2/18 Eleanor AMPS 265 Raising Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63927

I raised Eleanor to .75u.
Was a bit late, had an awful time with the syringe, not so much getting the .75 but with air bubbles! Finally gave up on the first syringe and got another one, and guess what - air bubbles.
Good test, purred for shot. Hope this increase brings her down some.
My eyes are really bad today, goes with the Lupus flare, dizzy too. The worse part is the impaired mental functioning - makes me even more uncomfortable caring for Eleanor.
I was hoping to eventually do the TR but it's clear to me now I just won't be able to. If I don't sleep I'm going to be in a lot of trouble, and I know if Eleanor is in the really low numbers, I won't sleep.
Feeling discouraged today.
 
(((((julie))))

one thing i've learned here is to just take one hour at a time. for this hour, eleanor is in safe numbers. you've increased her dose and even if it was difficult to see, you managed it. do you have a magnifying glass?

go nap and i trust things will look a little brighter when you wake up. we all have our discouraged moments!

hmmm, i couldn't find a "perfect" picture, but maybe this one will give you a giggle.

funny-pictures-cats-and-dog-have-pool-party.jpg
 
my mom passed this quote along to me - it's especially true with this season of taking care of punkin. I spent every morning for weeks wondering if he would be alive when i opened the door. it's been a year now, and he's quite alive. we'll help you work through the bugs that come up. no worries. :YMHUG:

If you see ten troubles coming down the road, you can be sure that nine will run into the ditch before they reach you. ~Calvin Coolidge
 
Thank you Julie!
The quote is so true.
I'm reminding myself that I'm doing the best I can, which is all anyone can do. Maybe I won't save Eleanor's life, but at least I tried!
The pic did indeed give me a giggle! :-D
 
Good luck with the new dose!

Personally, I think that *anybody* who arrives here and starts posting soon after diagnosis is doing a great job for her cat. I messed around for months before I was comfortable enough to post. Kudos to you for taking the bull by the horns for Eleanor!
 
Hi Julie and Eleanor, welcome to Lantus Land! As Julie and punkin said, the greatest place you never wanted to be. :lol: :lol: You are doing a great job with Eleanor and it's only been a few weeks. It is really hard to figure all of this out and drawing up the doses are really annoying, especially with those air bubbles. Have you seen Julie's video? That was a huge help for us. I can find the link for you. I think I saw it in the stickies one time.

I agree that you have to take care of yourself, getting enough sleep, eating right, exercising and all that. I wouldn't worry too much about about following the TR exactly, especially as you are learning. We all adapt it as we need to and some of us are a little more obsessive than others. :lol: :lol: You will find your comfort level. If you are worried about Eleanor's care then definitely err on the side of safety.

Please express your concerns here. We have found this place to be an amazing resource full of caring people who are around just about any time of the day or night.

By the way, Zener (ZEE ner) has two moms. I sign my posts and Anne doesn't. :-D
Liz

ETA: here is the sticky with the video
 
(((Julie)))

I'm so sorry you are having a discouraging day. I love the quote from Calvin Coolidge....so true. Many times I have to remind myself to take it one cycle at a time.

You ARE saving Eleanor's life because you are (1) giving her insulin and (2) you are here. Eleanor's numbers, while above the renal threshold, are not horrible bad!! We just have to very slowly tweak her
dose to a point where she is getting into a little more normal numbers that keep her safe. So baby steps. And unless her numbers start to drop below 90, we'll leave her at this dose for 5-7 days and
see how she does....nice and slow :-D I think you are very smart to know your limitations and that TR is not for you. It is an aggressive protocol and can whip even the most fit if that person has a
"challenging" kitty. :-D :-D

I mailed you the Monojects today....there is no mail service on Monday (darn!!) but you should have them on Tuesday. They are much better in regard to bubbles.

Here is what .75u looks like:

3quartersunit.jpg


When we were first shooting this dose, I copied it and kept it by my magnifying glass. Yours doesn't have to be EXACT...you just want to try and draw it to the same amount as much as you can. I know it's hard if your lupus
is active. Hopefully this will help.

You're doing great. We are here for you! Good luck on the dosecrease!
 
Hi Julie and Eleanor, I'm pretty new to this board, and have been trying to learn everthing I needed to learn to keep Daphne safe and also to help get her as close to normal as possible. I have RSD and Fibromyalgia, for 30 years, even before they had a name, and I know a lot of the symptoms are the same as lupus, so I just wanted to say, first to take a deep breathe and know it will be possible to help your Eleanor. You will do the best you can and she will know it. I have a big bag of trixs I use to get around the board, take care of Daphne, and learn the info as best I can. The people here are so caring and giving of their time. I think you know, we read stuff, and then its gone, no memory of it ever being learned. My sleep is horrible, long before I started this with Daphne, well, pretty much for 30 years. With Fibro., they say we don't get into the deep sleep it takes to form memory, and repair our bodies like normal people. So I figured since I don't sleep sound anyway, why not set the clock and wake up and test Daphne since its not going to do much worse then the Fibro does to me. It is catching up to me, but on the days my DH can be around, I just go to bed and stay as long as I can. Do you have anyone else you live with, sorry, I got on this thing, and forgot to read your profile, so forgive me, I just wanted to introduce myself. You can PM me and we can share all of our horrible illnesses/symptoms, you know misery likes company thing :-D So for now, I just wanted you to know it can be done, and if you feel its just too much, please don't ever feel guilty, its a hard thing we go through, but I'm sure you are doing what is best for you and for Eleanor. I'll give you my phone # if it hurts to type, it kills me!
Ok, well, good luck and please contact me whenever you want, I'm normally up till 2 AM (east coast time), and was in bed till 2 PM, but now I get up to test Daphne, and then btb. I don't do that all the time, only when we have a dose change, otherwise I test her when I get up. DH makes sure he leave her enough food in the AM and I test before bed sometimes, or DH will set my alarm if he gets a low number. But really, I haven't been getting up very much except for the last two dose changes.
Well, its a pleasure or will be a pleasure meeting you, and your beautiful kitty!
Barb ( I still say spell check is not working, I hate the 4 letter words, the kind you have to remember) @-)
 
Barb a trick I've found really useful for getting the air bubbles out is the following:

Draw dose as per Julie's video and then after you have given the syringe a flick to get the air bubbles to the top draw some air into the syringe. The air you draw in joins with any air bubbles stuck in the top of the syringe and it all gets expelled when you adjust for the correct dose.

You really are doing a great job with Eleanor. It might not feel like it at the moment because you are so unsure of yourself but as your confidence grows I hope you will look back on this time and see what the rest of us see - what a wonderful bean you are :-D
 
Welcome to LL Julie & Eleanor! I know you are feeling discouraged and tired. It is a challenge taking care of a diabetic kitty, especially with health issues of your own. YOU are making a difference to Eleanor. It will become more apparent as she starts to feel better. TR may not be doable for you and that is OK. Hang in there, get some rest and let us know if you have any questions or just need someone to vent/cry to.
 
Welcome Julie and Eleanor to Lantus Land--I also suffer from RA, which you know is an auto immune disease also like lupus. where I have good days & bad days, wake often in pain & sleep is also difficult/
Moonie and I will be here 4 years next Wednesday, and she is doing well...That was NOT always the case!!
When we came I was forced to test Moonie's urine 3 times a day because she was so hostile & crazy every time I tried to test her- She also gave me a terrible time shooting her & fighting me every time!! I shot her blind for about 10 months as I couldnt fight her to BG test--A member of LL came here to show me how to do it--Things changed after that!
I feed Moonie a treat everytime I test & shoot-freeze dried chicken, bolied chicken, or any protein treat. As she eats I test & shoot, as she is totally distracted by eating--She is now in a pattern for so long I just say Test? & she goes to testing place...I remember the days when I creid because she would hide from me for hours, scream, hiss, claw & fight me so hard!
I follow the protocol to suit our needs--Years ago the protocol was still followed, but not as strictly as now..no timed feedings, no testing every hour unless needed, but testing till the cat was in normal ranges with their bg. Of course some Days are exceptions & more testing is necessary!!
I free feed Moonie, as she has learned to feed herself when she feels herself go low, and also it would be very hard with my lifestyle--I test her AMPS & PMPS, then according to her numbers, I usually do a +3,+4 and +6, all according to where she is going that day--I test as often as I can, and try to keep her safe above all.
I usuall dont test her more than is necessary,and always before bedtime..Nadir tests are very important.

Not to worry--we will help you--This whole thing is very workable, even for those of us with problems..
Make the test & shoot a pleasurable experience for her, praising, petting, and treats DO help so much--
Because I had such a hard time testing her, & for so long, I think I missed the window when she could have gone OTJ in the first year(couldnt get a BG & urine testing are not accurate as blood tests)

But I have a happy healthy,decent numbers Kitty who is living a very good life--Not all TR members are as rigid as it seems, and you can work this easily--I will be glad to help you in any way I can--
Eleanor is going to get better, and feel well again, and so will you feel better..safer, knowing you are helping her--Look how far you have come alreadY!! Hugs from Us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top