2/19 Chyna PMPS 463 +1.5 455 +4 381

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi Guys! :-D No time again today at work, we're slammed and short 2 people...but wanted to do a quick condo. Yesterday: Chyna 2/18

Chyna seems happy and is eating most of her fuds...not CPC but with her numbers all over I guess it messes up everything :roll: .

I'm thinking I need an increased dose (reduced too far), but will give it a day or so since I'm wanting to move her shot times back so I can at least get a +1.5 if my boss doesn't go for the shift change. I can shoot at 6am instead of 7am and get a 7:30 test as I leave for work. Then I hope to heck I get off work on time and traffic is ok :? . Does a +1.5 tell any of you much if they are diving? I know ECID, just wondering. I've never checked that one. She eats her breffis slowly often over a half an hour usually so it's more like a +1.5 when I do the +2...

I'll start the changing times tonight by moving back 15 min a shot. Anyways, gotta go do work! I will try come see you all later. At least I have a working tire today :lol: . There just doesn't seem to ever be enough time in the night or the day! Have a great day, LL :-D
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna AMPS 394

I hope Chyna slides down for you today. I don't blame you for waiting for the dosecrease until after you change her shot time. I answered your question in Furball's condo today. For me, a +1 is too food influenced to tell much most of the time.
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna AMPS 394

Hi Rachel,

Glad Chyna is feeling good and appy isn't bad :-D Once in a while I have to get a +1.5 before I leave for work, and sometimes it shows a pretty good drop. Cleo does graze all morning long, so I think all of her AM numbers are food influenced. Not sure if this helps :smile:

Hope your day goes quick and your boss is cooperative!
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna AMPS 394

Hi Rachel,
Lucy is an early diver, so every morning on work days, I've been checking +1 as well as +2.
For Lucy, these early tests do tell something. (= how late I am going to be for work. :lol: )

There was one time I shot a 77.
And by +1, she was already 23.
Didn't even give me a chance to steer her number from earning a reduction.

I think any test you can get at any time is better than not testing, especially before leaving.
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna AMPS 394

Trix is also usually an early diver, too. But yup, ECID....some kitties spike, then drop after 2 hours. And, of course they ALL like to shake things up once in a while and do the opposite of what they usually do, just to keep us from getting too comfy. I'm sure you'll get Chyna figured out quickly....the +1.5 definitely can be helpful when you do have to leave,

Have a great day, Rachel...I hop you're able to get some R&R in after all the craziness!
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna AMPS 394 +6 398

Hi Rachel:

Cinco is, of course, different from the others. He has been going up before going down (food spike, I guess?). Of course, I've never tested at less than +2, so I can't say for certain.

I hope your boss gives you some flexibility. Perhaps if you point out it would prevent you from being late or calling in??? ;-)

Hope your work day goes quickly and Chyna gives you some nice, safe numbers!
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna AMPS 394 +6 398

Good luck getting the dose/schedule figured out. Chyna does look like she needs to go back up to 4U, but tonight will be the 6th cycle after her low so any bounce should be cleared out by tomorrow.

You might want to try getting a few +1.5 at night instead of +2's to see if it tells you anything. Neko was always a late onsetter on Lantus, so a +3 told me more than a +2 did. A +2 just told me she was either going to go up or go down. :roll: :lol: Unless she was already starting low, then it did tell me a lot.
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna AMPS 394 +6 398 shot change w dose?

Ok...so yuck again on the PMPS :sad: . Should I go up to 4u again anyways, even though I'm moving her shot time over the next day? I don't want to leave her so high...I did tonights at 6:45pm and the morning at 6:30am and so on...to 6am on Friday morning.

~Carla, thanks for answering my question and your comments...no slide today, unless you count up :roll:
~Hi Jane, I didn't have time again to talk to my boss but at least with this shifting dose time I can get a +1.5. She does get a mini meal every 3 hours so fuds spikes aren't so bad for us...maybe the +1.5 will be enough.
~Thanks Mariko, Chyna seems to do both...early dive, or late dive depending on her mood :shock: . I'm glad to know about early tests and see some data :-D
~Hi Amy, they do like being opposite don't they? No R&R for me yet...ack. Maybe tonight...
~Thanks Tricia, well the numbers are safe if you are ok with high :? . I am hoping I will have time to broach the subject at some point but we were so busy all day. I have a list of things to do in the morning already...
~Hi Wendy, thank you, I will be trying to check at +1.5 evenings to see...it's nice to know if they will go up or down ;-)

Well, pee trap is set for ketones testing, and it's time for the bean to eat. I'm sorry I missed so many condos this week, I will try to visit some more later tonight :-D
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna PMPS 463 +1.5 455 shot change w dose?

Take a look at Gabby's SS. Because she can dive early, I test at +1, +2, +3 and often +4.
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna PMPS 463 +1.5 455 shot change w dose?

ordinarily i would say don't mix moving back in time with an increase, but really, she would've gone to 4.0u on 2/17. I'm thinking you were probably letting the depot drain so that you weren't fighting low numbers.

yes, i think you could go back to 4.0u in the morning. i would.
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna PMPS 463 +1.5 455 shot change w dose?

Thanks Sienne, I will check it out. I've noticed her dives :o

Hi Julie, thanks, I think I may go up then tomorrow although I will be working/not able to monitor...the reason I did the half shot on the 17th AM was I was worried about the depot, and I went down a full unit reducie in the PM since I went back to work on the 18th and was worried about those two giant drops in two days and me being stuck at work with no way to tell :sad:. I guess she showed me that 3.5 is too low so we'll try 4! nailbite_smile

We had pee/negative ketones :-D , and our (ouchie and angry) cartrophen shot just now, poor girl, it seems to really bother her when her BG is high to get shots and those big subq type needles, big mean bean did it anyways despite the mrowing cat(2)_steam .
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna PMPS 463 +1.5 455 shot change w dose?

Oh Chyna...you're in trouble! :o Mamabean is talking about that dosecrease thingy. nailbite_smile You better get your hiney down from the rafters and start giving her pretty blues and greens. Sorry to see these numbers, Rachel. Hope she has a slide down tonight and hope you get the shot time changed over.
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna PMPS 463 +1.5 455 shot change w dose?

i know cartrophen is the Canadian equivalent of Adequan - i'm wondering about the needles. Others have mentioned the big needles too. I used the same u-100 syringes for Adequan for punkin - i want to say he got 25u (ml) or so. Can't you use the same syringes that you use for insulin?

just feeling sorry for the little girl. i wouldn't like it either. :sad:

it is better to give too little insulin - i've done the same thing. sometimes you have to and without a crystal ball, you just make your best call on it. i'm not criticizing, just thinking out loud for you on why i was saying i'd support the dose increase at the same time as you're adjusting the time. :-D Also why that advice would work for you at this time, while it might not be a good choice for someone else lurking and reading your posts. ;-)
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna PMPS 463 +1.5 455 shot change w dose?

Sorry about the cartrophen ouchie. :sad: We had ours today too so we are back in sync again. ;-)

@Julie - Cartrophen by the vial only lasts 3 months (according to the manufacturer) so it's not cost effective to buy it if you are only giving tiny bits once a month. So for kitties, the vetty just sells a prefilled syringe. I have transferred it over to a U-100 syringe, but it's a pain. Rachel does switch to smaller needles but they still aren't as good as the U-100 ones.

I agree with Julie - with numbers like these, a 15 minute change in shot time shouldn't make too much of a difference on the increase.

Woohoo on neg ketones - good catch. :-D
 
Re: 2/19 Chyna PMPS 463 +1.5 455 shot change w dose?

Hi Deborah, thanks...I don't know if she'll slide without that dosecrease but maybe she will listen to her auntie ;-)

Thanks again Julie, I know others read and you clarify, I'm happy for the advice :-D . I do change out the needle tip the vet gives me (those icky monoject 18g) for a 21g Terumo that we use for subqs which usually goes in no problem and I put it in the freezer the day before her shot. I feel so bad that it was an ouchie tonight :oops: :cry: . I haven't tried pulling it up into an insulin syringe...not sure how, lol. And I'm not sure if she'd sit long enough for me to push that plunger :shock: . These poor kitties and the things they put up with from their beans. All for love...

Edit: Hi Wendy, you posted as I was writing I guess. Good to be in sync again, :lol: . Thanks for the input on the dose.


If she's going to dive again, she'd better darn well wait for the weekend ohmygod_smile :lol:
 
Aww, poor Chyna. She's had quite the week, hasn't she? Then an ouchie shot to top it off. :o No wonder she's grumpy. cat(2)_steam I would be, too.

Good luck with the dosecrease, should you decide to go that route. It is so hard, trying to figure out what is best, when they keep moving the target! It would be easier if we didn't care so much, but then, if we didn't care this much, our kitties probably wouldn't be here with us. :?

Sending hugs. Sounds like you could use some. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top