? 2/18/20 PMPS 158@+2; 155@+11

Crystal&Hendrix

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone, my kitties BG this morning was 133@+11.5 and 119@+12.

At 133 I stalled without food and waited 30 mins and it went to 119. Do I stall again? Skip his dose? Feed him? I’m confused as to why it’s going down and not up. :arghh:


Notes:
PMPS: @148
+5 @81 (I want to get a +2 but I was super exhausted and didn’t even hear my alarm go off)
+11.5 @133
+12 @119

Thank you:cat:


Re tested him 30 mins after stalling again and it’s now 122. He is now an hour or more past having his shot.
 
Last edited:
Hmmm.... He's pretty flat, if you account for meter variance, and he's definitely up since the +5.

You don't want to stall too long because they can start to get hungry and then that can affect the BG, but can you get another test?

Are you able to monitor this cycle, with plenty of supplies?
 
Hmmm.... He's pretty flat, if you account for meter variance, and he's definitely up since the +5.

You don't want to stall too long because they can start to get hungry and then that can affect the BG, but can you get another test?

Are you able to monitor this cycle, with plenty of supplies?
I just tested him a few minutes ago and it was 122....... I’ve been stalling all morning and he’s begging for food. He’s an hour late for his shot.... I’m like do I skip it this morning and start fresh tomorrow? I don’t know what to do his shot times aren’t usually 11/11 but got to 12/12 again and it’s now almost 2pm.....
 
Adding: these are shootable numbers (assuming he doesn't take a dive from here on the next test!), and not too far off from numbers you've shot before. If you can monitor, it could be a good opportunity to push your "no-shoot" number down a bit, but only if you feel ready!
 
Adding: these are shootable numbers (assuming he doesn't take a dive from here on the next test!), and not too far off from numbers you've shot before. If you can monitor, it could be a good opportunity to push your "no-shoot" number down a bit, but only if you feel ready!
His no shot number is 140 and he’s at 122. I don’t really feel comfortable giving him his shot when he’s at 122 because his numbers drop so low during the day...he just had his no shot number pushed down a few days ago
 
Oh, hmmmm.... If the shot times are getting inconvenient for you, that's another factor. If you want to push the reset button so you can get back on schedule, that's a reason to lean towards skipping.

His no shot number is 140 and he’s at 122. I don’t really feel comfortable giving him his shot when he’s at 122 because his numbers drop so low during the day...he just had his no shot number pushed down a few days ago

I think this is deciding it...

Give the boy his breakfast, and get another test in sometime today to keep an eye on him, start fresh tonight!
 
Oh, hmmmm.... If the shot times are getting inconvenient for you, that's another factor. If you want to push the reset button so you can get back on schedule, that's a reason to lean towards skipping.



I think this is deciding it...

Give the boy his breakfast, and get another test in sometime today to keep an eye on him, start fresh tonight!
Okay I was thinking that because I don’t know what else to do he’s whining for food so much he’s so hungry and I can’t keep stalling. I’ll keep my eye on him and his BG throughout the day. So I skip his dose this morning then? And feed him, and retest in an hour? And do I give him his shot tonight if BG is at shop table number ex: 140. Or do I wait until tomorrow morning
 
Okay I was thinking that because I don’t know what else to do he’s whining for food so much he’s so hungry and I can’t keep stalling. I’ll keep my eye on him and his BG throughout the day. So I skip his dose this morning then? And feed him, and retest in an hour?

Yes. You can test in an hour or maybe two-- just keeping an eye on what the depot is up to today without the shot. Your cycle counter (to decide on whether to try an increase or a decrease on TR) starts over with tonight's shot-- it'll take a few cycles to settle the depot back down after the skip.

Once you're back on schedule and feel ready to tackle the challenge, I think you'll find that pushing the no-shoot number down farther won't be as scary as it seems now. Lantus is really good at keeping numbers flat in the good greens. The more you can get him hanging out in these numbers, the more his pancreas will have a chance to do some healing!
 
Yes. You can test in an hour or maybe two-- just keeping an eye on what the depot is up to today without the shot. Your cycle counter (to decide on whether to try an increase or a decrease on TR) starts over with tonight's shot-- it'll take a few cycles to settle the depot back down after the skip.

Once you're back on schedule and feel ready to tackle the challenge, I think you'll find that pushing the no-shoot number down farther won't be as scary as it seems now. Lantus is really good at keeping numbers flat in the good greens. The more you can get him hanging out in these numbers, the more his pancreas will have a chance to do some healing!

Okay sounds good thank you for your reply!!! I was pacing waiting for advice LOL. I’ll talk to an admin and see about getting his no shot pushed down again. I’ll keep an eye on his BG through out the day and give him his shot tonight then if he’s able. I’ve been seeing a lot of green lately which makes me happy and excited
 
I’ll talk to an admin and see about getting his no shot pushed down again.

There aren't any Admins here on the board. Everybody here is a volunteer...we have Mods, but they're usually here to just step in if things get heated on a thread and clean up the mess we sometimes make. The FDMB isn't the same as the FD group on Facebook.

The next time, let's try this.....if under 140, stall but don't stall for more than 1 hour....so if you stall twice and he's still not at least climbing, just skip that shot and start over at the next normal shot time.

Remember, when stalling, if the numbers start to climb (even if it doesn't go all the way up to 140), it's usually fine to go ahead and shoot. (example...at AMPS you get a 108, you stall for 30 and he goes up to 124....you stall for another 30 and he goes up to 132....go ahead and shoot! You have to try to remember that you're not shooting the number you're seeing right then....the shot you give doesn't usually start to kick in for 2-3 hours after it's given.

The truth is you could have shot the 122 this morning....as long as you were home, had plenty of supplies and could test as much as necessary. This is why we test....so that WE are in control of our cat's BG! In all the years I've been here, I don't remember once when someone had to go to an ER when they were home and had the necessary supplies. There have been a few times when a cat accidentally got 2 shots instead of 1 or a petsitter gave 20 units instead of 2U, but as long as you're ready, have all the supplies and can stay home to test, there's no reason you need to be so scared to shoot lower numbers.

Look at China's spreadsheet.....she's a good example of the nice flat cycles you can get when shooting low numbers.

Since you skipped this morning's shot, you can start over at 10pm tonight if you want
 
There aren't any Admins here on the board. Everybody here is a volunteer...we have Mods, but they're usually here to just step in if things get heated on a thread and clean up the mess we sometimes make. The FDMB isn't the same as the FD group on Facebook.

The next time, let's try this.....if under 140, stall but don't stall for more than 1 hour....so if you stall twice and he's still not at least climbing, just skip that shot and start over at the next normal shot time.

Remember, when stalling, if the numbers start to climb (even if it doesn't go all the way up to 140), it's usually fine to go ahead and shoot. (example...at AMPS you get a 108, you stall for 30 and he goes up to 124....you stall for another 30 and he goes up to 132....go ahead and shoot! You have to try to remember that you're not shooting the number you're seeing right then....the shot you give doesn't usually start to kick in for 2-3 hours after it's given.

The truth is you could have shot the 122 this morning....as long as you were home, had plenty of supplies and could test as much as necessary. This is why we test....so that WE are in control of our cat's BG! In all the years I've been here, I don't remember once when someone had to go to an ER when they were home and had the necessary supplies. There have been a few times when a cat accidentally got 2 shots instead of 1 or a petsitter gave 20 units instead of 2U, but as long as you're ready, have all the supplies and can stay home to test, there's no reason you need to be so scared to shoot lower numbers.

Look at China's spreadsheet.....she's a good example of the nice flat cycles you can get when shooting low numbers.

Since you skipped this morning's shot, you can start over at 10pm tonight if you want
Oh I kind of figured there was no “admins” to be honest but I wasn’t sure I didn’t want to seem rude lol. And okay this all makes sense I’m going to write some of this down so the more I know the better! I kind of had a feeling “okay maybe I can shoot his 122 if it’s slowly going up” but I didn’t want to risk it and someone say “nooo why would you do that” LOL. I get so paranoid. And I always make sure I have supplies just in case. And 20 units? Oh no that sounds like a lot for one kitty I can’t believe that happened. Yikes.

Also okay sounds good I will give him his shot for 10pm tonight. And I will also write all this down like I said before, so that way I remember and can read my notes and tell myself “okay he’s climbing so if he has his shot he might be higher than before especially if it takes time to kick in” I hope I didn’t mess up this morning I usually wait for a reply or answer before making a decision I’m unsure of. I keep shaking my head at myself A LOT lately. lol. I will test him in an hour and see how he’s doing. I’m going to try to do a +2, +5 and a +8 today and see how he’s doing since he didn’t have his shot this morning. I hope he doesn’t sky rocket but I doubt he will since the one day he went 19 hours without his shot and he went from 7ish to 8 I couldn’t believe it stayed low I was shocked.
 
Another option would be to get a +11.5.....that would not only give you 30 minutes to find someone to watch for your Pre-shot test, but you'd know if he was going up or down at the end of the cycle.
 
Another option would be to get a +11.5.....that would not only give you 30 minutes to find someone to watch for your Pre-shot test, but you'd know if he was going up or down at the end of the cycle.
Okay I tried to get certain times done yesterday but I was SO exhausted I didn’t even hear my alarm go off. And his 133....would that have been his 11.5? And the 119 would be +12? I just want to make sure his SS is correct. I spent over an hour the other day trying to fix it LOL.
 
And the 119 would be +12?

What 119?

And I don't know since I don't know what time you shot....you've bounced around so many times I can't keep up.

Let's try this.....No matter how long it's been since your last SHOT, the Pre-Shot numbers on your spreadsheet should always be the number you actually shoot at.

Let's say you stall for 1 hour (with a usual shot time of 10/10 and you DID shoot at 10pm last night)….You tested at 10am and got a 108 (too low for you to comfortably shoot)….so you stalled 30 minutes. It's now 10:30 and you get a 124 but you're still not comfortable shooting)….so you stall another 30 minutes....it's now 11am and you have a 148 so you SHOOT!

You could put the 108 @ +12 and 124 @ +12.5 in the +11 cell OR you can put 108 @ +12, 124 @ +12.5, 148 @ +13 all in the AMPS cell

That way, if you tested again at 1pm, that would be 2 hours since you actually shot, so the test number goes in the +2 cell because when you go to the + cells, they always correspond to the number of hours since the SHOT
 
I keep shaking my head at myself A LOT lately. lol..

We've all been there! Those first few weeks/months of this are always so crazy. And just when you think you've got the hang of it, the kitties do something different! Like, Hendrix seems to have spent the month of January in reds/pinks, then I guess he didn't see his shadow on Groundhog Day and decided nope, enough of this, I wanna hang out in blues and greens now. Which is great! But it meant you had a whole new set of decisions you had to make. And of course, as soon as you get the hang of this routine, he'll probably switch things up again-- it's always changing!

Keep asking questions, making notes for yourself, etc. Chris has given you some excellent general guidelines and suggestions. I like the idea of starting early gathering the data for a shot decision with a +11 or +11.5. That gives you a chance to get your bearings before the shot decision, and also gives a little extra time to post here for advice. Every little bit helps!
 
Hi Crystal. I see Hendrix is keeping you on your toes. You have been getting great advice from Chris and Nan.
Looks like you will need to start lowering your no shoot number again. Hendrix is in a hurry for the finishing line.
He is doing so well for a newly diagnosed kitty.
As long as you are testing you are in control.
Sorry I wasn’t around earlier... early morning for me.
 
Hi Crystal. I see Hendrix is keeping you on your toes. You have been getting great advice from Chris and Nan.
Looks like you will need to start lowering your no shoot number again. Hendrix is in a hurry for the finishing line.
He is doing so well for a newly diagnosed kitty.
As long as you are testing you are in control.
Sorry I wasn’t around earlier... early morning for me.
Hi bron!! Yes he sure is. LOL. Chris, nan, and yourself have been wonderful support for me these last few days, well since the beginning really. He’s doing so good and I’m super proud of him. And that’s okay I do understand people get busy or they aren’t always online. I did a +2 and a +5 so far
His +2 was 160 and his +5 was 117. Should I get a +8 and then a +11?
 
We've all been there! Those first few weeks/months of this are always so crazy. And just when you think you've got the hang of it, the kitties do something different! Like, Hendrix seems to have spent the month of January in reds/pinks, then I guess he didn't see his shadow on Groundhog Day and decided nope, enough of this, I wanna hang out in blues and greens now. Which is great! But it meant you had a whole new set of decisions you had to make. And of course, as soon as you get the hang of this routine, he'll probably switch things up again-- it's always changing!

Keep asking questions, making notes for yourself, etc. Chris has given you some excellent general guidelines and suggestions. I like the idea of starting early gathering the data for a shot decision with a +11 or +11.5. That gives you a chance to get your bearings before the shot decision, and also gives a little extra time to post here for advice. Every little bit helps!
The first few weeks were definitely the hardest!!! Sleepless nights, lots of tears and frustration but I got the hang of it and learned so much I’m still learning to be honest. And yes January was very tiring for us both , so many reds and pinks. I got excited over yellows and now that he’s blue and green I’m even more anxious and excited now. I’m so proud of him. He loves to keep me busy and on my toes that’s for sure. I have so many notes and still making new ones. I will make sure to start getting some more +11’s and +11.5’s just in case. He skipped his dose this morning as you can tell and his BG is staying low I’m surprised because I thought it would sky rocket but it didn’t. Thank you so much for all your advice and help. Everyone has been so helpful and supportive for Hendrix and I. I surely appreciate it.
 
One thing I do want to ask; earlier someone mentioned to me and said maybe I should lower his dose to .25 soon maybe even tonight but I thought I’d ask first instead of making that decision I always want to double check with someone first
 
Hi Crystal. I see Hendrix is keeping you on your toes. You have been getting great advice from Chris and Nan.
Looks like you will need to start lowering your no shoot number again. Hendrix is in a hurry for the finishing line.
He is doing so well for a newly diagnosed kitty.
As long as you are testing you are in control.
Sorry I wasn’t around earlier... early morning for me.
Hi bron sorry to bug you

I did a +5 and a +8 today
I just did his +8

He has his shot for 10pm tonight right? Since I’m starting fresh again

His +5 was 117
His +8 was 110
 
Okay so should I feed him then test him in two hours and see if he’s at 120ish?

I don't know what time zone you are in-- if it's 8pm, then yes, you can feed now, then test at 10pm for the pre-shot (or, as Chris suggested earlier, get a 9:30pm test as the "+11.5" heads-up first, then the PMPS).

If it's later than 8pm where you are, and you want to shoot at 10pm, then no, no food in that 2hr window, and no food while stalling at pre-shot (if you have to stall).

Good luck tonight! Great numbers today!
 
Are you at +8 now? (Actually +20) And are wanting to give the shot at +22?
@Chris & China (GA) thinkibg you may have misunderstood or have I?
She wants to feed now and test in 2 hours to see if she can shoot....that should be ok to do that
 
I'm as lost as you are on times and what they mean on her spreadsheet, but she told me in PM that the 110 was at 9:30pm (her time) and she wants to shoot at 10pm

Since she skipped this morning, there's no reason she can't "shoot early" since it will actually be +22 when she shoots (I think)

OK, scratch what I said above, then, sorry!
 
Are you at +8 now? (Actually +20) And are wanting to give the shot at +22?
@Chris & China (GA) thinkibg you may have misunderstood or have I?
She wants to feed now and test in 2 hours to see if she can shoot....that should be ok to do that
Let me help everyone for a second lol everyone of us is confused and I feel horrible.


This is my full journal entry in my book

Feb 17th:
“Amps”

11:16am; 160
11:18am fed
11:18am shot
1:29pm; 113
1:30pm fed small amount
5:21pm; 67
5:21pm fed
5:58pm; 67
7:08pm 85
9:22pm 130
10:56pm 133
11:35pm 137
——
12:24am 148. ( “feb 18” )
12:24am fed
12.29am shot
5:53am 81
5:54am fed
9:39am fed (cause he threw up I thought he was hungry)
12:07pm 133
12:45pm 119
1:20pm 122
1:49pm fed
Skipped his dose
3:43pm 160
3:49pm fed
6:28pm 117
6:28pm fed
9:35pm 110 (just a while ago but it is now 10:10 so going to re test)

@Chris & China (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Nan & Amber (GA)
 
This is my full journal entry in my book

Feb 17th:
“Amps”

11:16am; 160
11:18am fed
11:18am shot
1:29pm; 113
1:30pm fed small amount
5:21pm; 67
5:21pm fed
5:58pm; 67
7:08pm 85
9:22pm 130
10:56pm 133
11:35pm 137
——
12:24am 148
12:24am fed
12.29am shot
5:53am 81
5:54am fed
9:39am fed (cause he threw up I thought he was hungry)
12:07pm 133
12:45pm 119
1:20pm 122
1:49pm fed
Skipped his dose
3:43pm 160
3:49pm fed
6:28pm 117
6:28pm fed
9:35pm 110 (just a while ago but it is now 10:10 so going to re test)

My head hurts....LOL

Let's just go by the next test result....and don't feed him unless we tell you to
 
Oh no...I feel so bad I feel like crying I confused everyone and even myself!! This has never happened before.

No no, don't feel bad! I get confused all the time, between the different time zones and following different kitties, and I am not a night person, so around this time I need a lot of hand-holding to figure out what's what. But your list of times and tests was very clear!
 
No no, don't feel bad! I get confused all the time, between the different time zones and following different kitties, and I am not a night person, so around this time I need a lot of hand-holding to figure out what's what. But your list of times and tests was very clear!
It is 10:22pm here and his BG is 6.7 (121)
 
Let me help everyone for a second lol everyone of us is confused and I feel horrible.


This is my full journal entry in my book

Feb 17th:
“Amps”

11:16am; 160
11:18am fed
11:18am shot
1:29pm; 113
1:30pm fed small amount
5:21pm; 67
5:21pm fed
5:58pm; 67
7:08pm 85
9:22pm 130
10:56pm 133
11:35pm 137
——
12:24am 148. ( “feb 18” )
12:24am fed
12.29am shot
5:53am 81
5:54am fed
9:39am fed (cause he threw up I thought he was hungry)
12:07pm 133
12:45pm 119
1:20pm 122
1:49pm fed
Skipped his dose
3:43pm 160
3:49pm fed
6:28pm 117
6:28pm fed
9:35pm 110 (just a while ago but it is now 10:10 so going to re test)

@Chris & China (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Nan & Amber (GA)
12:29am shot...... would have been his “pmps shot” technically
And he should have had his “amps shot” between the 133 and 119 I think but I didn’t give it to him I skipped it. I think I’m right now I’m all confused though
 
I'd go ahead and give him his .5 dose, feed him, and test again at +1 and +2 (that's about 11:30 and 12:30 for you)…...As long as you're ok with supplies and can test as much as necessary tonight
Yes I just got a full new thing of strips today because I was getting low on my last bottle. And yes that would be around 11:30-12ish for his +1 or +2. So he CAN eat then ? And then give him his shot and test him in 1-2 hours?
 
Back
Top