2/19 Billie PMPS 151 +2.5 109 +3.5 75 +5 85 Vacation Dose Question Again!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello LL!!

Last condo (2/7): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-7-billie-pmps-251-2-5-103-3-25-72-3-75-67-4-5-98.132713

I hope everyone is doing well! We have been doing well over here. I have been a little busy, but Billie and Brooklyn are good! No coughing. Still loving the inhaler. Plenty of playing and purring!

I am going out of town tomorrow through Monday and I am wondering about a vacation dose for Billie. She is currently at 1.5u. If I wasn't going out of town, I would actually want to increase right now based on the past few days - lots of blue with yellow PS numbers and no pink which is cool, but only one blip of green. So I'm thinking maybe she doesn't need much of a vacation reduction, but then again, she has been known to pull some crazy stunts out of nowhere.

My boyfriend will be watching the girls. He is comfortable testing and will test at PS times, but he works long shifts sometimes during the day and sometimes overnight, so he usually can't get mid-cycle tests. He will be leaving lots of food out. Billie generally eats well when she is dropping, but then again, if she is in deep nap mode, she doesn't always wake up to eat. I am unsure of what to do, and any thoughts are welcome! Thank you!!!

PS: I will be setting up the webcams that I used last time I went away so I can peek in at the girls again! :cat:
 
I might just go to a 1.25u while you're gone.

What do you mean only one blip of green? she's had quite a few green nadir cycles on this dose, but only one that i see where the potential for going under 50 was there - the day you were headed out and gave her some gravy at 50, then DBF rechecked her in a half hour.

Let's see if others add their 2 cents worth too!

Hope you're doing something fun, Deanna!
 
Hi Julie! Thank you for responding! I just meant that in the past 6ish days, she has only hit green once, and that might make me wonder about an increase if I wasn't about to travel. She has been doing well on this dose in general though, and I do like her latest pattern since she's spending a lot of time in blue and not going super high.

1.25 sounds like a good option. Thank you!

I am doing something fun! I'm going to Florida with my parents!
 
Thank you all very much!! I will post when I get back to let you know how it went. I'm trying not to be too nervous about leaving. I know that Billie would prefer to stay home than be my "carry on" on a long plane ride.
 
Hi Deanna!

Good to hear from you and Billie. Not that you need my advice, but I agree with the others about the vacation dose. Better to have her run a little high than risk her going too low and cause your DBF to feel guilty for not being able to watch her.

Have fun in Florida!
 
No dosing advice (although I left Polly for a couple days back in August and dropped her dose while I was gone; worked fine)

Just want to say: Have a great time!!!! And good weather.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Thank you Tricia and Marilyn!! I appreciate the visits!

I think Billie is throwing us a curveball tonight. She started at a PMPS of 151 and went down to a +2.5 of 109...I'm wondering if she is going to earn her vacation reduction! If she does go under 50 or close to 50, should I go with 1u as a vacation dose instead of 1.25? I gave her the usual 1.5 tonight (although it was a little skinny thanks to a stubborn bubble).

Tomorrow PM will be her first unmonitored cycle (and she'll be getting that shot about 2 hours late to get on DBF's schedule), so I figured if I start the reduced dose tomorrow AM, that will drain the depot enough. I guess I'll see what she has in store tonight. I just wanted to post an update since I think there might be a plot twist!
 
The other trick you can do is skip a shot to drain the depot, should Billie decide to earn a reduction tonight. Or a half dose. And I'd start her vacation dose tomorrow morning, regardless of what she does tonight.
 
Well, she went green, but she didn't go far. She ate her regular food well, grazing maybe once an hour for the first few hours. Good stuff, Billie. Considering tonight's movement, is 1.25 still a good vacation dose? I just want to double check since tonight's cycle was more active than the past few. Thank you!!
 
I think if you would relax more and not worry if she was on less than 1.25u, then reduce to 1u.

Have a wonderful time!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top