2/18 Klinger's Curve & an Allergy Question at the end

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Happy Friday! drinking24

I wasn't sure what the curve would show us today with the reduction to 1.75 yesterday...since it was only yesterday that we reduced to 1.75 is this a true representation of that dose?
AMPS 166; 1.75u
+1 239
+2 283
+5 172
+6 171
+7 159
+8 120
+9 115
+10 100
+11 95
ETA: +11.75 91
+12 89
+12.5 101
PMPS 101; 1.75 nailbite_smile
Can't wait to see the PMPS...I'm a little nervous to shoot another green and have a repeat of two nights ago...
klinger was a little picky about his food the last two days...he ate it, but it seemed like he kept waiting for the tasty food with the gravy. :roll:
Have a great weekend! dancing_cat
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Beautiful numbers! You'll be happy to hear that while charlie's numbers aren't going down much yet, he seems to be perking up a bit. He jumped up to the high window perch today and then jumped down and ran through the living room! He usually only runs when he hears me open his can of food. He was also a lot more active this morning (which meant a lot of annoying doorknob jiggling and extra-loud meowing from the upstairs bedroom.) Hopefully he'll see some of Klinger's luck with numbers soon.
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Wow, he really has a late nadir!
Looking really good on those numbers...
Alley has been a "blue boy" pretty consistently lately, despite our crazy schedule of late.

Really happy to see Klinger doing so well, get some much needed sleep, Marcy.

P & A
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Clauda,
That's wonderful news about Charlie being more active and vocal...Klinger's only done that once recently...
We're rooting for you and Charlie to have a break through soon!

Pam,
Thanks for checking in on us. We're getting there...How's your DH doing?
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Sorry you have to stay up with him for a while. Hopefully he will surf on this dose although there's a possibility he has some shed left, so he could drop lower again. But it's exciting that he's doing so well!
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Marcy
I was checking on how your day went- 57 at +3 , yikes,

since the dose kicks in at +4 Im sure you have the gravy ready and the alarm set.

I'm glad you are posting with the garden variety FD. Double digits are way out of my comfort zone.

you may need to half dose one cycle to drain shed- do you guys do that?
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Hmmm... maybe he needs to go to 1.5u? It depends on if he drops further tonight or not. Maybe a fat 1.5u that's less than 1.75u? Just to bring his nadir up about 20 points.

Nancy, interesting concept about shooting half the dose to empty the shed - have not heard of that. I would have thought that the highs yesterday from bounce and all that food would have taken care of any excess insulin.
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Why loose momentum by emptying shed? We see the same concept happen a lot with newbies who get double digit preshots and aren't sure it's safe, so they dose half and then become confused because the numbers won't come back down in later cycles. Seems counter-productive to empty shed when that's what you wanted to get to in the first place.

Marcy has a good handle on what to do with lows and if she needs to drop to 1.5U tomorrow because of how it goes tonight, then she's doing fine. If she had dosed half the other day, we wouldn't be seeing this progress now.
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

I so appreciate you all and that you continue to give me advice after I sign off for the night. It helps me tremendously in the wee hours of the morning when all of you late night peeps are sleeping.
So, when I saw the 57 at +3 I debated waiting to see how that would play out. The other night when he was surfing the 40s he was showing some signs of hypo. I decided that his goal isn't to go below 50 and I gave him the MC food. He went up after that and at +5 was 136, so I fell asleep. Not ideal, I know.

2/19
AMPS 129; reduced dose to 1.5u
His poor pink ears!

Question: I shot a half hour late last night...the saying is that a late shot is like a decrease and an early shot is like an increase...so, can someone say more about that? Since I shot the 1.75u, but a half hour late, what did I really shoot? Is there a way to figure that out? Sorry, I'm really not awake yet. ~O)
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

One half hour late is probably not going to have much affect, but an hour is problematic. So is multiple half hours - say half hour late at AMPS and a half hour late at PMPS. That's why I prefer to use splits when I need to make his shot time later by more than a half hour. And also why I prefer a reduced dose for earlier shot times. Not every situation would call for those methods though - I am having to move shot times by 2 hours later or 2 hours earlier.
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

There really isn't a way to calculate what the reduced/increased dose would be by changing shot times. It is a guideline to keep in mind. For instance, if you have a cat that is trending toward too low numbers, such as Klinger was last night, AND you were having to shoot earlier, it would be good to "hear' that mantra "shooting early = dose increase" so you can compensate by shooting a little less. At that point you are guessing at how much less is called for based, of course, on how well you know your cat, when he nadirs, your data collected, etc.

I do think that a half hour probably won't make that much difference.

I was looking at his numbers for today and will be interested to see how he does later in the cycle. Remember that today's numbers may be greatly effected by last nights dose - meaning the 1.75 is carrying over and might be closer to the right dose. Would he have dropped more without the MC food? Maybe/Maybe not.

See how he does on the 1.5u for a while (let it settle), but you may find he needs that fat 1.5u (closer to 1.6u) that I mentioned last night.

However... (you knew this was coming, right?) He might be stepping down the dosing scale now that he has had a period of nice, below renal threshold numbers and glucose toxicity is way down. It really is amazing how lev can bring them into lower numbers and a gentle curve and allow the pancreas to heal some as well as the cells in their body becoming insulin sensitive again (less insulin resistant).
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Coming along nicely today so far! :)

So he didn't finish his breakfast today until +8? My he is a slow eater! Is he always this slow to finish his meal? Maybe that is why he goes so low at times.

Glad he got out for a walk. Tigger is enjoying the warmer weather here too for as long as it lasts. :smile:
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

2/19
AMPS 129; 1.5u
+1 156
+3 162
+5 134
+6 108
+7 89
+8 88
+9 109
+10.5 146
PMPS 179

Not too shabby, but I think you're probably right, Sheila, that he may need closer to 1.75 u. I'll stick with the 1.5u for tonight and see what tomorrow morning brings.

Pamela, He's always been a grazer. It's more common that he finishes his breakfast right before he eats his dinner. Glad Tigger has been enjoying the nice weather too!
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Now those are lovely numbers! But I do see that slightly higher PS tonight. At least you can get a good night's sleep.

My guys sometimes gobble down their food and other times there is a lot still in the dishes when it is time for their next meal. I have two sets of bowl and leave down food until they eat it. Sometimes I will be dishing up the new meal and Beau will walk into the kitchen and eat the food that's been down for hours. He is such a nut. I don't know why he can't wait 2 mins for fresh food :roll:
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

I knew I didn't like that higher PMPS!
2/20
AMPS 410!!!!
What happened? DH gave him his evening shot and doesn't think it was a fur shot because he meowed when he poked him. Maybe it was a muscle shot? Who knows...the kitty and he's not talking.

Increased back up to 1.75u, but I think he may need more now that the full moon wonkiness is over.

Sheila,
Klinger is the same way with his food and I leave the food down until he eats it too.

ETA: +1.75 316; he was running through the house like a crazy kooka luk. Seems to be feeling pretty good. HIs prized tissue paper is all over the living room. :lol:

ETA2: +5 110. Hmmm. Glad he's back in the 100's but...
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Um, I would not raise the dose yet. He may have gone low last night - or dropped fast from the slightly higher PS. It didn't look like he was headed there, but his pancreas may have kicked in this week so I would just be cautious right now.

Swings like 100s (or less) to 400s to 100 are a typical sign of too much insulin, IME. (that might be a new acronym = in my experience) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Uh-huh. Seeing that he's 58 at +7, I agree with you. Darn it! I should have sat on my hands this morning and kept him at 1.5u. Dropping back to 1.5 tonight. ohmygod_smile :YMSIGH:

ETA: Forgot to mention that I like your new acronym :-D
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

Oh gosh - time for some food...

FYI - keep in mind that it is usually counterproductive to respond to one high number, or to PS's without nadirs taken into consideration unless they are unusually low - BUT, we all do it! Especially those of us that came from fast acting insulins. It's so hard to *forget* that way of doing things. Even now, after using lev for 21 months I still find myself forgetting that basic info I posted above ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

+7.5 47; I just gave him some 11% carb food. hopefully that will bring him up enough without sending him too high later.
When I saw the 300 last night and the 400 this morning, I thought that all of those pretty numbers we had the last few days were just full moon wonkiness and not true.
It's easy to fall back into the fast acting insulin mind set.

ETA: +8 72

PMPS: 218; 1.5u
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

acro is such a different beast, but when I see 400's, there are 2 reasons, bounce or (most commonly for Cody :shock: ), contraband (dog food).

I don't like those big drops. glad you're dropping back.

out of curiosity- is he eating normally? any vomiting?

hoping 1.5u is the magic and these nice numbers level out. So nice to see you getting somewhere after the previous craziness
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

He's had a gentler drop today.
AMPS: 386; 1.50u
+3 336
+5 289
+6.5 149
+8 111

His eating has been normal and I haven't seen or found any vomit spots (I do a routine check). I'm wondering if he picked up/ate something when we were out on our walk.

I sent my vet Klinger's ss on Saturday. She replied that Lev is becoming her new favorite insulin. :-D The 60 lb drooler that is also using it is down to 6.5 units. I can't compare that to anything...but, it sounds great considering how high (7.5u) Klinger has gone on other insulins and he's (only) 20lbs. We're working on the weight issue. :oops:
It will be a year since dx on 2/28. (insert ALL emoticons here) What an amazing journey this has been.

ETA: +10 131
PMPS 137 (that's much better than yesterday's PMPS) :-D

Allergies are acting up - scratching, licking, a sneeze thrown in once in a while. Anyone have any wonderful allergy advice? He used to get the steriod shot which more than likely pushed him over the edge to his dx. We've tried benadryl and he had a scary reaction - excessive drooling, hiding in the bathroom, dazed, BG dropped to the 60s and then back up to the 400s, I truly thought I'd killed him. I've seen chatter about L-lysine for colds...would it do anything for allergies?
 
Re: 2/18 Klinger's Curve

mars72 said:
He's had a gentler drop today.
AMPS: 386; 1.50u
+3 336
+5 289
+6.5 149
+8 111

His eating has been normal and I haven't seen or found any vomit spots (I do a routine check). I'm wondering if he picked up/ate something when we were out on our walk.

I sent my vet Klinger's ss on Saturday. She replied that Lev is becoming her new favorite insulin. :-D The 60 lb drooler that is also using it is down to 6.5 units. I can't compare that to anything...but, it sounds great considering how high (7.5u) Klinger has gone on other insulins and he's (only) 20lbs. We're working on the weight issue. :oops:
It will be a year since dx on 2/28. (insert ALL emoticons here) What an amazing journey this has been.

ETA: +10 131
PMPS 137 (that's much better than yesterday's PMPS) :-D

Allergies are acting up - scratching, licking, a sneeze thrown in once in a while. Anyone have any wonderful allergy advice? He used to get the steriod shot which more than likely pushed him over the edge to his dx. We've tried benadryl and he had a scary reaction - excessive drooling, hiding in the bathroom, dazed, BG dropped to the 60s and then back up to the 400s, I truly thought I'd killed him. I've seen chatter about L-lysine for colds...would it do anything for allergies?

Nice numbers today! :)

About his weight, what do you think is his 'normal' ideal weight?

Glad your vet is happy with the levemir!

I think you said you were no longer feeding the Nature Variety Raw? Did he get tired of it or what?

Raw food is probably best for allergies. Have you tried Feline's Pride (link in my sig)?

You say his eyes are watering too. Possible URI? Yes, you can try the lysine. It won't hurt but may help.
 
Thanks, Pamela.
He just stopped eating the NV's Raw one day. I kept putting it out for him for a little while, but he wouldn't touch it. Also, looking back, he had a lot more vomiting episodes while on the raw. (which is when I started making it part of my daily routine to look for the evidence.)
I was very impressed with Feline Pride's website, but the cost is just hard to swallow.
I also think the HC and MC food he's had this last week have contributed to his allergies since everything in that carb % contains gluten.
I'll pick up the lysine and give that a try.
 
Marcy-thanks for posting so much info about Klinger-ive been reading and learning .
i too reduce the dose if Buddy is green all day and PS, but now wondering why ,if it only serves to empty shed.
Difficulty for me with FD is each situation has multiple variables, and may call for differnt solutions.
damn i like it best when 1 size fits all ohmygod_smile .
Wonderful to see your boy responding so well. You're doing a great job .
 
No advice on allergies, but I have heard a few sneezes lately so have been considering the l-lysine. Anyone know what the accepted dose is?

Glad to see a more gentle day for Klinger.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
No advice on allergies, but I have heard a few sneezes lately so have been considering the l-lysine. Anyone know what the accepted dose is?

Glad to see a more gentle day for Klinger.

250 mg BID. I had 500 mg tablets, cut them in half and crushed it in his food. Comes in capsules too so that would probably be easier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top