2/18 max amps 322 +1 356 +2 291 +3 187 +4 103 +5 89 +6 102 PMPS 401 +2 510 +4 424

And he dives anyway.:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead: Fed 4% at breakfast, 6% @ +1, 6% @+2, 9% @+3, +4. I really need a crystal ball to work with this cat. So he will bounce again later I’m sure. I should have fed higher carbs maybe at amps, +1 and +2, but wasn’t sure if he’d dive at that point and didn’t want to make his numbers go up higher. He gets no food after bedtime which is around +4 or +5 at the latest. And no food after nadir during the day unless it’s a boiled chicken snack at +8. Sometimes he doesn’t even get an afternoon snack. Today he didn’t.
 
Last edited:
Hmm, how about switching that +2 snack to 9% if it's down from PS? I agree it's too hard to guess with a +1 if he's going to dive. His really big diving seems to be between +2 and +3, so hoping the little extra carbs on board before that dive might help.
 
Okay thanks that’s a good idea. I will try that, but today he did drop a lot between +1 and +2 so I had no idea that was going to happen. By then, he’s going to bounce anyway right? I can’t understand for the life of me understand why it onsets so early and hits him so hard. Have you ever seen another cat like him? @Wendy&Neko Oh and would a day like today’s bounce late in the cycle be a time when you would use R to lower the preshot number? I’m not doing anything yet, just trying to learn as best I can. Max makes things very difficult.
 
Max did a much larger drop from +2 to +3. Though he often does start to move earlier. Without test data from +10 or +11 the cycle before, it's hard to tell if the lower +1 and +2 is part of an ongoing trend from the cycle before hand. Neko occasionally nadired at +13 and I even spotted it once at +15, so 3 hours after the following shot.

I have also seen other Lev cats that onset earlier, though can't remember which ones off the top of my head.

Once I learned how Neko used R, there were times when I'd use it late in the cycle if she was bouncing. Her onset was typically closer to +5, so late in the cycle there was still a lot of time for the BG to go up before the next shot took effect.
 
Oh gosh, I did do a +10 last night. Forgot to log it until you just mentioned it. Sometimes I get up then anyway so I check him and go back to sleep. I was confused about that as well, how he went back up at PS, unless it was another bounce. I check him so often as it is trying to catch these numbers. Thanks.
 
For the fun of it, I just reviewed this post: Discussion: Thoughts/Ideas on how to extend duration
Most of the techniques within describe a lot more work for the caregiver, but Marje did one for her Gracie. She upped Gracie's regular LC to 8-9% all the time, which helped raise the nadirs and allowed Marje to give a slightly higher dose which also meant lowering those highest numbers.

Maybe wait until your brain is back to 100% before diving into that post. ;)
 
Thanks for that @Wendy&Neko. I had no idea there was a post discussing that and I will definitely check it out. Maybe tomorrow my brain will function lol. When we first joined FDMB, Marje spent a lot of time going over various things with me, and she mentioned something about that, but I was so overwhelmed at the time with all of the information I didn’t absorb it all. I even tried to go back and review some of our conversations just recently, but back then she didn’t go into detail about it because I think she knew I was so overwhelmed. I am constantly learning now and always experimenting so I will definitely check that out. Thanks so much for putting up with us, I know we are a lot. Max is one of a kind. I feel that he is anyway.:cat:
 
Hey, reading that post was a good reminder for me too. We are all constantly learning.

Max is saying - get a good night's sleep and be better tomorrow. :bighug:
 
Well so much for that +2. He hasn’t had a black number since in the beginning. :arghh:
Hey Lori

Is he feeling ok? Tummy better? Gracie had never been in black and only red once at the very beginning until she started feeling unwell. Is it possible you gave a fur shot maybe? He shouldn’t bounce that hard off an 89.:banghead:

I will say that the aggressive feeding/dosing I did worked great for Gracie but it just wasn’t sustainable for us. When I look back on it all now, I often think that perhaps I pushed too hard since she was so young and I felt she had a good chance of remission. It’s important to maintain your health and sanity. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Marje, I am sure that I didn’t give a fur shot. I even wondered that myself. I don’t smell any insulin on him either. I’ve been giving him bupe and cerenia for what I think is a flare of his pancreatitis, but he seems so much better. He even played with his toys some this afternoon. He eats his food well and hasn’t had any bowel problems lately. I’m not really sure what’s going on but this is really out of the ordinary. He was doing so well for a while there, so I’m really not sure what to do. Thanks for your comments.
 
Well at least he’s coming down. I needed to see that before I could sleep. Gave him another snack. Maybe he will gently clear this bounce overnight. I hope.
 
Back
Top