2/19 Mary Grace 348 +2 264 PMPS 284 +2 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

marygracemom

Member Since 2013
Happy Tuesday LL.

yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113972

Thanks for the visits and replies yesterday and all the helpful info about iaa and arocat. I made an appointment for this Saturday, I just told the receptionist a wellness appointment and then I will discuss this face to face, armed with my information. I don't feel confident that I can explain it over the phone. I worry about them shipping it, and having the necessary supplies on hand to do so, is that something I can pick up from FedEx myself?

Hope everyone has a good day. Sending all types of vines to those kitties and beans that may need them.
 
Re: 2/19 Mary Grace 348 +2 264

Good luck this Saturday, and I look forward to hearing what the vet said. Miss Mary Grace is looking nice this morning! That's a very nice easy slide down to the :mrgreen: lagoon. Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: 2/19 Mary Grace 348 +2 264

Looks like Mary Grace might want to visit blues today!

I believe some people have done the Fedex shipping themselves. I can't help answer that because shipping blood across the border was a whole other complication for me so I just got the vet lab to do it.
 
Re: 2/19 Mary Grace 348 +2 264

Hi guys .. that certainly is a nice slide down at +2 .. No advice from me on the packing of her tests, but I would sure hope the vet knows how to handle all that stuff correctly .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/19 Mary Grace 348 +2 264

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

marygracemom said:
I don't feel confident that I can explain it over the phone. I worry about them shipping it, and having the necessary supplies on hand to do so, is that something I can pick up from FedEx myself?

You could let them know you are interested in some specialized blood work and you will be faxing over copies of the details ahead of your appointment.
No explanation needed - it's all on the MSU forms.

Do you have a good working relationship with this vet? The fact that you are concerned about them shipping blood for a couple tests does not inspire confidence.

I remember the first time I requested the Acro testing for BK. We waited and waited and waited.. . .
finally I called for the results only to find out the vet never sent the blood to MSU.

I got a new vet.
 
Re: 2/19 Mary Grace 348 +2 264

Thanks for the visits and replies Angela, Wendy, Devon and Sandy!

I would rather ship it myself, that way I know it has been refrigerated properly and packaged properly. I guess it does sound like I don't have much confidence in the vet. I think that is more me than the vet. There are a few vets in this practice that I switched to after Mary's dx ( she was going to Banfield in Petsmart and the appointment when she was dx was horrible-so I got a recommendation from a neighbor where she takes her cats- On the first visit there I got a different vet that was kind of pushy on the rx food, etc and I just ignored her and have gotten all of my advice from here. I became a bit paranoid thinking that both the civvies were showing signs of diabetes and took them both in and by luck of the draw got a different vet. I had a bit of a "moment" in the office when we were waiting for their blood labs to get finished and the vet and I bonded. I was crying that I couldn't afford, both financially and mentally any more to deal with diabetes (I am a type one diabetic), she told me her husband was a type one and I could feel her support for me. I had brought my ss to show her what I was doing with Mary Grace and she was impressed. Said there was nothing different that they would do. I have since called her to get a Lantus refill, no problem, and she has yet to meet Mary Grace in person yet. So, I figured that if I went in for the apt on Saturday I could introduce them and get her to understand why I need these tests done. She hasn't had blood work done since her dx in Sept., is that something that I need to do more than once a year? I just told the receptionist to make it a wellness exam checkup for Saturday. I think I will fax over the forms like Sandy suggested so she will know beforehand.
 
Re: 2/19 Mary Grace 348 +2 264

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: Sounds like a bit of an ordeal with the former vets. So glad you found a good one in the practice. I'm always surprised how two vets in the same practice can be so different.

I've been doing a vetty visit with bloodwork every 6 months, just because the diabetes can be hard on the rest of the system. You could ask the new vet what she recommends.
 
Re: 2/19 Mary Grace 348 +2 264

If it's the first visit the new vet will likely want to run the usual blood work, to get a baseline for future.
However if you have the blood work from Sept. bring it with.
Also let the new vet know who the old vet was so that they can request Mary Graces records be transferred. :cool:
 
Re: 2/19 Mary Grace 348 +2 264

Good evening Wendy and Sandy
Wendy- the vet she always went to was great but she failed us both on her day of dx. The vet at the new practice that has seen Mary is more a dog person, as there are pics of her all over with dogs. The other vet and I clicked so that's all I wanted was someone who would let me get my advice here and not hassle me about the food or coming in for curves. I faxed both forms over with a cover letter explaining the reason for the upcoming appointment. And I called the school in mi and they said the vet had to order the shipping package first then get the blood. ? She was kind of rude when I tried to question her.
Sandy- I brought her blood work from September when I first went there in November. I can't afford a whole blood work up so maybe a partial? What do you think?

And also I was in a zone when I drew up her pm shot and forgot she is due an increase which I will now do in the am, but since I'm doing it by .50 now I am kind of leery about doing it while I am going to be at work all day. However looking at her history it doesn't seem like she would get too low. Any thoughts? Should I just do the .25 increase and her next increase over the weekend go back to the .50?
 
marygracemom said:
Sandy- I brought her blood work from September when I first went there in November. I can't afford a whole blood work up so maybe a partial? What do you think?
It's going to be the vets call,

Assuming all was well except for the BG level on that BW, I would go in with the mindset that it's been less than 6 months since the full BW was done so why repeat it so soon?
If you get push back ask if there is a compelling reason to repeat the usual blood work at this time.
It sounds like the vet is aware you have limited vet visit $$ and have been budgeting for the tests, so that is in your favor.

Regarding increasing, according to the TR protocol unless nadirs are over 300, a 0.25u increase is appropriate.
I think it would be fine to increase in the AM. Although not impossible, it's unlikely that you would see serious action on the first cycle of a new dose.
:cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top