2/18 Willow PMPS~? home from er vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Complick8d

Member Since 2009
[*]Last post: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=36967

WCR: Still not eating well. My mom gave his shot tonight because I wasn't home. Unfortunately I thought about reducing the dose after the fact. I walked in at +4 to find him at 43 which the majority of his food still in his dish. I'm starting to wonder in general if the s2u is too high for him, but the 1.75 seems too low. Or maybe he's just not use to the lower numbers. I don't know. He's reminding me a little of when he was overdosed by the vet and stopped eating. There doesn't seem to be a happy medium. I'm rambling.

Update: +4.25~46 Have the food sitting him while he's laying down in front of me and it seems to be encouraging eating.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39

+4~43
+4.25~46
+4.5~39 He's trying to bury his food and hide.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39

jordan, if he won't eat you might have to rub a little karo on his gums. the karo is only a temporary measure. you'll have to get some food into him.
block off any places he can hide in. you'll have to be able to get to him in order to continue testing. his numbers could bobble up and down for awhile. you may have to get him to eat more.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39

I think we're heading to the ER vet... he's down to 37... my timing is all off... its actually +5 Ive put honey on his gums... but his belly feels super bloated
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39

At vet now. He's only up to 40 something. Is there anyway my SS can be emailed to me? Or I can get the link for it. I'm having trouble accessing it from my phone. [removed email addy] They want to keep him overnigjt but I have no money for this.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39

does the link work for you?
my only other alternative is to send it as an email attachment viewable in Excel.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39

He's on a drip and his bg isn't coming up. Now they just came back to collectpaymet and since I don't have it, they said they'll only do minimal treatment and send him home.... estimate is $352.99 and I thinly that's without him staying here.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39

i can see if there are any LLEF members around, but it might take time to raise the funds... not to mention, it's late. not sure if anyone is still up. do you have a credit card you can put the bill on?
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39

I got thr link to work. Thanks . They're acting like I've done something wrong. Already been lectured about food.I
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39 at er vet

Not much... one tech said she didnt feel anything. they're just trying to get his bg up.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39 at er vet

My cc's are maxed. I have my rent check in the car but I can't do anything with that til tomorrow. They said they'll.give me til Monday AM to pay the bill... but if he needs to be hospitalized I'm screwed
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39 at er vet

i put out a call to any LLEF members who might be hanging out on FB to check out your thread. not sure if anyone is still up. i think you'll have to ask for assistance in the morning.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39 at er vet

Thanks Jill. Emergencies meet happen at convenient times. My phones dying and they haven't updated me on willow.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39 at er vet

I hope Willow will be ok very soon and he doesn't need hospitalization. Hang in there.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39 at er vet

jordan, the other day you had some concerns about willow's numbers looking so good all of a sudden. you might want to mention this to them just in case there's something else going on in addition to the low numbers... especially since you mentioned willow seemed like he was bloated tonight.
 
Re: 2/18 Willow PMPS~?, +4~43, +4.25~46, +4.5~39 at er vet

jordan, watch for an email from one of the members of the LLEF committee.
update us when you can, please...
 
I'd like to thank the ER vet for making me feel like the most incompetent micromanaging piece of trash. Thanks to them for the unwelcome diet suggestions. Thanks for all the opinions that I'm sure they'll be sharing with my vet in the morning so that I can hear from the vet how much she disapproves. And thanks for charging $69.00 just to check his bg, but then not taking the time to check for ketones because that would cost more and you're only doing the "bare minimum". This has been a GREAT night.

Sorry for the vent. They think I'm nuts about the bloating. According to their scales he was 12lbs, 4oz... thats well over 1lb from a few weeks ago and this is with him barely eating. They sent him home with the cath in his leg still.

Thank you to everyone for the well wishes. My head is killing me right now. I can barely sleep right now. They got Willow up to 429 after the drip but they warned that he'd probably drop in 4 hours (where she came up with that number, I don't know... but Willow will surprise me if he keeps his BG up for 2 hours!). I've been up since 5:30am and I don't see sleep happening anytime soon. I now fill like I need to collect all the info to back up what I've been doing with Willow and I'm honestly too tired to even think of what I need to present to the vet so that she'll understand where his dosecreases etc have come from and why I wont feed MD. I feel like I'm on trial.
 
i'm so sorry you were treated like that.

yes, you'll have to monitor willow. we know how he can zoom up or down... faster than the speed of light.
that weight gain is concerning, especially since you noticed that he was bloated. i'd get him to your regular vet first thing in the morning. make sure you tell your vet about the unusual numbers, the weight gain, and the bloating, k?

try to take a nap for a couple of hours before having to test willow again...
 
(((((Jordan))))) it sounds to me like the bloating is the main issue that needs to be addressed. I'm sorry they beat you up over the diabetes, which you are managing the best you can. Unfortunately it seems typical that when a diabetic (human or cat) goes to the doctor, the diabetes is all the doctor wants to focus on. The same thing happens to my mom.

I hope you and Willow are doing better this morning.
 
I'm sorry the ER vet was being such a dolt. Perhaps when yo speak with your vet, you can point out that they weren't listening to your concern will help them get past the FD.
 
Jordan, a number of us syringe feed our cats through inappetance. Have you ever syringe fed Willow? How many days has it been that she hasn't been eating as much as normal? Is she pooping and peeing okay? Did you change anything at all? Food, litter, any stress in the home (that she perceives as stressful)?
 
I am sorry you had such a hard time with the ER vet. It does not help your stress about a sick kittie when the doc acts like a jerk. Hope you were able to get some sleep and are feeling better. I am thinking of you.

Pattie
 
I'm thinking about you, too, Jordan. I hope Willow is feeling better, today, and that your regular vet will listen to your concerns about the bloating. I'm sorry, you had such a bad experience at the ER. Jerks! treating my friend like that!
 
Hi Jorden...just stopping in to see what's going on w/Willow, I'm so sorry that your ER visit was such a crappy one. Just remember that you know Willow better then they do. If you have concerns in regards to the bloating, make sure that your vet hears your concerns.

I hope Willow is doing better today and that you got some well needed rest.
 
The LLEF has been in contact with Jordan, and is running a fundraiser for the costs of her vet visits last night and today. I am sure that Jordan will be updating shortly, but our understanding is that Willow will be coming home with meds for appetite, pain, and nausea. Willow is in a lot of pain. Severe pancreatitis is suspected, and liver values are elevated. Further tests are pending.

If you would like to donate via Paypal, the address is lantusemergencyfund@gmail.com. Please include a note with your FDMB name and the name of the kitty you are donating to, for accounting purposes.

For more info, please click on the LLEF link in my signature.

Thank you in advance for your help. Let's let Jordan concentrate on helping Willow heal, while we help her with her vet bill.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top