2/19 Rocky PMPS 293 +2 317 +4 434

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

It's a stinky pinky morning after a red hot night. It almost looks like the evening shot had no effect at all on Rocky's bg. confused_cat

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113969

Rocky recap of yesterday:

AMPS 162
+2 115
+4 77
+4.3 92
+8 272

PMPS 380
+2 386
+4 407
 
Re: Dosecrease? 2/19 Rocky AMPS 344 +2 341 +4 320

Rocky went all the way up into the red last night- 407. I suspect he either stayed in the 400s or high 300s for most of the overnight hours.

I don't know enough about regulating diabetes. Could this be a bounce from the lovely blues he had, and the one green, he his daytime hours yesterday?

How soon can I increase his insulin dose? I hate to see him in the stinky pinkies for too long.

Thanks! :YMPEACE:
 
Re: Dosecrease? 2/19 Rocky AMPS 344 +2 341 +4 320

Uhm... I feel so stupid....

I have not been ROLLING the insulin pen between the palms of my hands AT ALL before I draw the insulin. Do you think that this could make any difference? Maybe he's not getting any insulin into his system?

I feel like a complete IDIOT!!! ohmygod_smile @-)

POOR ROCKY!!
 
Re: Dosecrease? 2/19 Rocky AMPS 344 +2 341 +4 320

he's bouncing, tina. yes, from those lovely blues/greens yesterday morning. this is normal - just hold the dose.

and you're absolutely NOT supposed to roll, shake, rattle the insulin. Lantus needs to be handled gently.

look about 1/2 way down the page for the video on how to take care of your insulin and draw it properly. it's worth the effort to take care of it - which honestly, only means being careful with it.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151
 
Re: Dosecrease? 2/19 Rocky AMPS 344 +2 341 +4 320

Whew.. I feel relieved. I will watch the video again. It's where I learned to take it out of the pen. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Dosecrease? 2/19 Rocky AMPS 344 +2 341 +4 320

We have used Humulin N and that requires the gentle rolling but Lantus should not be rolled. Jeesh! So much to keep straight... Isn't Julie's video awesome? :-D :-D Uh, Rocky, those stinky pinkys are not awesome...
Liz
 
Re: Dosecrease? 2/19 Rocky AMPS 344 +2 341 +4 320

I'm just now reading yesterday's replies and saw this one from you:

Tina & Rocky said:
Hi Julie,,

Yes, of course my goal is to get Rocky OTJ. I am having a very difficult time in getting him regulated though.. One day he's too low and the next day he's surfing stinky pinkies. I seem to not be doing something right. I worry that the time is past for Rocky to go OTJ, although I had hoped it would happen for him.

I will keep working on it though. That is the purpose of doing the tight regulation for me. :-D

you're doing things right. cats can just be difficult to get regulated - but it is absolutely NOT too late for Rocky to get regulated and go OTJ. really! so don't be discouraged and don't give up. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Dosecrease? 2/19 Rocky AMPS 344 +2 341 +4 320

Definitely don't be discouraged. :cool:
I never thought BK would lose the pink. he didn't even taste HC until we were a year into it
we kept at it and much to our surprise - 21 months later he went to the falls :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top