2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, PMPS 181, +4 = 132

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=113958 which includes an interesting discussion of bouncing/Somogyi/rebound, etc. :-D

Today:

AMPS = 316
+6 = 89 :mrgreen:

~PMPS STALLING~
+12 = 113
+12.5 = 125
+13 = 138
+13.5 = 143
+14.25 = 181 (2.0u)

+2 = 191
+3 = 173
+4 = 132
+5 = 115
+6 = 114


Eddie happily greeted me at the door at lunch time today. This is cycle 4 of the experiment with a reducie for pre-shots in the 300+ range. If you've been following along, I was planning to scrap the reducie and go back up with this PM cycle.

Eddie sat down in my lap on the floor and I poked him and when I saw an 89, I said, "Eddie, where the heck did that come from?" He turned and looked at me, and gave me a slow blink and a "brrr." - Translation: "What do you think about that, Mom! Hahaha! I am the one in charge here, remember?"

So, I'm going to hold that shave for that part of the scale. There's just not enough leeway in my opinion to move it back up to 2.6.
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89

He never ceases to amaze. (well, none of them do...). Do you suppose he really takes that long to settle in to a dose? I remember we did think that about him at first..... Or is just a random number? Time will tell.
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
He never ceases to amaze. (well, none of them do...). Do you suppose he really takes that long to settle in to a dose? I remember we did think that about him at first..... Or is just a random number? Time will tell.

Ya know, I just really have no idea. I suppose it's possible that there were enough bouncy hormones floating that it took this long for them to clear out to see the true effect of the dose. Or, maybe a random number. :mrgreen:

I did schedule a V-E-T visit on Friday and asked for a p-titis test. If nothing else, I can rule that out as an issue. I guess if his tummy hurts, that could also account for some of the less-than-stellar cycles.
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6= 89, +12= 113, +13= 138 (stallin

Well, Eddie's driving the bus now, and I have no idea where we are going. That being said, he seems to feel like a million bucks today!

Currently stalling at 138 at (+13). At this rate, he should hit 200 by +14.5 or so. :?

Thoughts on shooting tonight? So he clearly likes his reducie for the 300-350 range (2.4u), after I was convinced we'd be going back up tonight. Based on his past history, he does usually rise pretty quickly on a stalled pre-shot. However, I don't want to over-do it tonight. If this results in a messed up schedule, I'd rather have the skipped dose be in the AM tomorrow (if one is required), because we are expecting 5 inches of snow yet again tomorrow. It may be iffy whether I can make it home for a +6 check on him.
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, +13 = 138 (stalling)

How low are you comfortable with shooting? It can be a "token dose".
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, +13 = 138 (stalling)

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
How low are you comfortable with shooting? It can be a "token dose".

Thanks Carl. I've shot around 175 or so before. I usually catch a +2 or 3 to see how far he's climbing.
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, +13 = 138 (stalling)

Hmmmm. If we could just be sure the pattern would be the same :mrgreen: , we'd know exactly what to do. Maybe a fat 2.2? My thinking is the 2.4 worked for the pm cycle on 2/18 but today seems like he has a new plan. He does often go down at night. So maybe be cautious tonight and then tomorrow you'll have a shootable amps?
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, +13 = 138 (stalling)

LOL. Carl weighed in and now we have given you two completely different approaches. Go with your gut, Jen. It's been reliable.
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, +13 = 138 (stalling)

+13.5 = 143

On the upside, he's been in healthy numbers for a LONG stretch today!

I think I'll probably try a 2.2 if he hits 175 on the assumption that he'll continue rise till onset. He's not really blasting up yet, so I don't want to get too much overlap. I can steer him up if necessary, but a few hours of sleep tonight would be nice. :smile:
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, +13 = 138 (stalling)

Has Eddie eaten?
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, +13 = 138 (stalling)

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
Has Eddie eaten?

Not since +6 today when he has his usual lunch of approx. 2 Tbsp. Fancy Feast, other than dried chicken treats for the pokies. The sharks are circling upset that dinner is almost 2 hrs. late.
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, +13 = 138 (stalling)

I might consider testing at +14, and feeding him. If he's above 150, maybe even less than 2.0, like 1.6? The food should bump it up by the time onset happens.
I think you're looking at "carryover" - sometimes referred to as a "long cycle" here. I was planning on posting about carryover, overlap, and duration later, and this gives a reason to do so after dinner :-)
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, +13 = 138 (stalling)

Carl & Bob (GA) said:
I might consider testing at +14, and feeding him. If he's above 150, maybe even less than 2.0, like 1.6? The food should bump it up by the time onset happens.
I think you're looking at "carryover" - sometimes referred to as a "long cycle" here. I was planning on posting about carryover, overlap, and duration later, and this gives a reason to do so after dinner :-)

I'm willing to give that a try. :smile: Thanks for the input! Will see where he's at in a few minutes here.

That would be AWESOME if you had some ideas about how to deal with carryover/long cycles. Low pre-shots and long duration have been an ongoing challenge for us. :smile:
 
Re: 2/19 Eddie AMPS 316, +6 = 89, PMPS 181

PMPS = 181 (+14.25) - 2.0u

Eddie's clearly rising now, and I've shot pretty much a normal dose in this range before, so going with a 2.0u which is a hair less than my scale. I hope that will give us a smidge shorter duration so hopefully we can shoot in the AM tomorrow, and at the same time keep him off the ceiling as much as possible tonight. Will grab a +2 or 3 to see where he's going to end up before onset.

Thank you so much for your input Sue and Carl! I look forward to some ideas on overlap/long duration, etc. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top