2/18 Chip AMPS 65 +3 45 +5 55 +7 53 +9 53 PMPS 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dale 'n' Chip

Member Since 2012
Almost feels like Hodgkins or PZI *protocol* here. Stalk the bounces and shoot them down early?

Chip was likely headed for his usual pink AMPS, so I hit the bounce mid-yellow with a tiny bit of N in the middle of the night. nailbite_smile

Tight green surf within hours? :mrgreen:

The Levemir dose is pretty scary, but perhaps I don't need to fear the reductions so much with my new magic bullet?

Don't try this at home. This likely is a "Chip Only" trick, if it is even doing more good than harm.

My thought is the otherwise "failing" Levemir dose(s) must be close to equilibrium to be helped along by such minute hits of N.

Chip's 2/10
 
Re: 2/18 Chip AMPS 65 +3 45 +5 55 with a little jump start?

be careful, Dale. I think what happened last night is that you shot N just as his bounce from the green on 2/14 was due to clear. It was the 6th cycle after the green, the 267 could have been a high before the break, so he may have been planning to drop anyway. Shooting a bolus when a bounce is clearing can get you into trouble fast. Shoot at the beginning of bounces, not the end. :mrgreen:

Honestly, if you take a couple of steps back from the computer and look at the colors on Chip's spreadsheet, I'm not sure the bolus is helping overall. He's bouncing even more than he was. We see that sometimes with kitties using R, almost like it puts them onto a roller coaster. You might be better off experimenting with dropping the N, or using it maybe just for the first cycle of a bounce, and going back to increasing the Lev dose more often instead of relying on N. It does look like it's working to bring down individual numbers, but it doesn't look like it's improving things overall. Just my opinion, take it if you want. ;-)
 
Re: 2/18 Chip AMPS 65 +3 45 +5 55 with a little jump start?

Have you ever tried prozinc? Just wondered the way you shoot the bolus etc. I dont know enough to recommend it, was just curious.
 
Re: 2/18 Chip AMPS 65 +3 45 +5 55 with a little jump start?

Libby and Lucy said:
...Honestly, if you take a couple of steps back from the computer and look at the colors on Chip's spreadsheet, I'm not sure the bolus is helping overall. He's bouncing even more than he was. We see that sometimes with kitties using R, almost like it puts them onto a roller coaster. You might be better off experimenting with dropping the N, or using it maybe just for the first cycle of a bounce, and going back to increasing the Lev dose more often instead of relying on N. It does look like it's working to bring down individual numbers, but it doesn't look like it's improving things overall. Just my opinion, take it if you want. ;-)
Oh I've been looking at it long and hard and every which way. I've suspected it might be making things worse, if they could have been worse.

There is no doubt it alters the equation. But what may not be obvious is how small these doses of N are, and they may get even smaller with what I'm thinking about. I'm certainly being careful.

If I could get him regulated and stable on Levemir without N that would be my first choice. Provided I can ever get the Levemir dose down to something sustainable.

On the other hand leaving him flat pink or worse for 72 hours on end is no longer a reasonable option. Even though it already went on literally for weeks on end. Poor Chip. :oops:
 
Re: 2/18 Chip AMPS 65 +3 45 +5 55 with a little jump start?

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Have you ever tried prozinc? Just wondered the way you shoot the bolus etc. I dont know enough to recommend it, was just curious.
I've wanted to but it's actually significantly more expensive per unit than Levemir or Lantus.
 
Whatever happened here, the Levemir finally kicked in.

A strong flat cycle seemingly impervious to food spikes.

The N was long gone very early in the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top