2/18 Kismet Video AMPS 89, PMPS 111, +1 107, +2 69, +3 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
Morning LL,

K dropped really low last night. I fed him before going to sleep, and woke up to get the +6 and he was 41. I fed HC and coaxed him back up. I haven't had a chance to update the SS yet... my computer is being wonky, I am on DH's right now.

This morning, we're at 78. I don't feel comfortable shooting this number because I will be out most of the afternoon. Should I skip? Shoot a drop? I can't stall too much; I have to shower and go to work within the next hour.

Thanks!

Yesterday 2/17
AMPS-147
+2--- 118
+5--- 61
+6--- 55
+7--- 63
PMPS 110
+2--- 85
+3--- 51 fed 1 spoonful of FF LC
+6---41 Led HC
+6.5--55 fed LC
+7----76


Today 2/18

AMBG 78
AMPS 89 (stalled 15 minutes)
+1--- 112
+6--- 87
+10-- 83
PMPS 111 Ate 3/4 dinner
+1--- 107
+2--- 69 Fed 1/4 dinner
+3--- 83 Put out another tsp of LC in dinner bowl
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMBG 78 NEED ADVICE please!

Hi guys .. sorry I don't have any advice for you .. I'm sure others will be around soon, but I know how hard it can be to wait too .. That sure is a nice looking star to the day though! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMBG 78 NEED ADVICE please!

Thanks, Peter!

While I am waiting, I have to hop in the shower. I will retest when I am out to see if he has gone up any. If he does go up, what would be a safe number to shoot? And should I stick with our s.25, or try a drop? I realize stalling acts as a reduction, I'm just very worried that he is dipping so low around his nadir. Thanks!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMBG 78 NEED ADVICE please!

I can't give dosing advice either, but I can say that you have to feel comfortable with your decision. If you haven't shot this low before, and you can't be home to monitor, then maybe you should skip the shot. Kismet will be a little higher later, but you'll get back on track... And you wouldn't have to worry all day.

Good luck with whatever you decide to do.
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMBG 78 NEED ADVICE please!

Please let us know when you get the next test.
He seems to be surfing along.. from the +7 of 76 to +12 of 78.
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMBG 78 NEED ADVICE please!

Morning Courtney ~O)

I'm with Kathie.... safety & peace of mind first, it's just one shot. ECID, but I've found with Simon and his low doses, skipping is easier
to "get away with" than kitties on higher doses. Good luck with your decision.
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMBG 78 NEED ADVICE please!

Just tested again (15 minutes stall) and got an 89? Looks like the insulin is wearing off. I went ahead and shot a drop and fed, I hope this was a good decision. We're only 15 minutes behind normal schedule. I will test again before I leave. I will be home in time for the nadir, too.
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMBG 78 NEED ADVICE please!

Nice BOS there. I think you did fine. I'm glad you will be home to test him around nadir.

If you feel uncomfortable at all, you can also leave some higher carb food than he's used to, out for him to eat while you're gone.

Get an out the door test, if you can.
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89

By the way, he earned a dose reduction with that 41, so be sure to check back to see what is advised to tonight's dose.
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89

Will do, and will leave his breffi out to free feed as he wants. I'm in the shower now, but will get one more reading before I go! Thanks :)
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89

Morning Courtney ~O) ~O) ~O) Wise decision I think, with the Dose. I think you did fine too. Nice too on the reduction. Congrats!

Have a good day today - Kismet sure is off to a great start. :-D
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89

Thank you everyone who has stopped by our condo this morning! We really appreciate it. :mrgreen: I have a feeling this is going to be a good day!

Kis INHALED his breffi and licked the bowl clean! He had a can of FF Chicken Feast mixed with 1/4 can of Merrick's Before Grain 96% Chicken. His +1 is at a nice 112, so I feel okay leaving him. DH is home for a couple of hours and I asked him to keep an eye on him and test/feed if he thinks it's necessary. He has gotten much better at testing, but it still nervous and has a hard time seeing. I think we're going to be just fine, though.

I am off to work for now but will check back in later with more updates. I hope everyone has a great day!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87 Dose?

I left out some LC and a couple of tsps of HC before I left, just in case. I just got home and found all the HC was gone (no surprise there!) and he was actually snacking on the LC when I came in.

His +6 is at 87, but I am sure this is food influenced. I was so worried while I was away... These guys will really give your nerves a workout, won't they?

Dyana, you mentioned that we have earned a dose decrease and should check back for advice. Is 1 drop okay?

I've gotten 2 urine tests over the past few days, and both have been negative for glucose. My vet originally instructed us to use this method for decreases (every 2 consecutive days I get glucose free, he earns a decrease.) I know bg is much more accurate and prefer our protocol here. She did tell me though when I spoke to her a couple of days ago, that if I get 2 consecutive glucose neg urine tests at .25u, I should stop insulin and bring him back for a check-up. I don't think we're ready for an OTJ trial just yet. He's been doing so good that I don't want to prematurely stop insulin altogether and mess up our progress.
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87

I won't make dosing advice, but I will tell you that I had a good experience giving Jackson one drop for a while (I think it was about a week) before starting a trial. I found it a nice way to get him (and me) ready. And he stayed pretty flat through it -- never got below 50, so I didn't worry as much. I did shoot .10 unit between the .25 and the 1 drop -- so that's something else to consider...taking your time and giving Mr. P some time to get used to the idea.

Good luck!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87 Dose advice pl

For a cat that has been diagnosed with diabetes for less than a year, a BG below 50 earns a dose decrease.
I think we should see how he does with 1 drop. I'll try to get some other opinions on this as well.
How many hours from now, before your shot time?
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87 Dose advice pl

I agree with Dyana that you should decrease the dose.

Per the Tight Regulation Protocol:
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
1 drop sounds good. Practice with it so you can get the dose as consistent as possible. You'll want to try to hold this dose for a week unless he goes below 50 on it. The longer we can provide that little bit of extra support to the pancreas, the better the odds that the OTJ will be successful.

Good luck!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87

Hi Sarah, thanks for dropping by; I'm happy to hear that Jackson's OTJ trial is going so well!

Dyana and Libby -- thanks very much for the advice. We are currently T-minus 3 hours until PMPS. This mamabean crashed for a few hours, and my sweet boy did, too. I think we both needed some rest after our eventful night. I am going to test him in 15 minutes to get his +10 to see how he's doing (he has not had any fud since I got home at +6 and took it up.)

Sienne had previously suggested that we try to have a week within 50-120 range as an alternative to dropping below 40 around nadir time. It's my understanding that dipping below 40 is what earns reductions for Kitty's back from remission. While Kismet has been OTJ for 5 months, he was only diagnosed 6 months ago. (Last time, we only spent about 2 weeks on insulin.) So I think trying a week at 1 drop sounds like a good idea.

My question, though, are PS shot values a factor at all? Kismet was 147 AMPS yesterday, for example, and still he dropped below 50 during the PM cycle. If I see PS numbers >120, but nadirs <50, is this okay? I know dose is based on nadirs,not PS numbers, so I was curious if I need to get him regulated to be under 120 at all times or if I should only pay attention to where he is mid-cycle. Thanks!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87, +10 83

83 @ +10... looks like he's been surfing since +6. When I just tested him, I gave him little kisses on the back of the neck, and I smelled insulin. It may have been a fur shot this am :?
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87, +10 83

Hi guys,

Congrats on the reducie! Kismet looks great. PS numbers can be influenced by other factors, such as consuming of food left out, or simply the phenomenon of higher numbers at AMPS. (I'm not so sure if PMPS falls into this category, however). Also, every once in a while they like to throw a higher number at us.

Amazing that you could still smell insulin from a fur shot at +10!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87, +10 83

Hi Ella, thanks for stopping by! I was just browsing the forum and saw in Ruben's condo that OTJ trial kitties should stay under 150, so I guess that answers my question :)

And yes! I have the curse of a highly sensitive nose (which comes with allergies and super smelling abilities that I wish I did not have!) :lol:
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87, +10 83

I just got lots of loves, kisses, and purrs from my baby. This short cell phone vid is a pretty accurate depiction of our everyday life. He is the single most affectionate cat I have ever known! He's a big kisser and cuddler. ((Kismet))
Kismet Kisses
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87, +10 83 Video

Awwwwwwww - how sweet! Kismet looks so much like my very first kitty, Mr Kitty. And Mr K was a total lover, too...something about those black kitties, I suppose!

Have a snuggly night with Kismet!!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87, +10 83 Video

That is so sweet. He loves you and thanks you for being his bean.
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87, +10 83 Video

Courtney and Kismet said:
Sienne had previously suggested that we try to have a week within 50-120 range as an alternative to dropping below 40 around nadir time. It's my understanding that dipping below 40 is what earns reductions for Kitty's back from remission. While Kismet has been OTJ for 5 months, he was only diagnosed 6 months ago. (Last time, we only spent about 2 weeks on insulin.) So I think trying a week at 1 drop sounds like a good idea.
Usually cats returning from the Falls require a more aggressive approach to get them OTJ again. So far Kismet seems to be doing well (anti-jinx) so that might not be necessary. Also, I think you had said that you were not comfortable with him being in the 40s because it might affect his asthma. Since he hit 40s and you don't want him there, that means he needs a reduction.

My question, though, are PS shot values a factor at all? Kismet was 147 AMPS yesterday, for example, and still he dropped below 50 during the PM cycle. If I see PS numbers >120, but nadirs <50, is this okay? I know dose is based on nadirs,not PS numbers, so I was curious if I need to get him regulated to be under 120 at all times or if I should only pay attention to where he is mid-cycle.
Preshots do count too. Per the tight regulation protocol, to go OTJ we are looking for them to be under 100 "overall" and we want them to be under 120 pretty much all the time. If the preshots stay over 120 and don't come down after a while, then sometimes a dose increase might be needed to pull the preshots down. We want him to be in healing range 24/7.

PS - the goal for Ruben is 150 because Sam is using an AlphaTrak meter, which tends to read a bit higher than human meters. The protocol numbers are adjusted for those using AlphaTrak.
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet +12 78, AMPS 89, +1 112,+6 87, +10 83 Video

Courtney, Kismet is doing so well! Congratulations on the reduction.
He is a lovebird, isn't he! I think Amy is right -- there is something about those black kitties -- my black kitty Boo was a lover, too.

Hope you guys are having a good evening!
~Josie
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMPS 89, PMPS 111 Video

Amy and Josie --- they are the sweetest, aren't they? I love those names, Mr. Kitty and Boo. So cute!

Dyana, he is a sweetheart, though I wonder sometimes if he is just sampling me to eat me. Sometimes he'll nip at my neck... love bite? Vampire? Or affection? Fine line... :lol:

Libby, thanks for clearing that up for me! And yes, knock on wood.

Thank you all, for stopping by our condo with your well wishes, advice, and stories -- it's very much appreciated!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMPS 89, PMPS 111 Video

Awww, such a sweet boy! Love the kisses and cuddles! Good job on the numbers today, Kismet! Keep up the great work!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMPS 89, PMPS 111, +1 107? Video

Thank you, Deborah! He is my little angel baby <3<3<3

I haven't gotten a PMPS +1 in a few days because he normally spikes after dinner. Is it normal for them to surf after eating? He may still spike at +2 (not unusual for him.)
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet AMPS 89, PMPS 111, +1 107? Video

Good luck! Hopefully he will kick this new dose in the pants!

Love the video (you have gorgeous eyes!). What a sweet, sweet boy who loves his mama!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet Video AMPS 89, PMPS 111, +1 107, +2 69!!

Thank you, Marje! Looks like he is kicking this new dose in the pants! 69 @ +2! He ate about 3/4 of his fud at dinner, so I just put the other 1/4 down for him to polish off and encourage a surf. Looks like I need to brew some ~O) again tonight!
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet Video AMPS 89, PMPS 111, +1 107, +2 69!!

I think when I first suggested what to use for a dose reduction, you hadn't pointed out the effect of low numbers on Kismet's asthma. I think Libby's suggestion makes good sense. And I agree -- Kismet is kicking this dose in the pants.
 
Re: 2/18 Kismet Video AMPS 89, PMPS 111, +1 107, +2 69, +3 8

I'm not sure the asthma has an affect on his numbers; it was just an idea, and I am trying to be hyper-aware about any potential triggers. I figure it is better to err on the side of caution in case there is indeed a connection. This is our second day asthma free (and he dipped quite low last night) so I am hoping that like last time, treating the diabetes will reduce the asthma symptoms. Last September, pretty much as soon as we started insulin, the asthma attacks abated. Paws crossed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top