2/18 Mikey AMPS 159+11/43 PM 72 +5/108 +9/311

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159

wow you did have a busy day yesterday. i had to read through it all - this is pretty darned exciting! and even with the dose reductions, mikey's got a great amps this morning!

hmmmm. looking really great!
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152

Great job last night and wonderful numbers this morning!!!! I'd keep an eye on him even though the +2 is close to the AMPS. WOOT!!!
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152

Hmmmm.... not much of a bounce from that 38. . .

Mikey may be on a mission - keep and eye on the numbers today :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38

Unfortunately I was not able to stay home the whole day. He is at 38 right now and I'm hoping he will go up. Marje you said no to a decrease for this morning am I safe to assume he gets a decrease tonight???
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38

definitely reduce tonight! last night's could've been a carryover on the shed, yes, and i would've agreed about not reducing this morning, but tonight you probably should decrease.

a little high carb food ought to help you out now.
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45

Just to confirm I am reducing him from 2u to 1.75u? (I'm sorry to sound so mathematically challenged, I just want to make sure)
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45

Agree totally with Julie....give him a .25u reduction tonight. WOW!!!! Good job getting him up but you are going to need him to come up a little more before PMPS.
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45

I agree with Julie and Marje. And yes, the new dose for tonight will be 1.75 units :mrgreen: Congratulations!
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45

"Mission" you say? He's on something! What a ride it has been. The only difference is his dental/extraction and I switched him from a carb 7 food to a carb 4 food. Can that really make such a difference???

Right now he is sleeping like a baby, hopefully will make the testing easier!
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45

The extraction can certainly make a difference. Some cats are very carb sensitive. Jill's Alex can get a 30 point increase in her numbers from a piece of freeze dried chicken!
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43

He's just at 43 at +11. I don't think he's going to get up enough by PMPS to shoot??? Do I just stall until he gets high enough, feed him now or skip?
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43

i don't usually recommend skipping shots, but i think tonight is an exception. unless he zooms between now and shot time i'd skip the shot in an effort to drain the shed a little. this would also allow you to get a good night's sleep tonight. take it while you can. like the others have said... mikey appears to be on a mission! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45

Hi Jenn,
To add to what Sienne said, a cat's BG will rise from eating anything, even if given a 100% no-carb diet. I found a great site about feline nutrition a couple of weeks ago when a question came up in PZI about carbs. What I found explains that a kitty will process protiens and fats and convert them to glucose needed to provide its body with energy. I'll attempt to link it, but links never seem to work when I use my phone...

! Cats, like all animals, require six classes of nutrients: water, energy, protein, essential fatty acids, minerals, and vitamins. Cats do not have a dietary requirement for carbohydrates. The metabolic requirement for glucose in the cat is derived from protein (glucogenic amino acids) and fat (glycerol). Cats are adapted to a protein-fat-rich, carbohydrate-poor diet.

So yes, reducing from 7to 4% will have an effect and even a no-carb treat can matter.
[url=http://maxshouse.com/feline_nutrition.htm]http://maxshouse.com/feline_nutrition.htm[/url]
Mikey looks like he's trying to run down that ladder on doses!

A ton of great info on that site!
Carl
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43

Like Jill suggested, enjoy a good night's sleep. When a cat is coming down the dose ladder, it can be long nights.

Oh -- you might want to give Mikey a bit of HC to get him out of the 40s.
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43

Wow!! I missed all the excitement. Hope you get some rest tonight.
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43

Great day for Mikey! Congratulations on the decrease. Mikey is moving it on down. Hope you get some rest tonight!
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43

Sienne and Gabby said:
Oh -- you might want to give Mikey a bit of HC to get him out of the 40s.
jenn asked about feeding via PM. i suggested a lc snack or treat rather than HC or a meal in case mikey zooms between +11 and +12... indicating the need for a shot. we wouldn't want the +12 to be artificially inflated from food. *usually* a bit of lc is all that's needed with 40s at the end of a cycle.
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43

I am going to test him for +12, which is in about 10 minutes and then I will post his BG.

Depending on the number...but I assume..

I will skip the shot for tonight, feed him and get him out of 40's, (how often should I test tonight?) and then shoot 1.75u tomorrow morning?
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43

Jenn...if you can't shoot tonight because he doesn't come up then you'll shoot 1.75u in the morning. For tonight, you only need to test (if you skip) until he starts to come up probably above 50 or so. If you don't shoot, he cannot hypo but you do just want to be sure he's headed up.
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43

miso00 said:
I am going to test him for +12, which is in about 10 minutes and then I will post his BG.

Depending on the number...but I assume..

I will skip the shot for tonight, feed him and get him out of 40's, (how often should I test tonight?) and then shoot 1.75u tomorrow morning?

i'm assuming you'll be skipping tonight's shot also, but go ahead and test just in case he bounces hard by then.

if skipping, all you need to do is feed @ +12. then i'd get a +2 to make sure he's not dipping again. it's doubtful, but it doesn't hurt to check. i always get a before bed spot check with alex... no matter when that is.
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43 PMPS 72

Since his PMPS is 72 should I shoot the 1.75U?
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43 PMPS 72

you gave him a snack, right? that alone could have caused this rise. it's not much of a rise.
i'd skip... not because the number isn't shootable. i'd skip to drain the shed.
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43 PMPS 72

NO I DID NOT FEED. Someone said not to until I got +12 reading.
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43 PMPS 72

Jill it was you, sorry I didn't scroll up to see before I posted. I'm so tired that all I read from your post was
wouldn't want the +12 to be artificially inflated from food.
So I thought I was NOT supposed to feed him, so I didn't.
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43 PMPS 72

i still think i'd skip to let the shed drain.
it's up to you. getting a good night's sleep might be a good idea...
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43 PMPS 72

It is better to let the shed drain, right? What ever I need to do for Mikey I'm ok with. There is no work for either Marc or I tomorrow so sleep is an option ;-)
 
Re: 2/18 Mikey AMPS 159 +2/152 +8.5/38 +9/45 +11/43 PMPS 72

with mikey throwing 30s in back to back cycles... yes, it's better to drain the shed.
i've had to do it myself with alex.
 
No shot last night. MIkey BG @ +5/4am was 108 and at +10/9am was 311. Am I still shooting the decreased dose of 1.75u? I'm hoping he doesn't go that much higher-the pink I really don't like :sad:

Also, if someone can explain to me or what their opinion is about Mikey going OTJ. How would that ever be possible if every time I "skip" a shot he skyrockets back up?
 
miso00 said:
Also, if someone can explain to me or what their opinion is about Mikey going OTJ. How would that ever be possible if every time I "skip" a shot he skyrockets back up?

Although no one knows if/when a kitty will go OTJ, skipping to let the shed drain a bit is sometimes needed, for safety sake.


Take a look at black Kittys ss - 02/13/2009--02/13/2009. That is just one example of our crazy slide down (which was not a straight line down BTW).
We skipped our share of shots, BCSd all over the place and did a whole lotta stalling. Extra caution had to be taken with BK because he had a high dose condition (IAA) that required considering not only the insulin I was shooting but the insulin from previous shots that was bound to the insulin antibodies and the possibility it would be released..
BK was the last kitty anyone ever thought would go OTJ , however. . . :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top