2/19 Charlie pmps 153 +2 74 +2.5 54 +2.75 54 +2.9 49 +3 51 +3.25 43 +3.5 34 +3.75 52

Status
Not open for further replies.
His tooth must have really been bothering him, he was always a night time snuggle bug, but he has not been for 6mos+. Now he is hogging the pillow at some point every night since his extraction.
 
Whoa there Charlie! come up for daddy bean now, thats low enough. Congrats on the reducie! Charlies done with that dose.:woot:
No reduction yet, 4 more points, charlie has been diabetic over a yr so I wait till under 40 for reduction, but thanks we should be there in the next 15min
 
One thing I think you're mis-understanding though Darin.....Yes Charlie is a long term diabetic but that doesn't mean you just keep letting him drop until he gets into the 30's

For long term diabetics, it's 3 times in the 40's OR one drop into the 30's to earn the reduction. So when they drop into the 40's, you still want to go ahead and bring them up, not wait until they drop lower. That can be really dangerous

If a cat is ready to earn a reduction, they'll drop into the 40's 3 times fairly quickly and earn it
 
@Darin & Charlie were you giving LC food to Charlie during his drop? I am just trying to learn for future.
Normally I feed 1oz raw diet I make my self its probably less then 3% carbs @ ps, +2, +4. At +2 he had dropped by half so I added .4oz of 15% med carb to his +2 meal to slow him down, its really a game to see how different carb food affect the insulin action, I played around with his feedings in the beginning and this is what seemed to work best for Charlie ecid.
 
If you look at my 2014 SS, I tested lots in the beginning so I could get to know how Charlie would react to food and the insulin and try to find a pattern, all I found out was 2 + 2 does not always = 4 with feline diabetes. And what works for charlie may not work for sami.
 
For Charlie,mid be trying to anticipate the low numbers and prope them up before they get there so he can spend more time in healing numbers. If you let him earn a reduction when he's still got such high, bouncy numbers, he will just look worse. You do need to reduce him now with that 34 but I wouldn't be surprised if you might have to take him back up at some time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top