? 2/18 Pudge Does Mirataz need to be tapered down?.. AMPS 152 +2.75 110 +4 109

kitten68

Member Since 2024
2/17/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

..sigh. 😰 i feel terrible the poor cat might’ve been a bit nauseous still off and on this past month.. and because there were so many things we had to implement.. and he would eat ok generally w just the Cerenia and Mirataz.. i thought he was generally ok w just that. and im sure/know i was told to maybe add it too but i was downloading so much info lol and because he would eat i couldnt tell.. but the Mirataz might've had something to do w that. 😭 now more familiar using the Zofran.. since i needed to try it, and the B12 yesterday had him feeling quite improved, and tho he was doing pretty good w.o Zofran yesterday, just able to maybe really put the brains on it and absorb the advice.. decided whenever next if he went off food, give some Zofran first….. maybe him going off food was more nausea and Cerenia not enough.. so did today, gave him a Zofran (4 mg tab) and waited the 30-45 min, and… he ate.. 🥲🥲🥲❤️‍🩹

will still keep an eye on.. but if we can avoid using Mirtaz, id rather. irritates his ears a bit (tho ive noticed when i regularly clean the ears from residue and for prep, that helps) and a PAIN in my can for testing.. and for him. makes his little ears thin. also told it can cause ulcers in the ears (woof!! thinking regularly removing old residue will prevent that.. good to keep up with.) but am glad to have it on hand still for whenever next it maybe needed..

just sigh. my poor cat. its a learning curve.. just stinky. maybe he was kinda ok, but glad to get rid of all nausea as much as possible.. glad he didnt go off his food harshly etc and just sorry it didn't click earlier. maybe was ok.. but still.. (not like the vets suggested this too.. use both.. but no surprise there 😂🤡.. theyre all about just Cerenia i seen/heard a lot..) so for time being, just use both?.. 😅🥰 gonna use Cerenia obviously and then do some of the Zofran 2-3 times a day as instructed?.. gonna see how he does.. 🥹..

just.. thank everyone so much for everything. Dont know where we’d be.. 🫶🏼❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥

so.. also successfully administered the B12.. and noticed he felt really well w that!! 🥹 doc is saying tho .4 mL 1-2x a week.. that amount AND twice a week too much? idk. @Suzanne & Darcy 🫶🏼.. have the Famotidine.. wondering if to try it.. have been encouraged to try it. 🫶🏼 i just dont want acid going too low.. acid also protects the stomach. 🫤 because potassium isnt showing improvement.. they thinking maybe got ulcers.. but idk. 🫠

what he needs tho is an antibiotic.. see if that takes care of it all to begin with. 😑……. sigh.

skipped his shot last night cuz the time had gone terribly late and i didnt want to be too sleepy.. and nugget did so good. 🥹 back to routine this AM..

(i also need to find 1cc syringes.. for the B12 and Famotidine, tho been told conversions using u100s.. and got quite a few of them of course. Ugh.. 🫶🏼
capsules supposed to be coming.. need to get the B complex..)
 
2/17/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

..sigh. 😰 i feel terrible the poor cat might’ve been a bit nauseous still off and on this past month.. and because there were so many things we had to implement.. and he would eat ok generally w just the Cerenia and Mirataz.. i thought he was generally ok w just that. and im sure/know i was told to maybe add it too but i was downloading so much info lol and because he would eat i couldnt tell.. but the Mirataz might've had something to do w that. 😭 now more familiar using the Zofran.. since i needed to try it, and the B12 yesterday had him feeling quite improved, and tho he was doing pretty good w.o Zofran yesterday, just able to maybe really put the brains on it and absorb the advice.. decided whenever next if he went off food, give some Zofran first….. maybe him going off food was more nausea and Cerenia not enough.. so did today, gave him a Zofran (4 mg tab) and waited the 30-45 min, and… he ate.. 🥲🥲🥲❤️‍🩹

will still keep an eye on.. but if we can avoid using Mirtaz, id rather. irritates his ears a bit (tho ive noticed when i regularly clean the ears from residue and for prep, that helps) and a PAIN in my can for testing.. and for him. makes his little ears thin. also told it can cause ulcers in the ears (woof!! thinking regularly removing old residue will prevent that.. good to keep up with.) but am glad to have it on hand still for whenever next it maybe needed..

just sigh. my poor cat. its a learning curve.. just stinky. maybe he was kinda ok, but glad to get rid of all nausea as much as possible.. glad he didnt go off his food harshly etc and just sorry it didn't click earlier. maybe was ok.. but still.. (not like the vets suggested this too.. use both.. but no surprise there 😂🤡.. theyre all about just Cerenia i seen/heard a lot..) so for time being, just use both?.. 😅🥰 gonna use Cerenia obviously and then do some of the Zofran 2-3 times a day as instructed?.. gonna see how he does.. 🥹..

just.. thank everyone so much for everything. Dont know where we’d be.. 🫶🏼❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥

so.. also successfully administered the B12.. and noticed he felt really well w that!! 🥹 doc is saying tho .4 mL 1-2x a week.. that amount AND twice a week too much? idk. @Suzanne & Darcy 🫶🏼.. have the Famotidine.. wondering if to try it.. have been encouraged to try it. 🫶🏼 i just dont want acid going too low.. acid also protects the stomach. 🫤 because potassium isnt showing improvement.. they thinking maybe got ulcers.. but idk. 🫠

what he needs tho is an antibiotic.. see if that takes care of it all to begin with. 😑……. sigh.

skipped his shot last night cuz the time had gone terribly late and i didnt want to be too sleepy.. and nugget did so good. 🥹 back to routine this AM..

(i also need to find 1cc syringes.. for the B12 and Famotidine, tho been told conversions using u100s.. and got quite a few of them of course. Ugh.. 🫶🏼
capsules supposed to be coming.. need to get the B complex..)
So glad he’s feeling better today. 👍
Hoping it all clicks into place. ❤️‍🩹
You’re doing so much trying to put the puzzle pieces together. And he’s such a sweet love. Doesn’t give you a a hard time at all 💕

What a little mush. Give him lots of kisses 😘

Just get in a routine to make sure you clean his ears the day after you’ve used Mirataz (write down which ear so you know to use the opposite the next day if using daily). And keep it clean so his ear doesn’t get irritated 🥰

Sending lots of vines and good wishes your way, you’re doing so great 😻🥰🙏👍💕💓❤️‍🩹🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍃
 
So glad he’s feeling better today. 👍
Hoping it all clicks into place. ❤️‍🩹
You’re doing so much trying to put the puzzle pieces together. And he’s such a sweet love. Doesn’t give you a a hard time at all 💕

What a little mush. Give him lots of kisses 😘

Just get in a routine to make sure you clean his ears the day after you’ve used Mirataz (write down which ear so you know to use the opposite the next day if using daily). And keep it clean so his ear doesn’t get irritated 🥰

Sending lots of vines and good wishes your way, you’re doing so great 😻🥰🙏👍💕💓❤️‍🩹🍃🍀🍃🍀🍃🍃
i feel terrible.. u mentioned, Wendy mentioned, others too mentioned… 😩 i think too at the time, the thought of having to give 2-3 pill pockets more a day stressed me.. cuz he was on the Zeniquin, other things, trying to figure out his Echo.. THE FLUIDS…. so maybe now just able to do it, have it occur… see.. 🥲💘 i still feel bad tho. 😂

i am right.. 🧩… we certainly are.. tysm for the kindness and encouragement… HUGSHUGSHUGSSSS and he generally does….. its like… 🥲❤️‍🔥

yes!! 🤩🫶🏼 that started when i did the same ear twice.. 🥲 so sad.. and i remember u told meee… nooo.. haha whelp. thats the way to do it! i been keeping a log about everything…. Ive had to! no possible way to remember everything and their times… 🫤🗒️

tysm!!!!! we appreciate it so much.. 💖💘❤️‍🔥💘💖❤️‍🔥.. same to u and little ivy!!! (any revelations yet on having to go up?.. its great tho her T4 is showing back down..)
 
i feel terrible.. u mentioned, Wendy mentioned, others too mentioned… 😩 i think too at the time, the thought of having to give 2-3 pill pockets more a day stressed me.. cuz he was on the Zeniquin, other things, trying to figure out his Echo.. THE FLUIDS…. so maybe now just able to do it, have it occur… see.. 🥲💘 i still feel bad tho. 😂

i am right.. 🧩… we certainly are.. tysm for the kindness and encouragement… HUGSHUGSHUGSSSS and he generally does….. its like… 🥲❤️‍🔥

yes!! 🤩🫶🏼 that started when i did the same ear twice.. 🥲 so sad.. and i remember u told meee… nooo.. haha whelp. thats the way to do it! i been keeping a log about everything…. Ive had to! no possible way to remember everything and their times… 🫤🗒️

tysm!!!!! we appreciate it so much.. 💖💘❤️‍🔥💘💖❤️‍🔥.. same to u and little ivy!!! (any revelations yet on having to go up?.. its great tho her T4 is showing back down..)
We do the best we can. You’re doing great!

I keep several logs for Ivy too. I couldn’t remote all. No way.
A pee and poop log. How much water consumer each cycle.
How much insulin given. if she ate well or not, meal and snacks.
My logs are exhausting but soooo helpful 💕💕💕
 
We do the best we can. You’re doing great!

I keep several logs for Ivy too. I couldn’t remote all. No way.
A pee and poop log. How much water consumer each cycle.
How much insulin given. if she ate well or not, meal and snacks.
My logs are exhausting but soooo helpful 💕💕💕
same!! Lol it has to be written down….. id forget. things happen and i forget. 🫤.

also.. only give the Mirataz.. if hes not eating?.. right? 😅🫠🫶🏼..

my brain is fried frm the last few weeks.. since hea been getting it every other day..
 
same!! Lol it has to be written down….. id forget. things happen and i forget. 🫤.

also.. only give the Mirataz.. if hes not eating?.. right? 😅🫠🫶🏼..

my brain is fried frm the last few weeks.. since hea been getting it every other day..
I would think if it seems his appetite is back to normal you could taper it down. That way you’re treating to see if it’s not needed any more.
I think @Albert & Xander is using a tiny dose every few days and that seems to keep Xander on track.

And @Allie & Gen may be giving a small maintenance dose too (I may be wrong)

You want to keep him eating consistently if possible, even if that’s a tiny dose when needed.
You’ll have to see what works to keep his appetite consistent ❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹
 
Yep! Xander is on a very small maintenance dose. He is notorious for having a low appetite drive, so whenever I start noticing him becoming less interested in food (but still eating and not showing obvious signs of nausea) i've been giving him a tiny dose. It's super effective for him, only taking an amount the size of a grain of rice to get him eating very well.
 
I would think if it seems his appetite is back to normal you could taper it down. That way you’re treating to see if it’s not needed any more.
I think @Albert & Xander is using a tiny dose every few days and that seems to keep Xander on track.

And @Allie & Gen may be giving a small maintenance dose too (I may be wrong)

You want to keep him eating consistently if possible, even if that’s a tiny dose when needed.
You’ll have to see what works to keep his appetite consistent ❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹
Oh dear! do i have to taper him off slowly then?.. yikes! 🫠 i was just not gonna give it to him if the Cerenia and Ondansetron are enough (????)
 
Yep! Xander is on a very small maintenance dose. He is notorious for having a low appetite drive, so whenever I start noticing him becoming less interested in food (but still eating and not showing obvious signs of nausea) i've been giving him a tiny dose. It's super effective for him, only taking an amount the size of a grain of rice to get him eating very well.
very cool! if its needed its needed.. im just wondering if we have to taper off after a months use.. that idk. 🫤
 
:::UPDATE:::

❓: Does Mirataz need to be tapered down after a months use?.. or we can just stop it? if i find that the Cerenia and Ondansetron are enough?.. 🥹🥲🫶🏼
 
❓: also hes still eating ok frm his dose this morning.. maybe a combination of all 3 too idk, but i gave it cause he seemed off food.. do i give another now? know it can be dosed 3-4 times a day.. this would be a span of 12 hrs inbetween.. so twice.. hear some just do it twice.. be proactive and give more? if so in that case hes due now.. or do i see how he does and wait? 🥲🤔🤔🤔🤔🫶🏼
 
You don’t need to taper Mirataz I have always found I don’t need an appetite stimulant when the nausea is gone. Mirataz does have minimum nausea control. If you find without it the appetite decreases you can always add it back. I keep notes on my phone listing meds given and symptom changes as it all gets blurred together otherwise.

You are doing a wonderful job with a complicated situation. Give yourself some credit.
 
You don’t need to taper Mirataz I have always found I don’t need an appetite stimulant when the nausea is gone. Mirataz does have minimum nausea control. If you find without it the appetite decreases you can always add it back. I keep notes on my phone listing meds given and symptom changes as it all gets blurred together otherwise.

You are doing a wonderful job with a complicated situation. Give yourself some credit.
💘💘 hii!!!! ty for letting me know.. exactly. that was my logic.. 🫠 now anyway.. *cries and ive been doing that exact same thing.. have to keep notes. 📝

tysm…… ❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥 ill try to do that.. haha. 😅🫠❤️‍🔥❤️‍🩹

might you have an opinion on the Zofran?.. last dose was around 11:45 am and hes still eating ok.. will be giving another snack now to see if its still soZ Chewy pharmacist advised like its been said that every 6-8 hrs is ok.. but im playing by ear if hes eating, and waiting.. WILL give another tho AM today (11:30..).. this days dose if anything..
 
Ondansetron can be given every 8 hours so 3 times a day, but many cats do fine on twice a day. My girl does great on once a day, but she seems to be an exception.

Keep eating, Pudge!
Ok!! 🥰🤩 will keep a 12/12 i guess?.. unless insee he might need it more?.. (afraid to put him off food but how else to know i guess..?)
 
Oh dear! do i have to taper him off slowly then?.. yikes! 🫠 i was just not gonna give it to him if the Cerenia and Ondansetron are enough (????)
I wasn’t sure so I’m glad Elise clarified.
My vet tends to have me taper down on meds and stop one thing at a time to see if there’s a change.
Then you can add back if still needed.
 
💘💘 hii!!!! ty for letting me know.. exactly. that was my logic.. 🫠 now anyway.. *cries and ive been doing that exact same thing.. have to keep notes. 📝

tysm…… ❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥 ill try to do that.. haha. 😅🫠❤️‍🔥❤️‍🩹

might you have an opinion on the Zofran?.. last dose was around 11:45 am and hes still eating ok.. will be giving another snack now to see if its still soZ Chewy pharmacist advised like its been said that every 6-8 hrs is ok.. but im playing by ear if hes eating, and waiting.. WILL give another tho AM today (11:30..).. this days dose if anything..
Zofran does not last a long time in cats. When I was first using it many years ago I did not know that nor did vets. With Max I started too low and not often enough. He did okay on every 12 hours but knowing what I now know at least every 8 hours makes the most sense. When Chai needed it I was giving every 12 hours at first because I was not feeding overnight. When I went to every 6-8 she was eating like her normal piggy self. It made a huge difference. When I decreased I cut out the late night dose first. It does not need to be tapered. I just wanted to do that to make sure she was ready to eliminate it.
 
I doubt if you should take him off Mirataz at all? Why? You can play around with the frequency of it. If he’s currently getting it daily then try every other day. If he’s getting it every other day then you can try every third day. If his appetite declines then go back to giving it more frequently. There is no medical requirement to taper off Mirataz (or Mirtazapine pills for that matter.) You can stop cold turkey, but I don’t think you really want to do it that way because he may stop eating.
 
Back
Top