2/19 Ozzy Dosing Guidance After 3xs Amount of Lantus given on AM Cycle

Status
Not open for further replies.
(((Jo and DH)))

Mistakes happen. This particular mistake has been made more than once and certainly won't be the last. The important thing is the mistake was caught early on. You know what to do. You have lots of help here. You will all be fine!

Going forward, if this ever happens to anyone again... use the conversion chart in the Beginner's Guide sticky in the PZI forum to determine how much insulin was actually given. It is possible to use the conversion chart to convert from U-40 to U-100 or U-100 to U-40 effortlessly. Simply find the amount that you need to use and find the appropriate conversion in the adjacent column.

 
Awww, Jo... I just want to reach thru the computer and give you a big 'ol hug. This FD dance is soooo hard sometimes, we ALL know how you feel. I'm glad you feel safe enough here to vent and cry and yell if you have to. It's OK to have a meltdown, we're human. Just ask the folks on this board... I have had several lately and everyone here has lifted me up and given me the strength to keep going!

I am certainly not any kind of an expert here, but what I can offer is TONS of support and love. I hope your hubby knows that his heart was in the right place and he just made a mistake.
Ozzy will be OK. You'll see to it and so will everyone here on this board!! Hope you feel these long distance :bighug::bighug::bighug: Jo!
 
Awww, Jo... I just want to reach thru the computer and give you a big 'ol hug. This FD dance is soooo hard sometimes, we ALL know how you feel. I'm glad you feel safe enough here to vent and cry and yell if you have to. It's OK to have a meltdown, we're human. Just ask the folks on this board... I have had several lately and everyone here has lifted me up and given me the strength to keep going!

I am certainly not any kind of an expert here, but what I can offer is TONS of support and love. I hope your hubby knows that his heart was in the right place and he just made a mistake.
Ozzy will be OK. You'll see to it and so will everyone here on this board!! Hope you feel these long distance :bighug::bighug::bighug: Jo!
Ahhh Donna...your comments are so sweet and brought another tear to my already weepy eyes. This is such a kind thing to say and I absolutely feel the love and support here. Thank you guys so much.
 
Mistakes happen. This particular mistake has been made more than once and certainly won't be the last. The important thing is the mistake was caught early on. You know what to do. You have lots of help here. You will all be fine!

Going forward, if this ever happens to anyone again... use the conversion chart in the Beginner's Guide sticky in the PZI forum to determine how much insulin was actually given. It is possible to use the conversion chart to convert from U-40 to U-100 or U-100 to U-40 effortlessly. Simply find the amount that you need to use and find the appropriate conversion in the adjacent column.
Thanks Jill. Always nice to see the big guns here! You never disappoint when it matters. Thank you!!!

Book marking your conversion chart.

Thanks again everyone for the support. I really just had a breaking point earlier. I'm cleaning my act up and getting ready for what's to come. Hubby is reassured and I gave him kisses and hugs for his sweet act of trying to let me sleep in...and a lesson on how to use the syringes. :woot:
 
+2 =384. He's up even higher. His numbers don't really look like an overdose, eh!!!? No, all kidding aside, a roller coaster drop is coming in a few hours and we know it.

That Weruva Grandma's chicken soup is majorly carby. I'm stocking up on that one because we can see it works pretty good!
 
His numbers don't really look like an overdose, eh!!!? No, all kidding aside, a roller coaster drop is coming in a few hours and we know it.
Maybe... or maybe not. Sometimes overdoses become non-events. After all, too much insulin *can* cause numbers to rise.

All you can do is continue testing so you're prepared for every possibility...
 
Maybe... or maybe not. Sometimes overdoses become non-events. After all, too much insulin *can* cause numbers to rise.

All you can do is continue testing so you're prepared for every possibility...

Hoping for a non-event, but my kitty is a bit 'dramatic' as we have been told in the past (probably takes after his Italian mama). We will keep testing. About 15 mins from his +3. I'm so tired. Going to grab that test and post and then take a nap.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:.....Jo, Ozzy will be fine and u are doing great :bighug::bighug::bighug:. Give Bob a hug from me :bighug::bighug:. Praying for u all ...wish Missouri was not so stinkin' far away from Cali :(.
 
Poor Pawzie...he's not looking like he feels too good. Not sure if it's from the high numbers or the super carby food. Poor little kitty boy.:(:(:(:( I think he's only been in the 390s once before.
 
Uh oh...Ozzy has some stinky poo and just threw up the Weruvas grandmas chicken soup. I was a little leary of that one when i saw carrots in it. Last can of food with carrots in it made him vomit too.

This is not a good start. Can't have him vomiting food and feeling bad when we need to have him eat later. That food is leaving the rotation.
 
+4 340. Insulin has kicked in. We will see how things go from here. Normally he gets a snack now but going to hold off in case we need to feed later. Me and the kitties are all snuggled up in the down comforter on my bed ready for a nappy (never did get one in).
 
Bob is stumped why his numbers haven't been coming down. He gave Ozzy 3xs the amount of insulin and it's been 5 hours. Think we are going to have a non-event here or just late action? I am pretty suprised myself that he hasn't gotten out of pink yet.
 
One possible explanation: he's a cat! :cat:

It could be the equivalent of the famed NDW, "new dose wonkiness", and you might see a more expected result in the night cycle. I'm not sure exactly how to predict what's coming in this kind of situation, I haven't seen enough examples yet to have a basis.
 
I'm not sure exactly how to predict what's coming in this kind of situation, I haven't seen enough examples yet to have a basis.
Yikes....

I'm not past thinking something is going to be up. He's acting pretty hungry but didn't like his last food choice so I gave him something different. He was following me around the house, licking me, try to gnaw on the firewood and my phone case.... I remember twice when he dropped low, he was really hungry before his numbers went down. So I'm listening....
 
He's not low yet, but maybe he's hungry because he threw up some of his regular food along with the now-contraband Weruva?

Or else he's just figured out how to work his momma's sympathies! ["I've got it! I'll start chewing on firewood! She'll think I'm starving and feed me for sure!"]
 
Hey Jo and DH, it will be OK. I remember from years ago that a petsitter was instructed in writing to give 3.0 Units and she gave 30 Units! The cat was unharmed.
Just keep in mind that this, too, will pass and Ozzy will be fine. You have everything you need and you know what to do.

When our kitty, Stu, was switched to Lantus from a PZI insulin his vet raised his dose every week by 2 units at a time. It took more than 6 weeks (and we were up to about 8 units twice a day) before he "crashed". That was when I found the FDMB. Talk about panic!
Stay calm! Ozzy loves you!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Ella & Rusty
 
+6=340, He went up again after he ate.

I'm confused. Starting to think Hubby maybe gave him a fur shot. Could you imagine after all that hype this am. And we have no way of knowing...o_Oo_O
 
+6=340, He went up again after he ate.

I'm confused. Starting to think Hubby maybe gave him a fur shot. Could you imagine after all that hype this am. And we have no way of knowing...o_Oo_O
If it was a fur shot, you should be able to smell the insulin on Ozzy's fur. It takes a long time (more than 12 hours) for that smell to go away.
 
+7.5 347.

This is so wierd. Don't know what to think....He has never had a cycle like this. I feel like we are in the Twilight zone.
 
Gday Jo - :coffee::coffee::coffee: Hope the rest of your day is going easier.
This is so wierd. Don't know what to think....He has never had a cycle like this. I feel like we are in the Twilight zone.
Did you ever bookmark Julie's post on Where Can I Find? There are a couple of links to overdoses condos in there.

We had one member here foster a cat where the previous foster had mistakenly given the cat 20 units instead of 2 for a month. :eek: Unfortunately in that case, kitty wasn't doing so well though alive there were some neurological implications. And another example of a hubby taking over for mommabean for couple days and shooting 7 units of R instead of Levemir. High numbers but kitty survived fine. Then there was the story of a vet in Alaska prescribing 10 units as a starting dose.... After two doses caregiver posted here, cat survived and went OTJ. You get it, lots of stories. Thankfully you both were on the ball and home today. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
This is so wierd.
Don't think too hard about this. What you're seeing so far hasn't been all that unusual.

Sometimes kitties will nose-dive after an over dose. Sometimes kitties will remain high and flat. Sometimes kitties will remain high and flat for most of the cycle and then will uncharacteristically drop towards the end of the cycle.

Ozzy was also in the beginning stages of a bounce. IMHO, that has also helped put the brakes on a possible drop, but that remains to be seen. There's still quite a bit of time left in this cycle. He could still drop some. Although, I'm not anticipating anything dramatic. Just stay on top of his numbers like you have been.

PS - Don't let Ozzy read this. We don't want him getting any ideas! :)
 
What should the plan be tonight? Normally Ozzy gets his shot around 5:30pm but as most know by now, I overslept the alarm this am and he was an hour late. Since we already gave Ozzy 3xs his normal dose, I figure we should not put him back on schedule and keep him on the hour late dose. I can actually do this tomorrow AM and PM shot if needed. I am actually off tomorrow but have a minor proceduere in the morning that will keep me and Hubby out of the house from around +1.5 - +4 so we won't be able to monitor for a few hours but will the rest of the day (well hubby probably, I will most likely be in bed for a little bit).

So the inevitable question is: what dose do we give him tonight???

I have a very suspicious feeling the action we thought was going to happen today is going to happen tonight. And probably super late knowing my luck and the fact that I have to go do a procedure in the am and will need/want sleep. Anti-jinx.
 
Just bumping my thread up for advice on dosing. It is Ozzy's normal shot time now. I assume we are supposed to keep him on the hour late schedule due to the wrong dose being administered this am. That means he will get his insulin in an hour.

Here is a quick run down of his AM cycle today-
AMPS 314
1.25U of lantus administered (3xs normal dose)
+1 364
+2 384
+3 390
+4 340
+5 307
+6 340
+8 343
+10 319
 
Last edited:
I'm sure you'll receive a variety of answers. My perspective after living with feline diabetes for so many years may be a little different than the main stream. Given the circumstances I'll tell you what I would do if Ozzy were mine... I'd let the depot drain by skipping tonight's shot and would resume insulin at the normal shot time in the morning. This would also allow you, DH, and Ozzy to catch a break tonight. Sure, everything's over for now, but incidents like this take a lot out of a person. I believe in taking care of the beans as well as we do our cats. There's no danger in skipping the shot tonight. It will amount to nothing in the long run.

FWIW, just my thoughts...
 
I'm sure you'll receive a variety of answers. My perspective after living with feline diabetes for so many years may be a little different than the main stream. Given the circumstances I'll tell you what I would do if Ozzy were mine... I'd let the depot drain by skipping tonight's shot and would resume insulin at the normal shot time in the morning. This would also allow you, DH, and Ozzy to catch a break tonight. Sure, everything's over for now, but incidents like this take a lot out of a person. I believe in taking care of the beans as well as we do our cats. There's no danger in skipping the shot tonight. It will amount to nothing in the long run.

FWIW, just my thoughts...
@Jill & Alex (GA) I don't actually think this is a bad idea. I mentioned/asked this question above earlier on today.. for same reason to just drain depot.

I feel kind of bad he is so high and has had an entire day in the pinks...but it could've been a lot worse if it went the other way.
 
I also think it’s a good idea to drain the depot a bit because the effects of that shot might not be readily apparent this cycle.

I’m glad it was a non event.
 
We skipped the PM shot on the advice of the big guns Jill and Marje. Wonder what his AMPS number is going to look like. Will he get into the 400s? He's never been in the 400s. We will deal with whatever comes. Hopefully we didn't mess up his cycles too much.
 
Just got back from my favorite family owned pet food store and ran into the cutest couple there shopping for kitty food. Their story touched my heart so I wanted to share...

They recently lost their 14 yr old seal point Siamese kitty Mushu to renal failure and were devastated. They truly believed Mushu's diet of dry food was to blame for the kidney disease. They are just now in the process of adopting a new 2 yr old feral Siamese kitty that they will name Tilo from a shelter and were getting all the things in place to bring her home. They were really on the fence about adopting a new kitty and the mama bean felt so guilty about getting a new kitty- like she was betraying Mushu.

I spotted the mama bean looking at and holding a bag of dry food and hubby had a can of weruva wet food in his hand. Wow... it was like a pivotal moment in making a decision on the new nutrition for their new kitty and I'm sorry, I just could not help myself and had to ask them if they knew dry food was not good to feed kitty. Then a whole 45 minute conversation on food ensued... I told them all about this website, catinfo.org, the pet safe auto feeder, carb counts in food, how to calculate calories based on their kitties weight, and what type of things to watch out for and avoid in kitty food (fruits, veggies, carrageenan, and other fillers, etc.). I even made a few recommendations on food choices based on my experience with foods (and you know we tried a lot of different stuff) but reminded them that ECID so they will have to figure out what works for their new Tilo. The great thing about my pet food store is that they will let you bring back food and exchange it or return it if you pet doesn't like it (even if they ate it all). I have definitely returned several brands of food already and opened bags of treats that my kitties didn't like.

They were so grateful for the info and asked me if I was a nutritionist to which I laughed loudly out loud. But really guys...that's a testament to you all and this wonderful site because I realized I have learned SO much from each and every one of you and I am so eternally grateful for all the love, care, guidance, support we have received from the members of this board. If I can even pass along one piece of info that helps someone else, I feel I am paying it forward and that means a lot to me.

We are still researching how to do the homemade raw. And after we get it down and perfect it and have a lot of good info and knowledge in this area, I want to offer to do a class/seminar at my pet food store and maybe some local vet offices so we can teach others about this. This is my goal. @Taffysmama I am inviting you to do this with me if you are interested. First and most importantly, you have so much knowledge in this area and you live close to me. Let me know if you would be interested in participating in something like this in the future. Anyone else local that is interested is invited too. We can even tape a session and put it on youtube.
 
:bighug:So , so glad it is a non event :bighug:. Believing that prayers were answered :). What an awesome group effort to watch :bighug:
Yes, thanks everyone for the wonderful support today. I truly appreciate it. In hindsight, we may have overacted (I do do that sometimes) but we didn't know what we were in for.

Mostly I am just happy it was a non-event for Hubby. He felt awful all day and really helped a lot with the testing to make sure Ozzy was safe. I was pretty upset with him when it first happened because I could not believe that he would just go draw the insulin himself when he has never done it with these needles or insulin and not ask questions (he even commented later that he noticed the syringe caps were red and not orange like the used ones in the bag on the table); but my Hubby was trying to be so sweet to me and try to take care of kitty so I could sleep in. His intentions were so good and so sweet and I really appreciate him trying to help and do something nice for me. He really loves us a lot. I'm just glad things didn't get too scary today or he would have felt just awful. After we discovered we'd overdosed Ozzy, he was dressed and ready to rush him to the vet at 6:30 am. Ahh...poor Hubby!! Thanks Ozzy for being nice to your papa today.
 
Last edited:
I'm glad you decided to skip the shot tonight. Get a good night's sleep and tomorrow will take care of itself.

Nice story about the people in the pet food store. They are lucky they ran into you there!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That's a wonderful story about the people you met at the store. Just think, you might have saved them a lot of vet bills and their kitty will be healthier her whole life.

Hope you rest.
 
Wow, he couldn't have picked a better day to bounce! My heart skipped a beat when I saw the title. I'm glad it worked out, though I know that waiting to see if he was going to dive had to be just as stressful as watching the numbers go down would've been. :bighug:
 
You and DH have had quite the day - I'm just sending a little support your way. Hope you can get some rest tonight and that things return to normal in the morning.

Good job helping the people in the store. You may have saved their cat from health issues in the future.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top