2/18 Max AMPS326 +4=284+6=196 PMPS253+3=266

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
So after dropping to 49 yesterday it appears he is now bouncing?? Do we continue with the lower dose of 1.25 this morning and see what happens?
REcap of Yesterday:

AMPS254
+3:40 127

+6 49
+6.5 62
+7.5 80
+11.5 148
+2 272
+5 269
 
Re: 2/18/14MaxAMPS328Dosing Advice

Since you did a dose reduction last night, I would continue with this dose, and see what happens, yes. Congratulations, and good job!!!! :-D
 
Re: 2/18/14MaxAMPS328Dosing Advice

Thanks. I take it this might be a bounce, right? Thus we need more info to know if he was ready for it?
 
Re: 2/18/14MaxAMPS328Dosing Advice

Yeah, I think it's a bounce, which Max will clear in a day or so. Whenever a new dose is introduced, be it an increase or a decrease, there's always an adjustment period for the kitty's body to adjust to the new amount, and the kitty will go through a bit of NDW (New Dose Wonkiness) before settling down.
 
Re: 2/18/14MaxAMPS328Dosing Advice

These numbers sure look like a bounce to me! I would be patient with the 1.25u dose and see what Max decides to do with his numbers.
 
Re: 2/18/14MaxAMPS328Dosing Advice

What Sienne suggested makes a whole lot of sense with regards to holding this 1.25u dose for a while to see what Max does with it. I would do the same thing, too. Good luck!
 
Re: 2/18/14MaxAMPS328Dosing Advice

Thanks Angela and Sienne. I am learning about this slowly and was thinking the same. I definitely think he was feeling strange yesterday as he was more quite than usual. He ate well but didn't ask for food. This morning he was back to meowing at 6. I wonder if he will ever again have the energy or desire to get on his tall cat condo again? That stopped several months before diabetes. After all he is 16 so I guess my expectations for him to ever be his old self again need to be adjusted, sigh. I'd just like some signs of feeling better. It's been a long time.
 
Re: 2/18/14MaxAMPS328Dosing Advice

Sometimes cats will go back to being themselves once they start to feel better, and are better regulated, and sometimes not. It's hard to say what any cat will do when their #s come down. I hope that he goes back to being his old self for you. My cat, Blackie, doesn't play anymore. I've learned to accept it, though, and am just glad that she's happy, and healthy.
 
Re: 2/18/14MaxAMPS328 +4=284+6=194

I know. His decline started with the pancreatitis. However his sticking to my bedroom and not using the cat trees is more like 6-8 months. The diabetes is likely to have come on 3 or at most 4 months ago as he had lots of blood tests. His T4 was in the low gray zone so we were thinking possibly hyper-t. He's coming down now. Hopefully not too fast.
 
Hi Elsie,we haven't met before,I am Baileys mum and we live in the UK.
I can relate to your comments about Max not frequenting his old snoozing spot.From the day Bailey was diagnosed with FD a year ago, his routine changed,he never returned to the places that for the previous 12years he had routinely slept ,and he also has no interest in playing,he is happy,and enjoying his life,although in a different way.I feel very sad about this,it is as though he has had a change of personality,I presume it must have been a traumatic ordeal for him (us too!)
What complex, fascinating animals they are.Best of luck to you both. Diane & Bailey
 
Thanks for sharing your experience with me, Diane. It seems with each new obstacle I lose more of Max. My Tiffany was a really attached to me and once she got used to the routine is dealing with each new issue she returned more or less to her tortie self. Each one is different I know. I just wish I knew his he is feeling. I can check his BG and hopefully once regulated will know he must feel better but pancreatitis is different. It's way too expensive to test plus a normal test doesn't mean anything and that can change immediately after the vet trip.
 
We can only do our best Elsie,I am sure like me you are doing everything that is possible to look after,and do what is best for Max.It is heartbreaking and has been one of the most stressful times I can remember,I have put everything on hold for the last year to be with B as much as is possible,I find myself watching his every move,trying to analyse his mood,hoping to see a glimmer of the Bailey that was.
I see like Bailey Max has pancreatitis issues,I have been giving B pure aloe vera juice for the last few months,and it seems to have made a considerable difference,if Max still has problems,and you would like to know more ,let me know.
According to the experienced folk you seem to be doing really well with Max,he is very lucky boy to have such a devoted and loving mum,keep up the good work. Diane
 
i think pancreatitis really makes a huge difference in how a kitty feels. punkin felt better early on in his diabetes and did act like his pre-diabetic self. once he had pancreatitis, he kinda lost some enthusiasm for life. the vet said he probably had it simmering for a while. they just seem to not feel good. we had one of our people on here have pancreatitis and said it was incredibly nauseating and painful. since we know cats don't show pain, many people will treat for pain even if they don't see some visible signs, just the being off. i worried about him become addicted to narcotics, but the vet specialist said to stop worrying about that - pain relief was more important.

Diane/Elise, if you haven't tried that yet, you might consider it. i really think it made a difference with punkin. i know i've mentioned some of this to both of you before, so forgive me if i'm repeating. The cornerstones of helping them feel better with chronic pancreatitis are fluids, vitamin B injections, food and pain relief (Bupe, ie, buprinorphin).

If your kitties are still blah, i'd give these a try. There's nothing to lose and a lot to gain.
 
Julie, Max has had chronic panc for over 4 years now. It used to be that he would become inappetent and that would be the only symptom he would have. That hasn't happened since October and his fpl confirmed it. Maybe diabetes causes him to eat even though he might be nauseous?? I have given him bupe in the past and he didn't really show any improvement. Ondansetron for nausea got him back on track and I have also used Cerenia. I might experiment with that and see if I see any change for the better. We have tested his B12 level and it is normal. I tried injections back when he first got sick but it didn't perk him up either. Thanks for caring.
Elise
 
i know you've told me that before, i'm just fishing for anything that might bring your "old" guy back to you. :YMHUG:

i was also mentioning them for Diane.
 
i appreciate the suggestions.Really I do. It's so hard now. I can't tell any more if he is having an attack or it's the diabetes. I'm pretty sure the panc caused the diabetes. He has always gone long periods not needing any treatment. My clue was inappetence.
 
Hello again Elsie. Hi Julie,thanks for your input,its very much appreciated,it's good to be in touch with you again.
Elsie and I seem to have similar experiences with our boys.I too thinks Bailey has had pancreatitis before the FD.From the time we rescued him up to be diagnosed with FD he has a wobbly tummy,during the past year he has,as far as I know not vomited or has diarrhea,or puked up a hair all,how strange is that? Infact he has none of the classic signs of panc.he was on injections of Vetergesic, Vit B12, Noroclav(AB) and Zantac for weeks during past Summer,and it appeared by his demeanour to have made no difference,the last blood tests he had showed normal levels for B12 so vet said at that time he didn't need more.
Bailey seems happy,he has his tail up,is eating well,purring,and doing his outside patroling,although to a lesser degree,he has always been a sensitive boy,I think the trauma of the many visits to the vet over the past year (he did not respond well to Caninsulin,and for months he was at the vet up to 5 times a week) and his age has taken its tole.
When we see the vet next I will again run these queries past him re pain etc,but my gut feeling is that the ordeal of the past year has aged him.
Many thanks Julie for dropping by to give us your wisdom,and kind words of support,best wishes to you both. Diane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top