2/19 Frank Skipped PM Shot vomited/ has not eaten since 5am

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Boozle

Member Since 2013
Last night

Needless to say, we took a reduction. I'll be here to watch him through +7 so I went ahead and shot. Wish Frank luck. Lol BTB for a bit. Y'all have a good mornin'. :)
 
Re: 2/20 Frank AMPS 90,+1 137

Congratulations on the dose reduction :mrgreen: . Hope you get a good btb.

Today is the 19th, by the way. ;-)
 
Re: 2/20 Frank AMPS 90,+1 137

Hi guys .. congrats on the dose reduction! Numbers are looking good this morning .. not too much higher ok Frank? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/19 Frank Skipped PM Shot vomited/ has not eaten since

Just gave him an appetite stimulant. Looks like URI really set in. He'He's pretty wiped out. Sugar is staying below 300 without insulin, which is better than what he does with it most days. Hoping this appetite stimulant kicks in soon.
 
Re: 2/19 Frank Skipped PM Shot vomited/ has not eaten since

do you know the bag of tricks to get cats to eat? off the top of my head . . .
sprinkle with parmesan cheese, oregano, catnip, fortiflora;

warm it up so it's a bit smellier (especially with a stuffy nose he might not be able to smell);

pour some tuna water over the top;

crush some kibble and sprinkle a small amount over the canned food;

give rotisserie chicken or lunch meat

"prime the pump" by getting some food into his mouth using your finger;

make little "meat balls" of the food

put some food on his paw to annoy him into cleaning it off

If he's nauseated and you give him an appy stimulant, you can end up with a sick cat trying to eat. if you have anything to address the vomiting, i'd give that too. Cerenia or Ondansetron both can help with that. Pepcid can help if there's an acid tummy.

He's had quite the 24 hrs!
 
Re: 2/19 Frank Skipped PM Shot vomited/ has not eaten since

We have tried everything but the kibble. He is drooling so I am sure he is nauseated. I don't have anything for vomiting, but the appetite stimulant I gave him, they also give cats with cancer to help with nausea. I am guessing that until he eats he can't have insulin. :/
 
Re: 2/19 Frank Skipped PM Shot vomited/ has not eaten since

fried chicken ( like KFC - peel the fried part off and just give him the meat) often works miracles too.
Sending appy vines.... poor Frank.

when I've used a stimulant, it usually seems to work within 30 minutes....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top