? 2/18/22 Two Two AMPS 175 +9 464 +11 541 - Need advise

TabbyCatMom

Member Since 2022
I saw a lot of blue and green the past few days and now she is all the way up to 541! I am not sure if I missed a shot (FS?) but I tested her ketones an hour ago and she was negative. But I am worried she is bouncing.

I was changing her shot time a bit too abruptly I think so I am wondering if this is the cause of her high numbers right now?

Any tips? It's been busy and stressful so I have been getting less BG readings but my goal is to be really consistent with her shot time (8:20a/8:30p) and go from there. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!

Yesterdays post
 
Giving insulin more than 30 minutes early can act like a small increase. It looks like you shot more than two hours early. That acted like an increase. After that have you shot around 8-8:30 every cycle?
 
Fixed it @Bandit's Mom - and if you are online, would you mind looking at todays post and giving me some advice?
Just got online. She is bouncing from the 59 the other. Can take up to 6 cycles to clear a bounce. You want to get some tests in the PM cycle - at least one before before bed test. It's possible she is going lower at night. The 175 AMPS today could mean that.

I would give her one more day on the dose to see if she clears the bounce.
 
Thanks @Bandit's Mom - It seems she has been bouncing since the 10th! Though I have not tested her in the PM, I have given her a snack at around 2 or 3am assuming she dips pretty low. I hope she levels out soon.

I've read the TR protocol but can you tell me when or if I should be increasing by .25? Each time she is green do I need to wait 8 or 10 days?
 
With nadirs in the 50s, there isn't much room for an increase.

Generally speaking, with TR, you hold doses that have green nadirs for 10 cycles before evaluating the dose. Increases are in multiples of 0.25U (except when nadirs are over 300 - then you increase by 0.5U).

Let us give it another day and get some tests in the PM cycles before deciding that she needs more insulin. Some cats go high before they clear a bounce. Tonight 's black PMPS could be that. Or, she went to green last night and is bouncing from there.
 
Back
Top