2/18/15 Whiskers STILL high

Status
Not open for further replies.

kittymomma_of3

Member Since 2015
AMPS 311
AM +3 273
AM +5 265
AM + 7 275
AM +9 314

PMPS 314

whiskers still up on numbers today :( haven's seen blue like in 3 days :eek:
thought i had gotten fur shots these past days but no....
he is even having issues with his back legs again tonight :nailbiting:
when will i start seeing lower numbers?
on .5 units of Lantus
 
am i just being a panicky anxious momma?
Yup, that's normal. :bighug: We've all been there. Welcome to the Lantus and Levemir forum. There's lots to learn at the beginning but we'll help you get there. Just by giving insulin and testing, you have done a lot for Whiskers so far.

I notice that you are missing some values in the units column of the spreadsheet, such as AMPS for Feb 14 and 15th. Did Whiskers get insulin then? And your comments say that you think you did a fur shot the evenings of the 15th and 16th. Not criticizing, just commenting - I did one last night. :oops: I do them enough that I always sniff Neko's fur where I give insulin after doing the shot, just to make sure. On the times that you do a fur shot, could you put something like FS also in the units column. It helps us when we are looking at the spreadsheet to see what has happened. Every miss or fur shot resets the number of cycles we are counting. And the effects can be seen beyond just the one cycle you miss/skip. If you also indicate a skip or a miss with the words "skip" or "NS" for no shot, that also helps us. And try not to worry too much about the misses, Whiskers will get back on track.
 
thank you so much ! some other lady has been helping me also, she told me about smelling the fur but i didnt smell any lantus so i think it did go in ..i really need to go to the library and print the forms that are on here...lol it will also help me instead of panick....:)
 
Here's her Post from 2/16

Hi again Yolanda! Remember to put the link to your prior post in your new posts so it's easy for people to go back and see what's been going on!

Since you're not 100% sure on some of your shots, let's hold the dose for another cycle or two and then re-evaluate....it takes 7-10 cycles for the depot to "fill" but since it's possible some of your shots didn't go in, that makes it hard to know how much Whiskers actually got

Glad that you didn't smell anything...that means it probably went in!!

Post again tomorrow and let us know if you were successful shooting and we may want you to increase to .75. Do you have syringes with .5 unit markings?
 
Hi Yolanda!

Welcome to you and Whiskers to Lantus and Levemir Land. Glad you found us.

If you are following the Tight Regulation Protocol,

  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Note that "consecutive" is in bold. So, as Wendy said, you have to start the cycle count over with the 2/17 a.m. shot. If his numbers come down into blue or green, we might have you hold the dose a bit longer. Conversely, if after six cycles he is high and flat (around 300 and higher), we will likely suggest you increase the dose.

We love questions so be sure you ask any you have!
 
hi :), yes the syringes have the .5 unit markings. will see how tomorrow goes. i am not following the tight regulation protocol ,i was home all day today so i decided to take advantage of it and test him thru out the morning.
 
If you are not following TR, are you following Start Low Go Slow Approach? It would be good to put that in your signature so when we are offering advice, we will know which method to advise you on.
 
If you can test at least before each shot (VERY important for safety) and at least once during each cycle, you can do TR

Tight Regulation does offer the best chance of getting Whiskers into remission, but we've seen some who are doing SLGS get there too!

The choice is yours...we'll help no matter what you decide
 
When yolanda first joined the 2 protocols were linked and I think the SLGS was the preferred choice for yolanda

How is it going yolanda? Can we have an update. :) I see that you have been giving the 0.5 dose and have now had 8 cycles on this dose.
 
When yolanda first joined the 2 protocols were linked and I think the SLGS was the preferred choice for yolanda

How is it going yolanda? Can we have an update. :) I see that you have been giving the 0.5 dose and have now had 8 cycles on this dose.
Hello ! sorry i havent been on that much, Well Whiskers is starting to get down to the 200's again :) he has been going up and down, and he has been having energy( getting whatever wrappers of cookies or chips and running with them,lol told son he needs to make sure he picks them up) he has been having a bit of issue with his hind legs, they kinda get wobbly, i cant find the post:banghead: where they mentioned something i could give him for that. but otherwise his appetite is back , dont know what i would do with out you guys ! thanks so much for helping us !!!:cat::bighug:
 
You want to give Methyl B12 for the neuropathy. Zobaline is a version of it made specifically for cats.
 
That's great news. I think you will have to order the zobaline online, I did.

I see that you have confirmed in your signature that you are doing the start low protocol. So far I count that you have had 14 cycles on the 0.5 dose and are getting some nice drops according to the protocol it may be time to consider increasing by 0.25 units to 0.75. Hopefully someone with dosing experience can advise on this.

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours
Note
: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change). Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.

I see that you aren't managing to get many additional tests in the evening cycle. It would be great if you could try to get a +1 or +2 to help fill in the data picture.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top