2.19 Rufus AMPS 134, +1 160, +2 151, +4 204, + 6 251, +9 303 , PMPS 441

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sean & Rufus

Member Since 2018
I see if kitty is below 150 we aren't supposed to shoot?

He's been bouncing alot and had been o this dose since thursday, looks like he likes 6 units.

He's not too hungry, but ate a bit. Should I shoot??
 
Since you all ready fed him a little, can you test again in about 20 mins? And if he is up 150 and you can monitor him and have plenty of supplies, I would shoot And as long as your schedule can be off time wise .
 
You shot a similar number on 2/7 and Rufus bounced right away, Rufus is terrified of blue right now and he likes to bounce. No guarantee that will happen, though. Are you able to monitor closely today (test as often as the numbers dictate) and do you have plenty of strips and high carb food or honey or syrup? If yes to those questions, it would be a good time to take advantage of a lower preshot.

Your other options are to stall (without feeding) and see if his numbers come up, shoot a reduced dose, or skip. With any of those options, today is a good day to test and gather data for whatever scenario you decide.
 
I agree with Stacey about shooting a similar number. I hate to see you lose momentum. But, you do have to consider if he is going to eat for you today. Chances are he will pop back up to higher numbers.
 
I agree with Stacy - if you are able to monitor closely today and have HC supplies on hand, today is a great day to take advantage of that perfect number. With any luck, he won't bounce! You do want to get used to shooting lower numbers; skipping will make wonky numbers continue so if you can keep close tabs on things, I would shoot. I will be in and out today, but can periodically check in on youl
 
As Stacy mentioned, too...another option is to shoot a one-time reduced dose. It's not ideal, but it would be something to try and help keep the momentum going.
 
You shot a similar number on 2/7 and Rufus bounced right away, Rufus is terrified of blue right now and he likes to bounce. No guarantee that will happen, though. Are you able to monitor closely today (test as often as the numbers dictate) and do you have plenty of strips and high carb food or honey or syrup? If yes to those questions, it would be a good time to take advantage of a lower preshot.

Your other options are to stall (without feeding) and see if his numbers come up, shoot a reduced dose, or skip. With any of those options, today is a good day to test and gather data for whatever scenario you decide.
I can monitor him today. I just got off the phone with the tech for the specialist. They're are going to call me back with a recommendation. Sucks being between vets right now. Ugh. He doesn't seem to happy to be at this number. Hopefully he didn't get much lower last night. His PMPS +3 was 489. Bouncing big time. I do have all the supplies neccesary.
 
As Stacy mentioned, too...another option is to shoot a one-time reduced dose. It's not ideal, but it would be something to try and help keep the momentum going.
Specialist is going to call me back with a recommendation. Just so nervous in this situation. Want to keep the momentum going, but he's out of it right now.
 
He doesn't seem to happy to be at this number.

That’s typically, normal numbers are no longer normal to him and it will take time to adjust. For Asia, she was extra sleepy in normal numbers for a good bit, now she is extra sleepy in higher numbers. What do you mean he is “out of it”?

No need to be nervous, 134 is plenty safe. I tested my civvie once, non diabetic, she was in the 40s (on a human meter).
 
I agree with Stacey about shooting a similar number. I hate to see you lose momentum. But, you do have to consider if he is going to eat for you today. Chances are he will pop back up to higher numbers.
He wasn't digging the wet food, and tried to eat some dry. Had to take it away from him as he can't eat that because of dental. On Saturday with those numbers he ate. So really not sure why he's not too hungry right now.
 
That’s typically, normal numbers are no longer normal to him and it will take time to adjust. For Asia, she was extra sleepy in normal numbers for a good bit, now she is extra sleepy in higher numbers. What do you mean he is “out of it”?

No need to be nervous, 134 is plenty safe. I tested my civvie once, non diabetic, she was in the 40s (on a human meter).
Out of it to me is when I talk to him or sit by him and don't get a response out of him right away, or super delayed reaction. And when I go to prick his ear he doesn't really care, he usually flaps his eears around.
 
I ended up giving him his full dose an hour late. Maybe do a curve today? Or do I need to check more often?

Let the numbers tell you when to test. You can put 134 @ +13 in your SS. A good start is getting a +1 and a +2, this can be a good predictor for how the rest of the cycle will go, if the +2 is close to or lower than the preshot number, you know to be on your toes. If he goes up much higher, you know it’s likely going to be a bounce and you can probably wait a couple hours and test again to be sure. It would be a good idea to try to figure out where onset is for Rufus (when the insulin starts to work after the shot), which you will only be able to figure out if he isn’t bouncing. From there, you are watching the numbers and looking for drops, if he gets in to green, good idea to test every hour so you can keep him safe and gather data.
 

This would still be your +1, even though it's 14 hours after your last shot, so put it in the +1 so you don't confuse yourself, you will shoot tonight 12 hours later, minus 15-30 minutes to get back on schedule.

This could be a food bump, you don't have any +1 data to show you what a typically food spike looks like, now you have one. See you at +2 and we should have a better idea how the cycle will go. :cat:
 
I did shoot an hour ago. I'm not understanding what you mean. I could possibly be having a blond moment

Right, your +12 am shot you stalled and shot at +13 so AMPS 134 at +13, your +1 is one hour after shot time, but you put it in your +2 column on your SS. It's always going to be 1 hour after shot time, even if your shot time was +13 or whenever.
 
+2, 151.......and the lip smacking is back ugh. I threw an ondansetron down the hatch. Hasn't had 1 since Thursday? He did it eat fancy feast this am so that could have caused it. I did read that high or low bg can cause nausea so maybe his body just thinks he's too low and that's why the lip smacking.
 
+2, 151.......and the lip smacking is back ugh. I threw an ondansetron down the hatch. Hasn't had 1 since Thursday? He did it eat fancy feast this am so that could have caused it. I did read that high or low bg can cause nausea so maybe his body just thinks he's too low and that's why the lip smacking.

I hope the nausea subsides, glad you have onda on hand.

Number is coming down, looks like you may have an active cycle! :woot: Today will be an excellent data gathering day. Hopefully you can figure out onset, a nadir, and how many hours Rufus drops and where his biggest drops are, if any. Not that these things will always be constant or won't change (they can and they likely will), but it gives you some data to make decisions in the future.

Go, Rufus, go! :cat:
 
+ 6, 251. Isn't it abnormal to be at the highest in the middle of a cycle? Or is he maybe just having a slight bounce?
 
Since you never know when a bounce is going to break, you definitely do want to get at least one test per cycle in addition to your preshot tests.
 
Since you never know when a bounce is going to break, you definitely do want to get at least one test per cycle in addition to your preshot tests.
Ain't that the truth! His +3 last night was 489 and his amps today was the 134. I'm just wondering if I should get another test in today before the pmps.
 
Anybody got any advice? Rufus has been really nauseaus today. Like the worst I've seen. Also still recovering from dental surgery a little. Looks like this dose is bringing him down, but still have major bouncing going on. I'm really wondering if this dose is too high.
 
Only way to know for sure is to get some tests at night to see how low he is going. Very good chance he went green last night, how low...who knows?
I know. You're absolutely right. That high 400 at +3 last night threw me for a loop. I figured he would drop but didn't expect his amps today. I'll collect more data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top