2/18 Morgaine AMPS 213,+3 143.+6 149 dose increase

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Good day LL!

Morgaine was a yucky 213 at AMPS after a lovely 91 at last night's PMPS. I am wondering if the pumpkin is raising her BG. She is getting quite a bit of it as per the vet. She wanted to get it into her to clear up the loose poo and Morgaine loves the food mixed with organic pumpkin. I did increase her dose to 4.5u. The vet thinks she has some insulin resistance due to the high lipids in her blood. This makes sense and it is a viscious cycle. I have gotten her triglycerides down from 1600 to 500 but it is still too high and I am not sure it will budge from there. That 500 is a non fasting number whereas the 1600 was fasting so mayber she is not as high but she still seems to need a little more insulin over time. Rather than going down the dosing ladder she creeps up.

She was purring like crazy for several minutes after she ate. I am not sure if that was a happy purring or a self comforting purring. She is very stinky as she hasn't been cleaning herself. I am going to attempt to clean her up today. I have a nice smelling, organic spray foam. You spray it on and rub it in, let dry and brush. I am thinking she isn't going to like all the handling but I will go for the stinky spots. ;-)

Her pee report is that she is now using the rubber runner to pee on. She thinks it is her new litter mat! I have a couple of pee pads down but she isn't using them. She likes to sleep and sit on them now. We are, however, doing much better.

I am sending out thanks to all for your good thoughts and prayers and healing vines to all in need.
 
Re: 2/18 Morgaine AMPS 213 dose increase

aw, that's a great report, rosalie! i'm so glad she's peeing on the mat instead of on the carpet! that's the best news ever.

hope the new dose is just the thing. what i read on the glucose toxicity links says that just staying in higher numbers increases their resistance to insulin.
 
Re: 2/18 Morgaine AMPS 213 dose increase

I'm glad she likes the mat and will walk on it! I'm surprised she is peeing on it but it is much better than peeing on the carpet. I hope it is easier for you to clean.

I'm also happy to hear she is purring and is happy. Good luck with the dosecrease and you know where to find me if you need anything :-D :-D
 
It sounds like progress. She may be a bit confused about the purpose of the runner, but at least it will be some what easier for you. Although she started high, she's coming down nicely. Good luck on the foam bath. I hope she believes she is getting a gold standard pampering instead of a stinky cleanup job. :lol:
 
Well the rubber mat is now the litter box! I ended up putting a piece of the mat that Marje tucked under the doorway into the LB as suggested by the little retraining book i got. she says to put whatever the cat is peeing on in the box and then get her to go in there and start adding litter to the sides gradually. we shall see. Morgaine has never been an easy cat. She has a mind of her own and that is why I fell in love with her. Of all the cats waiting for adoption at the Humane Society, she was the only one who did not come up to the front of the cage and try to woo me. She sat in the back corner and tilted her head, back and forth, as if sizing me up. We did lock eyes. Yes, that was the kitty I wanted.

And so, we are going to have to sort all of this out. After she pees I do let her out into the living room. She needs attention and i need a place to sit and give it to her so we have had some nice time today. she rolled onto her back and let me rub her tummy while she purred. she attempted a bath but very halfway so I am still going to attempt a clean up.

The mat is much easier to clean up than the rug. I can dilute the anti icky poo in water for a surface like this so it goes a long way and I leave it on for several minutes and then wipe it off. With the rug, you basically soak the entire spot and then let it dry which takes a couple of days. One day at a time. I am hoping to restart the prozac if the poo is normal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top