutes or should I wait 30 minutes.
 
Check at +3.5, wait for the hc/Karo till under 50, I am in the same boat as you right now my +2.5 is 54... I will watch for you posts
 
@Darin & Charlie I have pretty much been letting her graze for the last few days. I put food in the dish and let her eat at will. If the bowl is empty and she isn't asking for food I don't typically put food in bowl, I try to make sure that she has a snack around +9.5 because she tends to get anxious by PS if she is hungry.
 
@Wendy&Neko She went to the dish right after the +3 test (60), but didn't eat any anything. I didn't want to coerce her if I should be giving her some higher carb food. I came right here to ask the question.

She is eating some LC food now and I will test her in 15 minutes.
 
@Darin & Charlie Yikes! Sami is a pretty good eater and I know if I put MC or HC food in front of her she would gobble it up. I will be testing her again in just a couple of minutes.

What I don't understand is why she decides to pull these stunts right before bedtime. Why can't she do this during the day when I have all the time in the world to monitor and test her. NO she decides that keeping Mommy up past bedtime is the better way to go.
 
Our cats like to keep us on our toes, I take reductions for charlie when he goes under 40, been diabetic for a yr+, time for me to test
 
Okay, she is still 70 at +3.5 I will test her again in 30 minutes to see where she is. Do you think it is safe to sleep for an hour if she is a bit higher or if she eats again?
 
The only time I test less than every 30 mins is if Gracie is super low.....like 30 and I test 20 mins after karo. The reason is because it typically takes 30 mins for food to affect the BG. If you poke every 15 or 20 mins you are going to wear the kitty out and also you could overcarb them because you haven't given the food long enough to take effect.
 
@Marje and Gracie Thanks. I will do my next test at +4 and see where she is. She ate a bit about 20 minutes ago. She is sleeping right now. What I should be doing, but instead I am having all this fun.
 
You're welcome. If she's up at +4 some more, then you could probably give her a little more LC and lay down for an hour.
 
+4 - 67

Sami just ate a good amount, and even swatted her sister away from the food bowl when she wanted to go back for more. This is still early in the cycle so should I test again in 30 minutes or 60?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top