2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 +3 446 +4 414

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS <500 +11 122 +12 137 PLEASE HELP!

It doesn't sound like you're comfortable shooting the full dose. How about shooting either 1.25 or 1.0u if you're gone all day. By any chance can you get another test in before you leave?
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS <500 +11 122 +12 137 PLEASE HELP!

She is 159 now.

I cant stay to test afterwards :( I'm supposed to be in a meeting in 10 minutes and I work 20 miles away.


I'll shoot 1.25

Thanks Sienne
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS <500 +11 122 +12 137 PLEASE HELP!

Numbers were going up. You probably could have shot the full dose but I might have been nervous, too. 1.25 sounds safe!
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS <500 +11 122 +12 137 PLEASE HELP!

Aww Natalia, I'm so sorry you're having a rough morning. I know how stressful that can be. Did you try the water trick? I call it a trick but it's really not. A couple people suggested that I put water in with Choco's food and that really seems to help him. I think he thinks it's gravy. ;-) You may have been one of the ones to suggest that to me so you may already know but I thought I'd share that just in case. Hope by now, your day is going a little better. At least you have a 3 day weekend coming up. :razz:
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS <500 +11 122 +12 137 PLEASE HELP!

Hi Natalia, I hope that the 1.25 will work for you today. That was quite a drop last night. You might try sprinkling a little freeze-dried chicken "dust" on Enana's food to get her to eat better. Or a little parmesan cheese. Sienne once put together a list of things to entice kitties to eat. I'll see if I can find the link to it. Well, I can't find it, but here's a quote from a tip Sienne posted in Choco's condo recently (sorry, I don't know how to get the quote to go in the right place, so had to cut and paste):
Sienne wrote:
"In addition to FortiFlora and parmesan cheese, tuna water, chicken broth, or crumbling freeze dried chicken (or salmon or liver) over food may be enticing. Some cats like plain yogurt. Likewise, a bit of baby food (only types that are just meat and broth -- no onion or veggies) may get Choco more interested."

Good luck. I find that warming the food by adding a little hot water brings up the aroma and makes it more enticing.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159

Thanks you all for your suggestions :) I always, always add water to the wet food :-D

She was eating perfectly fine until yesterday when she tasted dry food again. grr_red

I tried FortiFlora, baby food...she'll get over it. Dont know what else to say.

Im giving Gordo dry food because he wasnt eating. I switched foods too fast, so Im going back and doing it the correct way. we will see.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159

once they get a taste for dry, sometimes they get stubborn again. Hopefully she will eat during the day today.

Nice shooting this morning!
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159 +9 204

+9 204

She ate. :)

Found her sun bathing by the window, and most food was eaten. Tested her, and now it is "me" time. Going to dinner.

Thanks for all your ideas and advice. Appreciate it :)
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159 +9 204

Enjoy your dinner Natalia! Hope it's some place yummy. I think I've decided I'm too tired to eat at this point. I'm very glad to hear that Enana ate!
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159 +9 204 +11 237

Thanks Maria :)

I had eaten 1/2 a bag of popcorn the entire day. I was starving.

+11 237 Should I shoot 1.5 or 1.25?
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159 +9 204 +11 237 Should I go up or ?

Have you ever tried heating up the food in the microwave for about 5-7 seconds? Makes it smelly. They like smelly! :-D
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159 +9 204 +11 237 Should I go up or ?

Yeah, Im trying that again tonight Kathi. It smell so good that even me wants to eat it :lol:
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159 +9 204 +11 237 Should I go up or ?

You shot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose this morning. It's a temporary reduction -- not an earned reduction. Go back to your usual dose.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159 +9 204 +11 237 Should I go up or ?

I love it. I feel like a BCS all the time now :oops:

Ok. I'll be ready!!

Thanks Sienne!
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159 +9 204 +11 237

Whoooo Natalia, you must have been really hungry if that warmed up cat food smelled good. :lol: I settled on some cereal for dinner. What was up with that 500 last night? That would have really freaked me out! Looks like she's doing much better tonight. :smile:
 
Re: 2/18 Enana AMPS 159 +9 204 +11 237

I don't know what I was looking at but I thought Enana was down in the mid 100's. These numbers aren't too bad though right?
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 Partial fur shot!! AHHG!

High numbers aren't as dangerous as low numbers, but with DKA kitties it can be.

Yesterday she ate dry food from Gordo. That's why her numbers shoot up like that. I almost had a heart attack, but when I tested the ketones, she had only traces.

She is freaking out now every time I try to shoot her.I don't know what I'm doing wrong. The first week I had no problem whatsoever...but for a couple of says she just freaks completely out. I have tried EVERYTHINGGGG, food, petting, playing...I don't know what else to do. I gave a partial fur shot today. grr_red grr_red grr_red grr_red grr_red grr_red grr_red grr_red grr_red grr_red grr_red

What am I doing wrong???

Today was not a good day. I'm looking forwards to tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 Partial fur shot!! AHHG!

I give Gabby her shot when her head is in her bowl. Most of the time, she barely notices.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 Partial fur shot!! AHHG!

not a good day overall. (((((hugs)))))
take a deep breath, and try to relax.
if you're tense and anxious, kitty will sense that and flip out too.
by the way, tonight is a full moon, breath.....

do you have an orange? lemon?
take a used syringe and practice on that.
I know it sounds silly, but could help you practice your technique.

ride out the partial furshot, however, you may of gotten "some" in there, best to grab a couple of checks in anyway.

I do the head-in-the-bowl-shot too, but it took me, personally, some time to get that down, lol.
hang in there k?
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 Partial fur shot!! AHHG!

Enana was eating and when she saw me coming ran away! :lol:

I was shooting her while she was eating but lately she just runs! bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif

Do you always shoot her in the scruff? I have been trying to switch places, but I guess that's not gonna work :?

I'm a teacher...boy I know when it's full moon!! Those children where wired up yesterday AND today!
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

The numbers are going up because of the fur shot. There's really not anything you can do except ride it out. You can't give more insulin since you have no idea how much got in. It is a save-a-strip and a get a good night's sleep night, though.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

i think you'll have to just ride it out for tonight. there's a possible fur shot on top of what could be a bounce.
make sure to add as much water as possible to enana's food and make sure she eats well.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

Natalia, I don't think anyone can answer that exactly -- but take a look at Kitty's SS. He had those ugly colors for awhile, and he made it.

Consider this about the shots: Enana may be picking up on your nervousness. I know this happens, because it happened with us. DH had so much more confidence, and the shots he gave went fine. When I was giving shots, I was so afraid of hurting Kitty that he became more anxious.

Ronnie's idea is good. Practice your technique. And give yourself a pep talk and pretend you are someone with no anxiety. It could help. It couldn't hurt!
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

we don't have an answer to that question. obviously, we don't want a ketone prone cat to spend much time in high numbers.

i know it's too late now, but it probably wouldn't be a bad idea for you to pick up a vial of R (Regular insulin) from the pharmacy tomorrow to have on hand for times like this. a prescription is not required. however, R is a powerful insulin... in and out of the system in a matter of 5-6 hours. libby has volunteered to guide you in it's use when necessary. do NOT use it on your own, ok?
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

for what it's worth, I always shoot in the scruff. I know some people say there is better absorption in other areas, but I'm like you. If I try to shoot in any other location, I miss or get bitten. :roll: I decided that it's better to get the shot into the cat one way or another than to try to be picky about location, so I shoot where I know I can get it in (scruff).

For Lucy, I always shot when she was eating and she didn't notice. For Jazzy, if I try to shoot while she is eating she growls or pulls away or tries to bite me. I have to shoot her before I even open the food cans. Each cat is different. If she is pretty good while being tested, could you try having the shot all drawn up and ready to go, bring it to the testing location, and shoot immediately after testing (before letting her go)? If you have everything right there you could probably get it all done in a matter of seconds and maybe she wouldn't notice.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

I am sorry you are having such a rough day. as a fellow newbie, I can TOTALLY feel your pain. Someone here gave me great advice(sorry I don't remember who, there were so many) and that is to be organized. Java and I have a routine now and it works really slick. I go get their food(with water) and his insulin ready to go. In the bedroom I have already laid out my lancet and the strip and meter along with my kleenex and neosporin. They see the food and come running. I give freeze dried treats and then I just pick him up and start rubbing. I place him along side of me so I have leverage and start rubbing his ear. I quick poke, test and immediately put his food down. I wait until he has chowed for a couple minutes and I sneak in all stealth like and BAM! he doesn't even know I am there. Insulin in, cat and Bean very happy, the moment is priceless...
Any way you probably know all that but when I got organized it went much smoother and much quicker. Good luck and get some sleep!
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

Her heart is beating so fast! I'm just afraid for her.

I have to calm down...and breathe. Yes.

Should I go get the R now?
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

do you have a 24 hour pharmacy nearby? I think when I bought R it was around $50. It lasts pretty much forever in the fridge.

If you shoot R tonight, you would have to commit to testing every hour for at least 3-4 hours after you shoot. Can you do that tonight?
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

I'll organize myself that way. Thanks everybody for your ideas and support.

I think Im just exhausted. I'm usually very organized, but this came to me in a not very good moment in my life.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

Yes, I have a 24 hour pharmacy.

She is 446 at +3

Yes I can be awake for 3 to 4 hours.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

if you're exhausted, let's do the R another time. Just pick it up tomorrow and next time she bounces or she gets a fur shot we'll catch it then. I think she'll be fine tonight if you just add extra water to her food as Jill suggested. Ketones are still 0.1 so that's ok. Honestly +3 is not the right time in the cycle to shoot R anyway - we would need to wait until after nadir, or at least until we're sure she isn't going to come down on her own when the Lantus kicks in.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

i agree with libby. wait til tomorrow to go get some R. hopefully, you'll never have to use it, but it's always nice to have on hand.
get some rest and relaxation tonight...
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 +3 446

Ok. She doesn't seem to be in any kind of stress even though I see her little chest moving up and down very fast.

She has a very pronounced irregular heart beat. Now that I remember my vet told me that the day I hospitalized her with DKA.

Thanks Libby.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

when I bought R for Jazzy, just having it in the fridge seemed to make her numbers get better. :roll: I was psyched and ready to learn to use it, but she suddenly started having better numbers so I didn't need it for a while. Hopefully it will work the same way for Enana.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 +3 446

Natalia & Enana said:
Ok. She doesn't seem to be in any kind of stress even though I see her little chest moving up and down very fast.

She has a very pronounced irregular heart beat. Now that I remember my vet told me that the day I hospitalized her with DKA.

is this normal for her? if not, it might be a good idea to call your vet or the nearest veterinary ER.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

Thanks ladies.

This is going to sound weird because I have been here for just 14 days, but reading about Blackie's passing and other cats and people suffering just overwhelmed me today.

Thanks for all you help.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

My vet noticed on the 31st of January that Enana skips a beat. She was so sick that day that I had totally forgotten about it until today when I grabbed my stethoscope to hear her heart.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

Normal heart rate for a cat is between 130 - 200 so it's much faster than a humans'. There's a difference between tachycardia (fast rate) and an irregular heart beat (arrhythmia).

Is there any change in Enana's breathing? Is it labored -- like she can't catch her breath? Does it seem faster, too? Is she breathing noisily?
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451 Help

No, no noise. Not labored, but a bit fast. I cannot heart her heart over her purring.

She has arrhythmia. Every ten or so beats she skips.
 
Re: 2/18 Enana PMPS 276 +1 239 +2 451

if you think that is normal for her, then ok. We were just worried when you said her heart was so fast that maybe something else was wrong. Did you try to count the heart rate to see if it is in the range Sienne gave?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top