2/18 Shadow B's +3=307, +6=381, +9.5=434 PMPS 506, +2=472, +3=456, +6=449, +9.5=477

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowsMom

Member Since 2014
Restarting condos today.

AMPS (PMPS+11.5) 416, +3=307, +6=381, +9=434 PMPS 506, +2=472, +3= 456, +6=449, +9.5=477

Yesterday's values AMPS 387, +3 149, +7=263, PMPS 531, +3=349, +6=387, +9.5=422

I'm shifting his feeding schedule back by an hour to ensure that I can get all the necessary food into him every morning. I moved him back by half an hour today and will do so again tomorrow.

He's having a pretty good morning. His breathing is still slightly labored and rapid, but he doesn't seem to be in any distress. We have an echocardiogram scheduled for Friday, but are keeping an eye on his condition to make sure it doesn't worsen.

I hope to see a decent drop today since he did so yesterday.

Positive vines going out to all you in LL... It's good to be back.
 
Last edited:
Sorry to hear Shadow is having such a hard time of it as of late. I had a cat with IBD and it was horrible. We ended up giving him supplements that really seemed to help. Here is a link to the article that we read. We didn't give Mickey all of the supplements listed but we did give him Slippery Elm, Licorice, and Marshmallow. We found them all at the health food store and they were not that expensive. We would just sprinkle a little of each on his food. We also gave all the cats Forta Flora as well as Cosequin.
 
That is something I didn't add to my response to you. It really helped getting two autofeeders (one for AM cycle and one for PM cycle) and giving him smaller meals throughout the cycle not only helped with his IBD but to bring his numbers down as well. The +9 snack is a life saver and I truly believe that lil kick his pancreas gets from that is what has helped keep Skooter in such good numbers. I notice when he doesn't get that (an accidental experiement) his numbers went higher
 
Thanks for the link, Tina. I'll look into that. We are already giving him FortiFlora and he's been getting B-12 for years now, due to his CRF. And I wish I could use an auto feeder, Molly, but Shadow is syringe fed at this point. He's really exceptional in that he puts up no resistance to his feedings and has no food aversion. I could definitely feed throughout the cycle and was feeding just after the PS's, +1, +3 and +4 when he had a normal +6 nadir, but it's shifted forward and he drops at around +3 now, so I'm pushing to get more food into him early. I've only been doing this for a few cycles, so we are still waiting to see how that checks out. I'm also working on moving his PS's an hour earlier so that I have more time to feed on those days when I need to leave in the mornings. Between the change to the high carb diet (over the next week), the increased volume (he will need 1.75 cans of the new food instead of 1.5) and squeezing more feedings in before his early nadir, I have no idea of how high he's going to go. Would it be best for me to hold him at this dose until we get the new higher carb diet worked out and he's producing more stable curves? Any advice would be welcomed.

I can't believe that I'm looking forward to YELLOW numbers. :(
 
Last edited:
Just did the math - I need to add a full 30cc's (2 Tbs) to his feedings in order to make sure he gets the same number of calories as he does currently. I think I may need to add another feeding at +3 after all because I don't see getting that much food into him in such a short amount of time. So I guess I have yet ANOTHER question - Would it be better to spread out his feedings a bit more to take it easy on his pancreas or to try to fit everything in as close to his nadir as possible? Maybe split the difference and feed the remaining 2 Tbs over the middle portion of his cycle? I'm so sorry if I'm being a pest. I'm just worried... and confused... and impatient as all get out. Where can I buy some patience pants?
 
I hope the switch to the new food goes smoothly and you can find a good dose to keep Shadow in good numbers. I hope the test on Friday gives you some answers.

This should bump you up and hopefully someone can give you an answer about his dose.
 
With those numbers I think I would increase, especially since you're going to higher carb food rather than the other way around.

I would also save some of the food for +9 to spread it out a bit more and because a lot of people have some success at lowering the next PS with a +9 snack

But let's see what others think
 
Thanks, Vyktors Mum, for the input. I'm giving him 1 tsp at +9ish. Would it be ok to go to 2 tsp? Egads... even MORE questions! (Edited due to mistake in conversion)
 
Last edited:
If you can do the +9, I am a HUGE fan of it. I think I might have mentioned in a previous post, but it has really really made a difference for him.


As for feeding at +10, depends on how carb sensitive they are. If I remember correctly, normally you don't want to feed two hours before shot time so the test you get is not influenced by food. But if you gotta do what ya gotta do.
 
OOPS! My bad... I was thinking 5cc's (1 tsp) and bumping THAT to 10cc, not to a +10 feeding time. Would that be ok?

And just to summarize: Should I bump him up since we are shifting him to a high carb prescription food? Would that be 0.25 or 0.50u in this case? Can I spread out his last 2 TBS over the middle of his cycle post nadir? And would a 2 tsp snack at +9ish be acceptable? Again, I apologize for all the questions. Shadow is just so fragile right now and I really want to avoid ketones since he won't tolerate extra fluids if they should need to treat. I'm just a worried cat mom.
 
Last edited:
It's been more than 6 cycles at this dose since you've seen green and you've started feeding him the high carb food, I too think you can increase. If you think it would help Shadow's GI system to feed a little later in the system, you can always try it. Maybe feed some of the lower carb food then while it's still part of what he's eating. We have lots of diabetic cats that are grazers that feed past nadir.
 
It looks like his nadirs on the new food are above 300, so according to TRP he got a 0.50 dosecrease. I'll be up to monitor him all night so I'll be sure he stays safe. Thanks again for the advice. I've decided to feed him 90cc before his nadir and then space out the remaining 30cc over the course of his mid-cycle to keep his tummy happy. Right now we are just under 25% high carb in his mix but we will go up to around 35% tomorrow evening. We will just have to wait and see. I HATE THAT. ;)

Well, it looks like tight testing won't be necessary tonight. I was expecting a reaction similar to when he was first diagnosed. Here's hoping tomorrow brings better numbers.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top