2/18 Phoenix AMBG 51 Should I reduce insulin?

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I am holding off giving Phoenix his insulin until his BG goes up. I did feed him his breakfast after checking his AMPS. Phoenix's BG has always continued to drop until I feed him.
Has Phoenix earned an insulin reduction? I have had him on TR this month. He has stayed at 10 units longer because of 3 fur shots in 1 week. I fed him a snack earlier this morning at +9 when his BG was 128. At + 11 it was 117.
 
Your SS says he was 117 at +10? He ate at +10 or 11, so this number is food influenced?
He ate a + 10 when his BG was 128. It was actually at 4:30 a. m. His AMPS was at 7 a.m. I realize now that I probably shouldn't have fed him.
 
It has been 30 minutes since his AMPS. Phoenix's BG is now 65. I am still holding off on his insulin until he goes up to 80.
 
If it has been 3 hours since his last meal and he is going up, you can shoot. You are home to monitor?
No, I fed him his breakfast after I checked his AMPS. If I hadn't, he would have continued to fall. I am going to check his BG again in 10 minutes.
 
Susan, as it says you fed at AMPS, any number you get after that amps (+12 ) of 51 will be food influenced. You will need to wait till +14 before you shoot, to shoot before that would not be safe.
On SLGS you do not normally shoot anything below 90 (have you changed from SLGS/adapted slgs)

I don't really know Phoenix's history, how he got to a 10, or if there are other conditions at play here that would see him with higher than normal dose.

I would recommend you skip (as long as he hasn't had DKA) with his BG being food influenced after that +12, you may get yourself into deep water.

With him being on a large lantus dose the depot will also be large and when that gets full it can be like stopping a train, additionally other factors that lead to kitties having high doses can cause their insulin needs to dip.
 
Being two whole hours of schedule will be a pain to get back to your normal schedule.
Skipping will drain the depot a bit, and one advantage of a large dose is a large depot, so they often handle the skips better than a kitty on a low dose
 
Susan, as it says you fed at AMPS, any number you get after that amps (+12 ) of 51 will be food influenced. You will need to wait till +14 before you shoot, to shoot before that would not be safe.
On SLGS you do not normally shoot anything below 90 (have you changed from SLGS/adapted slgs)

I don't really know Phoenix's history, how he got to a 10, or if there are other conditions at play here that would see him with higher than normal dose.

I would recommend you skip (as long as he hasn't had DKA) with his BG being food influenced after that +12, you may get yourself into deep water.

With him being on a large lantus dose the depot will also be large and when that gets full it can be like stopping a train, additionally other factors that lead to kitties having high doses can cause their insulin needs to dip.
Phoenix is on TR not SLGS. I am now really confused as to what to do. If I skip his insulin, I know Phoenix's BG will go up in the 400's in a few hours.
 
Phoenix is on TR not SLGS. I
You need to change that on your signature that's where I looked, I didn't see it on the SS because I was looking at the numbers.

I know Phoenix's BG will go up in the 400's in a few hours.
The problem is you have fed. So any number you get now is food influenced.

When you get a low like that at the end of the cycle, you want to wait and see if they go up on their own without food, you can give them a teaspoon of LC to see if that helps, but with a full breakfast on board, you cannot trust the numbers you get now.

Test him now, see where he is at
 
His numbers were falling into PS even though you gave a snack at +10 last night.
If he doesn't bounce it has the potential to be a very active cycle, and you would need to be monitoring very closely (unless he bounces, which he may do given his history)
I just saw the 89, so that's a reasonable food bump, it doesn't look like he has started a bounce yet.

If you don't want to skip, maybe shooting a reduced dose may be an alternative, 5 o 6u perhaps? The first half of the cycle will still likely be active because of the very large depot of his dose so you will need to monitor him very closely, if you are not able to do this, I still think the skip would be the better option.
 
His numbers were falling into PS even though you gave a snack at +10 last night.
If he doesn't bounce it has the potential to be a very active cycle, and you would need to be monitoring very closely (unless he bounces, which he may do given his history)
I just saw the 89, so that's a reasonable food bump, it doesn't look like he has started a bounce yet.

If you don't want to skip, maybe shooting a reduced dose may be an alternative, 5 o 6u perhaps? The first half of the cycle will still likely be active because of the very large depot of his dose so you will need to monitor him very closely, if you are not able to do this, I still think the skip would be the better option.
What would be your best advice? I am retired and can monitor Phoenix as needed. Would it be better to wait 2 hours since I fed him and then give him his insulin? If so, should I reduce his dose by .25 ?
Or would it be better to give him 5 or 6 units now? I am afraid if I reduce his dose by that much, his BG is going to go way up. He always goes up to mid or high 200's every day even after his 10 unit injection. I am going to check his BG now.
 
Phoenix is now at 86 BG. It has been one and a half hours since he ate. I still haven't given him his insulin injection.
 
As Gill said, when you feed at AMBG, we wait two hours to test and shoot. If it’s just been 1.5 hours, I’d wait another half hour and test and see where he is.

Since you are retired, being off by two hours shouldn’t be an issue, is it? If he bounces, we can make up an hour of the time but if he doesn’t, it’s going to be by 1/2 hour a day. I don’t know if your sleep schedule will allow that.
 
Phoenix is now at 104 BG. It has been 2 hours since he has eaten. My schedule is flexible so it is no problem. Should I go ahead and give his insulin and how much should I give him? Thanks all of you for your help. I would be lost without you.
 
Phoenix is now at 104 BG. It has been 2 hours since he has eaten. My schedule is flexible so it is no problem. Should I go ahead and give his insulin and how much should I give him? Thanks all of you for your help. I would be lost without you.
You’ve shot a 90 before with 10u. Normally, we don’t stall two hours and shoot a reduced dose but he’s on a pretty high dose with a large depot. If you hadn’t shot lower with this dose, I’d recommend a reduced dose.

As long as you are there to test and you have all the supplies you need, you can shoot 10u. One other thing to consider...if you had to get to an Vet ER, can you?
 
No, I can't get to a vet right now. No one in my area of Texas can. Our roads are impassable due to ice and snow. It has been a horrible week. We had a 135 car pileup earlier this week. I have been without heat or electricity for 2 days. I had pipes burst yesterday even though most of us kept our water dripping. The water companies kept reducing their flow thus reducing your dripping faucets. If you didn't notice it quickly, our pipes froze.
 
You’ve shot a 90 before with 10u. Normally, we don’t stall two hours and shoot a reduced dose but he’s on a pretty high dose with a large depot. If you hadn’t shot lower with this dose, I’d recommend a reduced dose.

As long as you are there to test and you have all the supplies you need, you can shoot 10u. One other thing to consider...if you had to get to an Vet ER, can you?
Would it be safe to give his full dose since I can't get to a vet? I am sorry to put you all in this position but the circumstances at the moment are unusual. I do not want to skip a dose.
 
Phoenix is now at 92 BG at two and a half hours after eating. What do all of you think? Should I skip or give a reduced dose?
Sorry, it has been a terrible week. The ice on the inside of my windows was over an inch and a half thick. They told us to get to shelters but the roads were impassable and they would not take pets.
 
Phoenix is now at 92 BG at two and a half hours after eating. What do all of you think? Should I skip or give a reduced dose?
Sorry, it has been a terrible week. The ice on the inside of my windows was over an inch and a half thick. They told us to get to shelters but the roads were impassable and they would not take pets.
At this point, I’d skip. He’s got a large depot. I know you don’t want to but without being able to get out, and we don’t typically shoot more than two hours late, it’s the safest thing.

Please be sure and change your subject line to AMBG 92. If we don’t shoot or are stalling, we use AMBG and PMBG instead of AMPS and PMPS. Thanks. Stay warm.
 
Phoenix is now at 92 BG at two and a half hours after eating. What do all of you think? Should I skip or give a reduced dose?
Sorry, it has been a terrible week. The ice on the inside of my windows was over an inch and a half thick. They told us to get to shelters but the roads were impassable and they would not take pets.

I am so sorry, neighbor. I almost feel guilty for being one of the luckier ones to keep power. Lost city water for a day. Things are still very worrisome regarding more pipes bursting. The most unusual thing for me, is how all the snow and ice came, and has just stayed. Around here usually, snow appears, then disappears just as fast.
 
I do hate to skip a dose but I agree, it would be better to skip. Thank you all for your help. It has been a very trying week.

My house has open concept where my living room, dining room and kitchen are all open. My only source of heat was the burners on top of the stove. Now I know why the earlier generations had rooms with doors. They could warm up the kitchen with the stove and their living rooms with fireplaces. Sorry for getting off topic.
 
I am so sorry, neighbor. I almost feel guilty for being one of the luckier ones to keep power. Lost city water for a day. Things are still very worrisome regarding more pipes bursting. The most unusual thing for me, is how all the snow and ice came, and has just stayed. Around here usually, snow appears, then disappears just as fast.
I am worried about your pipes if you lost water for a day. Do you have water now? It is when your pipes start thawing out that the leaks show up. It is still below freezing and that is why the ice and snow have not melted.
I used to live up in Lubbock Texas where it is very cold. All of us kept heat tape on our pipes to prevent them from freezing. But you still need electricity or a generator for that to work.
 
I do hate to skip a dose but I agree, it would be better to skip. Thank you all for your help. It has been a very trying week.

My house has open concept where my living room, dining room and kitchen are all open. My only source of heat was the burners on top of the stove. Now I know why the earlier generations had rooms with doors. They could warm up the kitchen with the stove and their living rooms with fireplaces. Sorry for getting off topic.
You don’t have a fireplace? I’m from Ft. Worth and two of my sisters are still there although one lives in the country. She’s had elect and water off and on; the other had had no issues. They both have fireplaces to help. What are you doing for heat if you don’t have electricity?
 
I am worried about your pipes if you lost water for a day. Do you have water now? It is when your pipes start thawing out that the leaks show up. It is still below freezing and that is why the ice and snow have not melted.
I used to live up in Lubbock Texas where it is very cold. All of us kept heat tape on our pipes.

We have our water back - no leaks or trouble, yet anyway, thank you!!
I lived in CO in the 70s and MO for a few years and learned about protecting pipes.
My goodness, I was born in Lubbock. Love that song, It's a Small World:bighug:

Back to insulin;)
 
No
You don’t have a fireplace? I’m from Ft. Worth and two of my sisters are still there although one lives in the country. She’s had elect and water off and on; the other had had no issues. They both have fireplaces to help. What are you doing for heat if you don’t have electricity?
No, I don't have a fireplace. I live on 5 acres in a rural area south of Dallas. My only source of heat for 2 days was the 4 burners on top of my stove. With my house being open concept, it had to provide heat to my living room, dining room and kitchen. Thankfully, my electricity is back on. My sister and her family down by Austin still have no electricity.
 
No

No, I don't have a fireplace. I live on 5 acres in a rural area south of Dallas. My only source of heat for 2 days was the 4 burners on top of my stove. With my house being open concept, it had to provide heat to my living room, dining room and kitchen. Thankfully, my electricity is back on. My sister and her family down by Austin still have no electricity.
You must have a gas stove....but that’s so dangerous leaving an open flame on. I’m glad your electricity is back on.
 
You must have a gas stove....but that’s so dangerous leaving an open flame on. I’m glad your electricity is back on.
Yes, I know it is dangerous but I didn't have a choice. The oven on the new version of gas stoves have an electronic ignition. The gas automatically shuts off when you lose electricity. I kept pans of water boiling on the stove. I had to get up every 20 minutes to add more water to the pans. I still scorched 2 pans when they went
dry. Had virtually no sleep for 2 days. It was 40 degrees inside my house for 2 days.
 
Back
Top