2/19 Lucian AMPS 548,+4/460,+6/441,PMPS 383

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
2/18 Condo

Morning ~O)

This 'rinse and repeat' is getting to be a problem. :sad: I really don't know what to do about his dose, thoughts?

Wishing everyone better luck than I'm having! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548 ??Hold/raise??

His nadirs are still over 200, so go up by .25u

Sorry making this short this morning, overslept and running around like a chicken with its head cut off

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548 ??Hold/raise??

Sorry about your morning Mel, no problem on this end.

I went ahead and shot 1.25 although couldn't really get it accurate, I think it may have been fat. I just can't see well and the syringe wasn't being cooperative.

I was looking on Amazon at those magnifiers that clip to the syringe, but they are made to fit 1 cc and 1/2 cc syringes, won't they be too big for the .3 syringes? Have yet to see one that lists that size. Do you have one?

Lucian is not happy this morning, he's walking around squalling cause I didn't give him enough breakfast and is trying to pick a fight with Shadow, had to scold him to make him leave her alone. I'll give him a bit more shortly.
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548

Okay back, dog's been out, and the Overlords fed now mom gets her caffine so she can function somewhat...lol. I forgot how many mouths there are to feed here solo first thing in the morning, plus I don't think I fell asleep until after 1am last night. Just don't function well without the other half here. lol

Actually since you are trying the food manipulation this morning perhaps it is good that you held the dose to see if it gives him a gentler drop. Without mudding the results with a change of dose too. It will be interesting to see if he stays flatter today.

I know all to well the fighting that happens when ou either don't feed them as much as they want or on time...lol So tomorrow morning is going to be just a party since I'm going to have to stall everyone on their breakfast until 8:30am so I can get Autumn in for her dental :roll: Hopefully by the time I get back home they won't have set a snare to catch and eat me. :o Or won't have eaten each other or the dog by then...lol.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548

Oh to answer your other question, yes I have one of those clip on magnifiers but it doesn't fit the syringe that I use so I just kind of hold it in place when I use it, however, that I found that works even better is one of those lighted jobbies that you use for needlework. I have two different ones, one that is a stand alone that clips to the table (which I actually use for my counted cross stitch) and one that had a cord on it that hangs around your neck and rests on your chest.

But then again I have an advantage that Autumn is on Lev, so I can prefill her syringes, so in the evenings when the brain is functional, or at least as functional as it gets anymore I fill both her am & pm syringe. Which thankfully saved me this am when I rolled out of bed 10 minutes before shot time with everyone screaming they were STARVING!!!

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548

I just gave him a little nibble, about 1/8 of a can.

The magnifiers, I was looking at both kinds, the one that clips on and the one that hangs around your neck. I wish the clip on would fit, because I have to bring it up eye level to get a good view and don't know if the other one would help since it's down at your chest. I dunno, but I need something. :?

I know you aren't supposed to pre fill with Lantus, but yes, it would certainly make things easier/more accurate if I could do it when I was actually awake. I read the study that was done on pre-filling and it was done on Lantus that had been pre-filled for 7 days. Makes you wonder if it would cause any problems when it would only be pre-filled for 12 hrs or less. :?: :?: I dunno, but being cautious........you know.

He ate every tiny speck of his snack. it was the 8% tuna that all of them love. I know 8% isn't out of line, but normally he eats 0-3%, with occasional 4's and 5's. When I started buying the low carb, I bought 5 and under, it just so happens, that his favorites are Mixed Grill and Beef & liver and both of those are 0, with exception of the Tuna, they are his favorites. He doesn't care much for the fish flavors, Whitefish and Tuna are just ok, but he loves the plain Tuna and refuses to touch Chicken or Chicken & Fish, will only eat Chicken with Liver once in a while. He seems to like meatier flavors, the livers and such. Guess he doesn't like bland food, the one's he likes, I'd bet are stronger flavors. I don't blame him, I dislike bland food myself. :lol:

Poor drooler! They'll have him BBQ'd by the time you get back! He is severely outnumbered! :lol: Can you feed the rest of them on your way out the door, with Autumn in her carrier? So they don't chew off your ankles when you come back? :o
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548

nckitties3 said:
Can you feed the rest of them on your way out the door, with Autumn in her carrier? So they don't chew off your ankles when you come back?
Well that was the plan if daddy was going to be home, the plan was for me to get Autumn in the carrier while he dished out breakfast for the rest of them...Only problem we don't know yet if Daddy is going to be home, and the stupid drooler won't eat unless one of us sit with him while he eats. :roll: Mostly because Sophia and Myrrdin will slap the cr*p out of him and steal his food if he doesn't have a body guard. ohmygod_smile Someone forgot to tell him that he is a 97lb dog being pushed around by a couple of 10lb cats... :lol:

How he can be so fierce when it comes to protecting mom and such a baby when it comes to protecting himself from the kitties is beyond me, he will even give up his bed and sleep on the floor if little 6lb Arabella takes over his bed...lol.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548

:lol: It amazes me that animals have no concept of size! That's why God made Chihuahuas tiny! If they were the size of Rotties, they would eat people! :lol: Funny, some people are afraid of large dogs, not me, the only dog that ever bit me was a 4# Yorkie! :o

My cats have always ruled the roost, even with 120# Goldens, but then again, Goldens are the most docile dogs, I think, that exist. My cats never took his bed, but would sleep with him, especially Shadow, she slept with him for years.

But Lucian was the closest to him, he would lay in the floor next to his face and rub, pet and groom him every day. Lucian was the one that walked the floors and cried after he crossed the bridge. It took weeks before Lucian stopped mourning the loss. It effected him as badly as it did me. :cry: I've never seen anything like that.

Poor drooler, looks like he's gonna have the roughest time tomorrow. :o

Sending lots of light for a speedy recovery for Autumn and Mommabean bringing her home tomorrow. cat_pet_icon

Fed Lucian another snack about 35 min ago, will test him about +4 and see what he's doing, then I might take a nap. I'm still exhausted from yesterday. Didn't want to stay up today, but you know how that goes, so I made coffee. ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) 4 big cups! @-) :lol:
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548

No kidding I use to train dogs and never had a problem with the large breeds but then again most of them are working dogs by nature...it is those little ankle biters that will get you everytime. I've been bitten more by pekes, poms, and corgies than I ever have by the large breeds and my favorites are huge...lol...Love working with the Great Danes, Mastiffs, and German Shepherds.

But just got good news, common sense seems to have prevailed and DH will be home late tonight, so at least everyone but poor Autumn can eat breakfast. Oh she is going to be lovely to see when I get her home...a hunger, sore, and crabby TORTIE...bring on the tude...lol. But hopefully we will know once she gets back if there is anything wrong with her back, and if she needs pain meds for it, and of course all those nasty infected teefies will be gone and the rest nice and polished...then hopefully she will just keep sliding down the dosing scale until its time to throw her a big party. (fingers, toes, paws and tails all crossed)

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548,+4/460

Feeding tiny bits every hour sure keeps him from dropping too fast.......but still too high. Watcha think?

So glad DH will be there to help you! :thumbup
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548,+4/460,+6/441

Okay now we have figured out one of the pieces of the puzzle that is Lucian and that is how to keep him from diving and bouncing...now to get those numbers down. Either go up to 1.5 tonight or if you perfer in the morning...the idea is to keep him as flat as possible and then slowly raise the dose until we have the numbers where we want.

Normally I would say to hold the dose for awhile now that we have stopped the bouncing (anti-jinx) since this does was getting him down to the 200s but because it is only taking him to the 200s I think it is safe to go ahead and raise him again, just now you know you need to space out is breakfast to give the insulin a chance to get ahold of those numbers and bring them down without a sudden dive to 200 for 600+ and then a bounce right back up again by preshot.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548,+4/460,+6/441

Yesterday, he dropped 300 pts by +6, today 100 pts by +6 ...slowed down by feeding very small amounts of food about every 1-1.25 hrs, approx. Did not eat between +3.45 and +6.

We were hoping to 'slow his downward slide' and avoid the superbounce at the PMPS.

Questions about the rest of the cycle:

:?: Should I continue this 'experiment' until +10, then wait the 2 hrs until his PMPS? :?:
:?: Or stop the hourly (-/+) snacks now, feed maybe once from between now and PMPS and see how fast he goes up between +6 & +11.45, making sure there are at least 2 hrs, with no food, before tests ? :?:
:?: How do I get the PS #'s lower, while controlling the drop, but still bring it down over all? :?:
:?: Dose increase :?: hoping for lower PS values and then ease the drop with food the way I did today? :?:
:?: How do I get that lower PS value to make this happen, if not by increasing the dose? :?:

Good Grief! What I wrote was confusing to me, hope someone out there can understand what I'm trying to say! @-)
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548,+4/460,+6/441

:lol: too funny, you were typing to me while I was asking the questions :lol:
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548,+4/460,+6/441

Okay taking a stab at this...Hopefully we think enough alike that I understand what you are asking..

Stop the snacks now, as you are now on the waning side of his insulin..so we don't need to keep the numbers from sliding downward at this point, they should start rising on their own now, just since it was only a nice gentle drop down today he won't put the spring loaded shoes on tonight. Easy down hopefully equals easy back up. If he is starving see if you can hold him with a few treats or a teeny tiny amount of food.

Okay now technically if kitties would follow the rules and logical thought which we know they don't....lol. Is that once the bouncing sky high ends, then the dose is able to start lower thus dropping the over all curve lower..for example, if he starts out at 600+ at amps, and on 1.25u will drop him over 400pts in 6 hours, but since that is such a steep drop his body freaks and shots him back up to 600+ again you just have a vicious cycle of dive and bounce, dive and bounce. But if he starts in at 600+ and by steering with food you get him to only drop 200pts in 6 hours which is about the norm and then he slides back up to only the low 500s or even just the high 400s and holds that overnight, and yep you may need to steer the pm cycle too...(yeah I know it sux), but perhaps you can just steer it for a few hours in the pm up to like the +3 you are already up for. Then he starts out in the 400s the next day and only slides gently another 200pts tomorrow, well he still makes yellow again on the dose but now he is doing it with ease rather than that dive and bounce.

But since this dose is already only taking him into the 200s by raising the dose, hopefully he will continue to slide gently down and back up again, but this time with nadirs in the blues instead of yellow once he settles on it, just he will have to be steered to make sure he stays fairly flat without major dives and bounces. Because what my kids have taught me is sure I can rush them up and get those nadirs down into the blues and greens quickly but when they have that great distance to go to get there all I'm really doing is setting them up for a huge bounce at the end of the cycle. Its that old thing of for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction, thus the harder the drop, the harder the bounce.

With what you're doing right now the way I understand the SLGS is that first you are just looking for the Blacks to go away and become reds, then the reds to go away and become pinks, and so on, without sudden sharp dives that set up for the equal and opposite reaction in sudden and steep bounces back up again.

Hopefully that makes some form of reasonable sense out of a brain that got about 4 hours of sleep last night...lol. And also answers what you asked.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548,+4/460,+6/441

I think that is how I understood it.
Theoretically, today would be PS's in black, mid cycles in red.
tomorrow, PS's in red, mids in pink
next day, pinks and yellows
next day, yellows and blues, etc, etc
That's what we're reaching for correct? And upping the dose every few days, as nadirs require. Although it won't happen daily, factoring in adjustment times, etc.

Tell me I understand this!?!? :lol: If not, run it by me again please, I can be an airhead at times :lol:
 
Re: 2/19 Lucian AMPS 548,+4/460,+6/441

By Jove I think you've got it, or at least as I understand it myself, and the way Autumn seems to understand it too...lol But since Maxwell spoiled me rotten by going OTJ in 2 weeks, Autumn is the first one that I have really worked with this long to see if I've got it too...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Now how do we keep his PMPS from being the lowest point of the day? And will it cause a bounce by itself?

Boy this can be complicated. ohmygod_smile

I'll up his dose in the morning, rather not do it at night.
 
Well didn't expect him to do this...actually I would try steering him a little tonight like you did this morning and see if he will continue to slide down this evening as well. Then maybe not raise him in the morning as see if with a little steering if we can keep him on the downward slide. Autumn's pmps is her nadir most of the time, so can't help you there...but that again is the difference in Lantus and Lev, Lev tends to have a very late nadir but has an equally longer onset.

Technically you are suppose to stall his shot without feeding until he starts rising again with Lantus to make sure you are shooting a rising number, but right now as high as he is I think he is still safe to shoot even if he is still dropping, just to get a jump on the food he is about to eat. Maybe just maybe we cracked the code to get him down, he just needs teeny tiny meals after each shot to around +6 to keep him in a stable drop.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top