2/18 CRYSTAL dosing advice please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
last night

@Marje and Gracie @Sandy and Black Kitty @Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Cobb(GA) @julie & punkin (ga)

After Crystal's second R experiment last night (above) I would be grateful for any feedback/thoughts on what you think happened (or didn't). Couple of questions: she has had 5 cycles at the current Lev dose and I was supposed to hold it for tonight, do you think I should, or up by 1.5u? Fairly high numbers again this morning. Also I think Marje was trying to organise another R trial for Thursday PM (my time), good idea or better to wait? If we do the 3rd trial, is it best not to alter the dose on the same day, but I don't want to hold it for too long. Maybe Friday would be better? Sorry for so many questions. Have to go out all afternoon now but will check back just before Crystal's PM shot. Thanks as always for all your support and advice.
 
I suspect increasing the Lev will be the way to go. The mid-cycle numbers are pretty flat and high.
 
I think the increase is a good idea. I've got an email out to some of the other ladies to see if one of them can be here Thursday morning. I have an appt and won't be around but we'll see if someone will.

Good luck with the increase.
 
Hi BJ, Suzanne & Peg

Thanks for looking in, have increased to 26u tonight (how long should I hold this for? my usual 4 cycles or more?) Don't know if we are on for another R test tomorrow, waiting to hear but if not, perhaps in the next few days.
Crystal has been high and flat all day but a slightly better level at PM +2 of 293, perhaps she will go a bit lower tonight.
 
Pls see my post above. I'm just waiting to hear from some of the other ladies if someone is available tomorrow for you. We'll also discuss dose and how long you should hold it and whether you should try a higher dose of R. We can also see how she does tonight with the increase.

So check here later or tomorrow morning about tomorrow night.
 
Okay Marje, thanks for that (sorry your post crossed with mine and I didn't see it). If tomorrow isn't convenient for anyone to be around, please just suggest another day (except Saturday, have plans).
 
Hi Suki - I'm glad Suzanne was around to answer the dosing question today. For future increases, you might want to think about going up in 2 unit increments. Julie talks about a 10% increase and since Crystal is over 20 units, you need a big enough increase to break through the resistance.

I like that you are seeing a lot more yellow now. :)
 
Last edited:
Glad Wendy popped in. So for Thursday, I can be here at 1800 your time (1000 mine) to get you started. Wendy can be with you after that.

Still discussing whether we should try 0.5u R again. Any thoughts, Suki?
 
Hi Suki, sorry I'm still out of action with a fever. I did look at yesterday's R trial with 0.5u. To my eye it looks like crystal was beginning a bounce and the R held her flat. That in itself is helpful to see that while it didn't lower her bgs, even at the size of her L dose, 0.5u R held her flat.

My thought about tomorrow is that you have a choice between trying 0.5u again or increasing to 1.0 or 0.75u. If it appears that she is beginning a bounce, and she's over say, 300, I think you could try a larger dose. If it appears to be a normal cycle, I might try 0.5u again.

I'd like to see what Sandy and Suzanne think too.
 
Morning ladies, okay we are on for tonight, starting with Marje and then Wendy, thank you for organising that, I hope it doesn't cause you too much inconvenience. Dose to be confirmed depending on how she does today, I'm around all day to monitor her. Sorry to hear that you are still unwell Julie, I hope you feel better soon, take it easy.

I have just done Crystal's AMPS reading and got 268, I don't think she has ever been this low first thing in the morning - perhaps she will go lower this cycle.
 
Very good, Crystal!!!!

Enjoy your day....I'm headed to bed shortly but will check in at her +11, ok. Have a great day.
 
My my, look at those lovely numbers!
I'm just catching up as I spent the better part of the day shopping to stock our cupboards ahead of the extreme cold expected for the next few days in the eastern US.


Sounds like you will be in excellent company for the PM cycle. I 'll have an eye on Crystals ss and condo too and pop in when I'm able.
To my eye it looks like crystal was beginning a bounce and the R held her flat. That in itself is helpful to see that while it didn't lower her bgs, even at the size of her L dose, 0.5u R held her flat.
I too see it this way and agree it is a very helpful piece of information.
My thought about tomorrow is that you have a choice between trying 0.5u again or increasing to 1.0 or 0.75u.
Ditto that.
If it appears that she is beginning a bounce, and she's over say, 300, I think you could try a larger dose. If it appears to be a normal cycle, I might try 0.5u again.
I'm of a "wait and see" mind. There are a lot of moving parts.
R use is a bit of a nuanced art. Right now you are in uncharted territory - a 'one shot at a time' approach is best until you get some more data (data that includes R) under your belt and develop a feel for it.



One cycle at a time and before you know it you will be 'in the groove' with this all and making dosing decisions on the fly. :cool:


 
Hi Sandy, thank you for dropping in and your explaining Crystal's reaction. Would you advise staying with the 0.5 R then for tonight? So far this morning, good numbers all in the yellows.

Hope you don't get snowed in but good idea to stock up just in case. See you later
 
My one concern is that with the PM cycle being the 3rd cycle at the 26u dose you could see some action. If you add R to the equation it could result in a sizable drop which could trigger a bounce, which you don't want to do.

R requires the lightest of touches until you learn what it's effect will be on your cats BGs.
For some kitties a drop of R can send the numbers into the cellar, at the other end of the spectrum are kitties like BK, who at one time was getting 5uR every 6 hours around the clock and didn't see green. ECID

Great potential exists to create and get caught on the "R roller-coaster" a potentially endless repeating pattern of using R to quickly shoot down a high that is the result of an R induced low which results in another high that begs to be shot down with R . . . . . I've seen it happen. It's painful to get off the roller coaster
It's a situation that is to be avoided.

The goal is to bring Crystals numbers gradually down as a range, at a pace that her counter-regulatory defenses can tolerate without too much objection.
Take a look at the past 7 days on the ss. Then take a look at the 7 days prior to those.
What is different?
Yellow. The most recent 7 day block of time has more yellow.
And red? The most recent 7 day block of time has less red.


Try to think more in terms of gradually 'losing the red' followed by gradually 'losing the pink' and then gradually 'losing the yellow'
That is the ideal progress.


Try and sprinkle a few more tests over the balance on the current cycle - it will go a long way toward deciding if and how much R to use at PS time :cool:
 
So what you saying Sandy, if I understood this right, is that it might be more prudent to have a couple of more cycles under our belt to see how she reacts to the current dose, and perhaps hold off the R? I had to pop out briefly (to get Crystal's chicken for her dinner tonight) but did another test as soon as I got back. She is steadily rising from this morning's figure from 268 to 317 at +7 and I will carry on testing right up to PM. I understand the logic of looking back over the last 2 weeks on her SS in order to make an informed decision and I am happy to hold off for a few more cycles if you think that is the best course in your experience. What do others think?
 
I'm trying to contact Sandy now. I try to leave the actual R dosing for high dose cats to those with the experience but I'm trying to learn their thought process. They have more of an intuition about when to use it and when to hold off.

I'll be back before her shot.
 
Last edited:
Ok...heard from Sandy.

Over 350, dose is 0.75u R
300-340, dose is 0.5u R
Under 300, no R

I figure we are at +11. I've got to test/feed Gracie but will be back shortly but we have a plan! :):)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top