2/18 Jack 128@AMPS-still on 8.75units

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
So as predicted, yesterday was a poop party of a day, resulting in only two tests for Jack (AMPS & PMPS) and the holding of the 8.75unit dose. He did ok, managed to stay in the 200's. This morning I anticipated getting up and giving him the long awaited/planned increased dose of 9units and he was 128. SMH :banghead::banghead: I couldn't increase to 9 units if he was giving an almost normal BG number in the am. I know a lot of folks on the board think the .25 increase isn't much of a game changer, but for Jack, it is. Especially when we go from 8.5/8.75 to 9. He seems to plunge to the 60's after. Anyway, he ate his breakfast and is happily lounging with his siblings in the sun. Jack apparently loves roller coasters; his mom hates them- both in real life and allegorically!!

Last thread:https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-16-jack-263-279-287-still-8-75u.274276/
 
I apologize if anyone has suggested this previously and your signature says you're transitioning but have you given any thought to seeing what happens if you eliminate the dry food? I know it's among the low carb dry but Jack may be sensitive to it.

It looks like Jack has dropped below 90 on a couple of occasions. That would indicate a dose reduction since you're following SLGS. Is there a reason you didn't reduce his dose?
 
I apologize if anyone has suggested this previously and your signature says you're transitioning but have you given any thought to seeing what happens if you eliminate the dry food? I know it's among the low carb dry but Jack may be sensitive to it.

It looks like Jack has dropped below 90 on a couple of occasions. That would indicate a dose reduction since you're following SLGS. Is there a reason you didn't reduce his dose?


Jack is very sensitive to the dry food. Unfortunatley, he refuses to eat the pate without having some kibble first, or intermittently while he eats the pate. I had tried last year to just take it away (this has been one loooonnngggg food battle), but then he refuses to eat anything. We have tried several freeze dried options to replace the 'texture' of the kibble but he doesn't eat enough of it to give him the insulin. I have a better shot at night of no kibble, but only because he likes the stupid prime filets and eats enough of that to avoid the kibble. For a short time he did just eat pate, and the numbers were nice, but he grew tired of it (regardless of brand, and we've run the gamut of both expensive and inexpensive brands) and the jealousy trick (and every other one I, or other board members suggested) stopped working. After a year of fighting with Jack, it became too stressful for both of us to continue to fight over food, so we have opted for a compromise at this point. It's not ideal, I know, but his brothers and sisters have their own health issues as well, I work two jobs, and have no help here, so something had to give in the schedule. I'm open to more diet suggestions, so please let me know if you can think of anything not in the pdf by Dr Pierson or out of the ordinary that you or other members have tried.

Unless Jack holds his below 90 numbers throughout the day, I don't reduce because he inevitably goes back up again because of his diet. The day he was 99, 66, 90, 142 on his own, he was back to 290 before his PM shot so reducing would not have helped his numbers, I don't think. I was home all day and he had extra exercise and movement, so his number went down. Again, not the SLGS protocol, but based on my observations all of last year when i was reducing at below 90 (although I think it was Wendy&Neko who suggested waiting for 85 or 80 to reduce for him...can't remember, it's somewhere in one of the threads), it always led to a spike after and took longer to bring him back down. If I understand correctly, it's ideal to have 80-120 BG, but also better to have a steady 150-250 than a roller coaster of 70-300. Is that not the correct interpretation?

The 8.75 dose has been keeping us mostly steady between 100 and 280, and due to my own schedule and ability to monitor increase or decrease and manage his siblings with their tooth, thyroid and heart issues, I opted to stick to the 8.75 units. We had considered going to 9 but 'life' got in the way. Once I get his brother Sable's tooth taken out (hopefully this Wed) and don't have to force feed Sable with a syringe anymore, I can get back to fighting with Jack about his diet. Until then, we are just doing the best we can do. I really appreciate everyone's input and advice...thank you.
 
It sounds like you're doing everything you can short of having a battle with Jack about food. There are a couple of low carb dry foods -- Young Again Zero Carb is an example. It may be worth a try.

Regarding the numbers, chances are that what you're seeing are bounces. Although, things look more leveled out. Jack is on a higher dose than we typically see for a cat that's not diagnosed with acro or IAA.
 
It sounds like you're doing everything you can short of having a battle with Jack about food. There are a couple of low carb dry foods -- Young Again Zero Carb is an example. It may be worth a try.

Regarding the numbers, chances are that what you're seeing are bounces. Although, things look more leveled out. Jack is on a higher dose than we typically see for a cat that's not diagnosed with acro or IAA.
Jack's 'kibble' is a 50/50 mix of Dr Elsey's pure protein and the YA Zero. Any more than 50% of the YA gives him diarrhea. When we first transitioned, we gradually went from his regular kibble to the Dr Elsey's and then tried to go from the the Dr Elsey's to the YA. He had horrible diarrhea. Eventually I figured out a 50/50 combo works for him in terms of poop. There were multiple battles over food, and eating/not eating alone, etc.This is why we are where we are today.
And yes, Jack loves to bounce all over. Thanks again for your input!
 
Back
Top