2/19 Mandarin AMBG 61, PMBG 82 / Walter +12 47, PMPS 339

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Seriously, Walter, what is this all about? How can you hang out in pink all day yesterday and then splash around with the sharks the next morning? :eek::banghead: When I saw yesterday's +4, I figured I must have given him at least a partial FS (even though it didn't feel like I did and I didn't smell any Insulin). He was still in pink by the time his PMPS rolled around and I thought it would be safe to catch up on my sleep. I didn't even bother to test him when I got up to feed a snack.

Well, it is what it is. With him being in the 40s, I decided to feed and skip the shot. He'll get a reduced dose of 1.25 u tonight. Hopefully, that also means that I will get to enjoy the lovely weather. It's in the high 60s which is basically unheard of for February.

I just wish that I knew what to do about Lenny's ruptured disc. I had a long and depressing conversation with the neurologist yesterday. He is still recommending surgery as the best option. Lenny has definitely improved, but not as dramatically as we had hoped. It is just about killing me to leave him at home in a crate while I take the other dogs hiking... and I can't even imagine that he might never be able to join us again. I want him to have the best chance to recover... but the surgery comes with its own risks of course.
 
Walter, that is not funny....not even a little bit :arghh: Glad you get to enjoy the weather and get a good sleep tonight hopefully.

I'm so sorry about Lenny. Surgery is super scary but if he has to live in the crate that's not fun for him. Is there still a chance he will recover more? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Walter what were you thinking? Darn near gave mama bean a heart attack I'm sure!
I'm sorry to hear about Lenny. Does the Dr believe he has recovered as much as possible without surgery?
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:Sending vines to Lenny.

Walter, why are you being so dramatic?! There is no need for this nonsense.

I hope you can get out and enjoy your weather Christina.
 
Walter, you've always been a good diver, but let's keep it to the shallows and WHEN MAMA BEAN IS AWAKE. Thank you. :)

Glad to see Mandarin is still surfing along in his green shorts! I hope you can try enjoy the good weather. I have the same question as Karen: does the neurologist think Lenny will continue to get better with more rest? Or is he as improved as he's going to get without having surgery?

Continued vines coming your way for Lenny and, as always, for snorkly Iris.
 
For future reference, if you can monitor, when you see a preshots in the 40's, try waiting 15-20 minutes without feeding and test again. Neko loved giving me AM 40's but would come up to a shootable number quickly.

Vines for Lenny. :bighug: You might want to do a QOL checklist for each scenario. It's a hard decision.
 
For future reference, if you can monitor, when you see a preshots in the 40's, try waiting 15-20 minutes without feeding and test again.
In hindsight, that would have been the smart thing to do... especially if I had known that Amazon Prime does 2-hour deliveries on trampolines for their feline customers. :banghead: But, on the plus side, I got to spend this lovely sunny day walking my dogs, doing some playgroups at the shelter and then sitting on a lawn chair outside (something I don't think I have ever been able to do in February).

As for Lenny: yes, there's still a chance that he will continue to get better with time. In all fairness, he IS a lot better than he was last week. If he was an elderly sedate dog, I wouldn't even consider the surgery. He doesn't seem to be in pain and he gets around just fine. My big issue is that he is only 6 years old and was an active, playful dog that is used to walking for miles every day. He loves play dates with other dogs, going to the dog beach in the summer, running through the snow in the winter and I just want to make sure that he has many years of that. What I really need is a crystal ball.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top