skybar22
Member Since 2010
yesterday
Good day LL!
Morgaine was a yucky 213 at AMPS after a lovely 91 at last night's PMPS. I am wondering if the pumpkin is raising her BG. She is getting quite a bit of it as per the vet. She wanted to get it into her to clear up the loose poo and Morgaine loves the food mixed with organic pumpkin. I did increase her dose to 4.5u. The vet thinks she has some insulin resistance due to the high lipids in her blood. This makes sense and it is a viscious cycle. I have gotten her triglycerides down from 1600 to 500 but it is still too high and I am not sure it will budge from there. That 500 is a non fasting number whereas the 1600 was fasting so mayber she is not as high but she still seems to need a little more insulin over time. Rather than going down the dosing ladder she creeps up.
She was purring like crazy for several minutes after she ate. I am not sure if that was a happy purring or a self comforting purring. She is very stinky as she hasn't been cleaning herself. I am going to attempt to clean her up today. I have a nice smelling, organic spray foam. You spray it on and rub it in, let dry and brush. I am thinking she isn't going to like all the handling but I will go for the stinky spots. ;-)
Her pee report is that she is now using the rubber runner to pee on. She thinks it is her new litter mat! I have a couple of pee pads down but she isn't using them. She likes to sleep and sit on them now. We are, however, doing much better.
I am sending out thanks to all for your good thoughts and prayers and healing vines to all in need.
Good day LL!
Morgaine was a yucky 213 at AMPS after a lovely 91 at last night's PMPS. I am wondering if the pumpkin is raising her BG. She is getting quite a bit of it as per the vet. She wanted to get it into her to clear up the loose poo and Morgaine loves the food mixed with organic pumpkin. I did increase her dose to 4.5u. The vet thinks she has some insulin resistance due to the high lipids in her blood. This makes sense and it is a viscious cycle. I have gotten her triglycerides down from 1600 to 500 but it is still too high and I am not sure it will budge from there. That 500 is a non fasting number whereas the 1600 was fasting so mayber she is not as high but she still seems to need a little more insulin over time. Rather than going down the dosing ladder she creeps up.
She was purring like crazy for several minutes after she ate. I am not sure if that was a happy purring or a self comforting purring. She is very stinky as she hasn't been cleaning herself. I am going to attempt to clean her up today. I have a nice smelling, organic spray foam. You spray it on and rub it in, let dry and brush. I am thinking she isn't going to like all the handling but I will go for the stinky spots. ;-)
Her pee report is that she is now using the rubber runner to pee on. She thinks it is her new litter mat! I have a couple of pee pads down but she isn't using them. She likes to sleep and sit on them now. We are, however, doing much better.
I am sending out thanks to all for your good thoughts and prayers and healing vines to all in need.